We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant history and personal service in the heart of old Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo del Duca House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo del Duca House to your Saves list
Palazzo del Duca House
Via del Governo Vecchio 115 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,536 of 3,081 Rome B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegant history and personal service in the heart of old Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Located in a very old neighbourhood, this B&B lets you experience life in the old city. Narrow cobblestone streets, lots of night life, close walking distance to all of the major sites and great local restaurants make for a great holiday.

Alessandra, your local hostess, will provide you with guide books and advice to help with your plans. She will be there for breakfast, providing a full hot breakfast (which is totally unusual in Italy!), in case you have any questions or need directions.

You will share her historical family home and live like the long past cardinal to whom the house first belonged. High ceilings, big windows, hardwood floors and modern bathroom facilities!

Enjoy Rome while you stay at Palazzo del Duca!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed 5 nights here and grew to love it and our charming host, Alessandra. A native of Rome, she really perked up our mornings with her friendly tales and her knowledge of the city as we dined on lovely breakfast selections that included pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit, eggs on request, and more. The street was perfect for walking and exploring the historic city center; we only used a taxi to get to and from the train station (25 euros). Our one snafu—quickly forgiven—was upon arrival when we waited about 35 minutes for her to arrive to let us in although we had apprised her 3 hours earlier about our exact arrival time. For our budget, it was a somewhat expensive stay, but we felt it was well worth the price for the superb location and the lovely host. Grazie! Tutto bene!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Alessandra and Maurizio gave us a very warm welcome to their B&B right in the heart of Rome, in our favourite street. With only a couple of rooms, you can really feel like the apartment is your own.

The room was lovely, with amazing high ceilings and a small mezzanine floor, great little bathroom and painted ceilings.

Breakfasts were wide ranging, with continental on offer, and also the option of eggs and bacon.

It was the perfect B&B and definitely the best we have stayed in in Rome, and this was our 4th visit. It's not cheap, but for the hospitality, accommodation and location, it was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This B and B was picked out for us by an Italian friend from Rome. What can I say that hasn't already been said about it. Fantastic hospitality, great breakfast, serene surroundings in a beautiful old home filled with precious antiques. After an 8 AM breakfast our host left and we had the entire flat to ourselves. It was close to everything so we were able to return several times a day to rest. Alesandra was a fantastic host. The first morning at breakfast my husband ask if there was any tabasco (for his eggs) and she apologized that she did not have any. The next morning tabasco was on our table. Loved the sounds of the street when we opened the great windows in the sitting room.
The sitting room had a piano, television, books and travel guides and an open bar for our enjoyment during the stay. What could have been better. It was nice to return there between excursions as the temperature was close to 100 in July. The place was spotlessly cleaned every day. Attention to detail was apparent. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

First time in Rome and what a fabulous location, great service and a room with frescoed ceiling. We read the reviews before booking and we were not disappointed in our choice. Alessandra and Maurizio met us on arrival at 10pm and gave us the grand tour of their delighful small b&b. It has everything you need from air conditioning to wifi to a beautiful breakfast room/salon and a frescoed ceiling bedroom with a large comfortable bed.. Each morning we were given helpful advice on were to go/sightsee and help with booking tickets for the vatican to avoid the queues etc. You are within two minutes walking of various restaurants, five minutes from Piaza Navona and less than thirty minutes fron the Vatican. And the shopping is to die for (so says my wife).
This is definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in Europe and we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Yes, it's expensive, yes, you don't get much in the way of luxuries (although we got some of the owner's own olive oil to take home), but it's a romantic, comfortable, fantastically located place to stay - we were there for a week, and we loved every minute of it. Mind you, it was our honeymoon...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Had an absolutely fantastic stay here while visiting daughter who was studying abroad. Location is a 10. Does not get any better. Very short walk to ALL places you want to go in the city and situated in a cool spot with great shops and fantastic hole-in-th-wall places to eat (particularly the "No Name" spot, across the street and down the block). Great breakfast to get you going in the a.m. and spacious living room to relax and unwind in the afternoon. Staff (Paola) is the most accomodating I have found in Rome. Answers graciously to your every call and even retrieved my backpack i left in the back of the taxi i took to the airport on day of departure and shipped it home. Prego!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo del Duca House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Duca House

Address: Via del Governo Vecchio 115 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,536 of 3,081 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Duca B&B is situated in a aristocratic Residence perfectly conserved, furnished with elegance and charm. The dwelling which houses Palazzo del Duca B&B was built around 1492 a few years after Christof Columbus had discovered America. Palazzo del Duca is a private and intimate B&B, where its manageable size allows a great refinement of detail. Our restaurant at the Colosseo "L'Invincibile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo del Duca House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo del Duca House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.