We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel close to Vatican City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Giustiniano

Save Saved
You added NH Giustiniano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Giustiniano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Virgilio, 1 E/F/G, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #111 of 1,268 hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel close to Vatican City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in the NH for four nights from the 24-28 of March in room 314. It is a nice room, a junior suite actually with a living area and sliding doors separating the bedroom from the living room. In addition, it had a balcony that overlooks a church and small road. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to Vatican City. There are numerous shops and restaurants nearby. Overall a good location and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Junior Suite if possible and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    332
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
155
368
21
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The NH Giustiniano was our home away from home for 6 days. We decided to upgrade to a suite for 15 euros more per night, maybe because the cheaper room they showed us was an interior room and vey dark. We had a room on the 5th floor, in a nice area of Rome near the Vatican. It had easy access to buses and metro and the bus to the airport. The bed was comfortable except that the pillows were a bit too hard. Breakfast was included and very good, except the coffee could have been better. The only drawback was very slow free wi-fi. Note to the NH - travelers want free and quick wifi for their computers and phones! We had to change the password every night as well. Overall I liked the neighborhood and the hotel provided a good base to explore Rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose the hotel based on its position close to the Vatican (15 minutes walk) as we intended to attend the Easter celebrations there. The neighborhood is very nice and quiet, with wide streets and a number of good restaurants close by.
The hotel is partially under refurbishment, at least on the outside which meant that a lot of windows are covered by scaffolding (and there was construction noise after 9:00 a.m.). Seeing this we opted for an upgrade to a higher floor. Both rooms we got were large enough, if a small living room and separate bedroom. Our room had no balcony but an ok view towards an old church, my parents room had a balcony overlooking an internal yard which meant that they actually had no view at all from the balcony as the railing of the balcony was over 1.50 m high (the reason for this compact very high railing is unknown). Beware there are two separate "towers" so if you travel with friends/ family and you don't have rooms in the same "tower" you can only meet in the lobby.
Rooms are basic but ok. Our room was very clean, my parents room less so, it probably depends a lot on the cleaning staff on your floor. No slippers or bathrobes even in the higher priced rooms.
Breakfast is good with a wide choice.
Once you understand the public transport system in Rome you realise that there a number of buses very near the hotel that take you to almost all interesting sites in Rome.

Room Tip: Don't take a room overlooking the internal courtyard. Ask for a room with balcony, not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms was clean and very big with 2 bathrooms. However the bed was very poor. The mattress was incredibly hard and the pillows were awful as they there was hardly any filling in them. Also the bed was made up of 2 single beds and one bed was lower than the other. I think the beds were connected incorrectly. The TV has only 2 English channels which are both news channels. Also there are no tea/coffee making facilities. The minibar prices are very expensive (5 or 6 euros for a can of coke!) and the minibar fridge did not even chill the drinks as the setting was very low. There is a small supermarket not far away so we bought soft drinks there and brought them back to the hotel. The buffet breakfast does not really cater for the English. No full English breakfast just pastries and bread etc the only hot food was scrambled eggs, carrots and green beans (yes very weird). On the plus side the hotel is within walking distance of the Vatican and the Colloseum is maybe a 30 min walk or 15 euros in a cab. I would also say that this hotel is more suitable for business people as it has that kind of feel about it. The staff on reception were friendly enough unlike the Italian people in general who we found to be rude unless they were taking your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose this hotel as our HQ during our 5-day city-trip in Rome. Main reason was the certainty that the NH family of hotels has to offer: modern, clean interior (even some design), central location, perfect for short stays.
NH Giustiniano is just that. It's located in a street that ends near the San Angelo fortress, and a couple of blocks next to the Vatican area. We've seen every Roman place of interest without any need for public transport of taxis: everything is really within walking distance (the Trevi fountain, the Spanish stairs, the Forum Romanum, the Vittoriano, the Colosseum, the Pantheon,...).
Just one hint: avoid its restaurant for evening diners. Portions are huge and lack taste (imagine a mozarrella/tomato dish without olive oil or pepper!). It's fine for breakfast, though. But at noon or in the evening try the San Marco pizzeria nearby.
Internet speed is competing with turtles, but who needs the Internet if you're in the center of Rome?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent our first few days in Italy here, and it was a great experience. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They all made calls to Alitalia for me to follow up on my lost baggage. We accepted the room upgrade to a junior suite and appreciated the extra space those first few days. Breakfast was fantastic, too. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been twice in this hotel with my wife and my awsome baby (2y.o.). At a first glance it seems a vintage condominium, but, once you'll get in you discover a recently renovated clean and efficient hotel.
Rooms are fantastic, their bathrooms too. If you stay there you'll be at the centre of everything. only five minutes walking from San Peter; ten from Piazza del Popolo and Via del Corso; only 30 seconds from Via Cola di Rienzo... what is that? a place where your wife will find a lot of wonderful shops (italian style)... and you'll spend a lot of money!!!
Breakfast is ok, for lunch and dinner we preferred eating in some typical restaurants in the neighborood.

Room Tip: Reserv a room in advance, often it is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Giustiniano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Giustiniano

Address: Via Virgilio, 1 E/F/G, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Giustiniano 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Giustiniano hotel in Rome is right in the fashionable Prati district near many restaurants, shops, and cafes. 5 minutes walking from the Vatican and Castel Sant’Angelo, the 4-star hotel NH Giustiniano is ideally located for discovering Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Giustiniano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Giustiniano Rome
Nh Giustiniano Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Giustiniano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.