We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piacere Molise

Piacere Molise
Via Candia 60, Rome, Italy
0639743553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,289 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Living in a few countries in Europe, travelling a lot & being in Italy quite a few times I dare to say: the food is great there and these people know how to cook! We ate there each day last week and whatever we ordered was fresh & tasted like heaven (which is not the case in many tourists-oriented-restaurants in the center of Rome). You can close your eyes when pointing course on the menu, you won't be disappointed. Additional advantage: prices for locals not for tourists:)
Service is good too, unless you are used to American way of service (a waitress with banana smile introducing herself and dancing around you all the time, asking 10 times if everything is ok & if you want more wine).
They don't run to you as soon as you come in and don't hurry with the bill, but that's Italian lifestyle - they celebrate meals & enjoy time with they friends or family, if you expect fast food speed go to burger king.
In Piacere Molise, they know how to cook and people go there because they love the taste.
I will definitely go back there during my next stays in Rome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    76
    17
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place, ok food, not too friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant to celebrate a birthday of one of our relatives. We were recommended by a B&B owner (from Rome) to eat there as it was "value for money and a good local eat." What was good: the bugatini amatriciana, sauteed mussels, spaghetti with Tuna egg (interesting and different), Porcini (was great), Tiramisu. The Bistecca Florentina was not bad as well. So-so dishes: pizza, Carbonara (disappointing for rome), desserts were nothing spectacular (creme brule and pannacotta were forgettable). The bill was very reasonable. Experience was so-so because of the vibe of the place. We came as a group of 16- as our last night in Rome of course we were chatting away and we were immediately silenced by the elderly lady in the restaurant for being too noisy. We off course were thrown off by this but kept quiet nevertheless. Staff was not friendly/ didn't warm up to us at all. From experience, Italian restaurants may have some arrogance as you walk in but by the end of the meal, we would normally have a nice relationship with the people taking care of us. At the end of the dinner, one of the kids knocked a glass down and the same elderly lady who made us keep quiet was clearly annoyed and unhappily (with very unpleasant motions) cleaned up for us even as we cleaned it already for her. The service and unfrendliness for me ruined the overall experience and I would not go back. The food, at the end of the day, was nothing too special given the experience and the vibe of the place. If you are a big group and want to let loose, this is not the place for you. Also it seemed very unfriendly for kids. Maybe their 4 star rating has gone to their heads.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We celebrated a family birthday in this small but ever so cosy restaurant a few days ago. Reservation was made by mail 2 months before and everything - but really everything - was as we expected. This family restaurant with its outstanding food is a real gem in Rome. Modest prices and the food quality is beyond expectation. Great antipasti, delicious pasta and please try the bofalina cake, absolutely mouthwatering. The red table wine was great.
I have been coming to Italy for the last 26 years (mostly on business) but this was surely the most delicious evening meal ever had in bella Italia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“rutic italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spending a few nights in rome and decided to go here, because hotel recommended it. Walk in to a very small restaurant. Sat down and was there a little bit before the woman came over. What i noticed about the menu it was a menu with different items. WE ordered , pasta carbonara, and second courses were suckling pig and veal. food was good,.Dinner was good and nice meal in rome. we ate at different places around rome, and found this place good. Food in rome was very disappointing.and expensive.Guess we are getting spoiled here in the states with all those upscale and farm to table places that are sprouting up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Made in Italy :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After visiting Vatican museums we were really hungry so I found Piacere Molise on TA with good recommendations and we gave it a try, and it was a good decision!
Atmosphere is absolutely Italian with many different details from all over the world. It would be nice to have some classical or any kind of music in the background while having a meal but even without that we had a good time.
Restaurant is family owned so mother and son are in charge for a service and father is in the kitchen and most likely he will personally bring you a dessert if you have one.
We had 3 different pizzas and spaghetti all home made with love and subtlety. The texture was there the taste was there and bottle of house wine round everything up. And dessert was just perfect we had tiramissu and gellato and I still have a taste of it in the back of my brain :)
Be careful not to pass next to it because its not very appealing from outside but as soon as you step inside everything changes.
So for a genuine Italian experience Piacere Molise is a place to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piacere Molise also viewed

 

Been to Piacere Molise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piacere Molise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.