We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Giustiniano

Save Saved
You added NH Giustiniano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Giustiniano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Virgilio, 1 E/F/G, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #111 of 1,268 hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First stay in Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After traveling through the night we arrived in Rome at 7:30 a.m. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Maria was particularly sweet and helpful. We stayed four days and all staff spoke English. Hotel was modern and rooms exceptionally large. Breakfast was presented beautifully and had many choices. Hotel was very close to Vatican but a little further for metro. We were a family with three children so being closer to public transportation is important. We could walk to dinner and other attractions but it was a little a further out. The room was nice, quiet, clean and the extra space in the room was a bonus. Fridge in room was also helpful to have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    333
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
155
368
21
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a nice modern hotel close to the Vatican and I would happily stay here again. It is further away from a lot of the other sites though but as it’s Rome and you can walk around for hours without getting bored this was fine. The metro stop was not quite as close as they claim though. The hotel staff and the website seem to think it is a 5 minute walk but it was more like 15. The train and metro combination from the airport was fine for us though so I would recommend this.

On check in we were offered an upgrade for £20 per night I would say it was worth it as we got a top-floor room with a gigantic balcony that went all the way around and we also had a view of the Vatican. It was nice to sit and relax on the balcony. The room itself was fine and it also had a living area. I think they offer this to everyone on check in so if you are thinking of booking a better room it may be best to wait and see what they can offer you at check in as it may be cheaper.

Cleanliness was fairly average. I think the room we were upgraded to had been empty for a little while as it was a little dusty. Also the bath tub wasn’t that clean and looked like a crack had been filled in with some cheap putty or something so not really something you would expect to see in a 4 star hotel but I am a but picky!

Breakfast was included and there was a good selection of hot and cold food.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of maps and even a little guide book to Rome which I thought was a nice touch.

To be honest I didn’t spend much time in the room which is the way it should be in a beautiful city like Rome!

Room Tip: Upgrade at check in for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Friendly, helpful English speaking staff. Location close to the Vatican within easy walking distance to most attractions. Clean and very comfortable with an excellent breakfast buffet. Loved our view!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are worse places to stay than the NH Giustiniano. The rooms are clean, the location good. But the service is nearly nonexistent. For a hotel of this size and price, the lack of a concierge is astounding, and getting the front-desk staff to do something other than check-in and check-out is next to impossible. Prime example--I was trying to make a restaurant reservation, not speaking Italian. I showed the woman my smartphone and asked her to make the reservation. Her reply--"go back to the room and call the number".

Another affront is the ongoing NH policy of trying to sell room upgrades at check in. The room upgrade is one of the few spontaneous luxuries in the world of business travel, and trying to sell one before it being offered is just not nice. Besides, for those claiming expenses, wonder what the reaction would be if i had a bill that proudly displayed a charge for a room upgrade...

All in all, the place is sterile and indifferent. Not what one would expect in Rome, but alas, exactly what you can expect from NH.

Room Tip: Be prepared to fork out extra at check in for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A good location but the overall impression is of a hotel where everything is costed out and savings made. So free WiFi but very slow: a good breakfast buffet but if you arrive after a big crowd little food and tables full of dirty dishes: want to have a late night drink , first find the bar man.

The hotel is modern and clean but time again and again, one has the impression that customer service is not a priority but revenue raising and cost saving is. Of course good financial management is important but make sure the customer thinks they are Number 1

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very well located near the Vatican and close to shopping and to the bridges which cross the river. Great walking neighborhood. Our deluxe room has a sitting room and a balcony. It faces the street but is quiet and very light. The staff is friendly, for the most part. Seems like a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I selected this hotel based on being close to the Vatican and services being offered since my wife is disabled. Thru this sites reviews I able to select a room (#702) with views and extra room to provide for my wife's needs. Thank you writers! The breakfast service is truly well done. I found the morning & afternoon staff friendly and helpful, but the night male counter person was not. When I asked him to call a cab for us he TOLD (military style) me to walk to the plaza and get one there. This was not a good choice for my disabled wife and it took some time for her to recover from this ordeal.
One person that needs to be mentioned here is Christina and because of her I would give this hotel a excellent review. She made our stay here amazing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise with great views. Take the upgrades if you can afford them as they ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Giustiniano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Giustiniano

Address: Via Virgilio, 1 E/F/G, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Giustiniano 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Giustiniano hotel in Rome is right in the fashionable Prati district near many restaurants, shops, and cafes. 5 minutes walking from the Vatican and Castel Sant’Angelo, the 4-star hotel NH Giustiniano is ideally located for discovering Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Giustiniano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Giustiniano Rome
Nh Giustiniano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Giustiniano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.