We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice corner room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Giustiniano

Save Saved
You added NH Giustiniano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NH Giustiniano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Virgilio, 1 E/ F/ G, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very Nice corner room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived at our hotel on Sunday(Oct 7, 2012) morning before 10 AM after disembarking our mediterranian cruise. We were met outside the door and helped with our luggage to the lobby. After we checked in a very nice gentlemen helped us with our luggage up to the room. I ask about an upgrade based on other reveiws and we were immediately given rm 707 and accepted the mini bar for 20 Euro. The checkin process seemed a little slow(I think this is due to computer system), but I was very pleased that we were allowed such an early check-in. Rm 707 is a top-floor-corner room with a view of St. Peters Basilica and the Castel St Angelo. The room was a suite split into 4 separate areas and a huge balcony that wrapped around the corner. The views were outstanding and Rome at night was absulutely stunning.

We were there for 2 days, but did not utilize the hotel Restaurant.

Our only dissappointment was the bed and getting comfortable at night. The bed was very hard and the pillow was very mushy. Would recommend extra pillows and it would be nice if the beds were upgraded with toppers on the mattress.

Room Tip: upgrade to the corner room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    301
    61
    17
    8
See reviews for
131
318
20
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After 2 weeks in Tuscany I was certainly ready for a modern, fresh hotel and NH Giustiniano was our choice due to location and TA reviews.

The rooms were clean and fresh with minor issues in the bathroom. My guess is that a refresh of the hotel will be needed within a couple of years. Still quite stay-able and comfortable. The location is excellent and within easy walk of the Vatican and other attractions (assuming tourist stay).

The issues we had were only really two:

1) the lobby bar appears to never be staffed. With no ice machines on the floors, the only option we were provided initially was the lobby bar. We stood there for 10+ minutes to get a bottle of wine opened and still no one. Asked at the front desk, a call was made, and still no one. Later we needed ice and were again directed to the lobby bar. No one again. Eventually we were directed to the restaurant on the other side of the hotel where we had to look for someone in the back to come help us. We located our own ice bucket by snooping through a cabinet just off the elevator on the lobby floor. Eventually we got what we needed but, wow, painful.

2) we pre-arranged a car to take us to the airport in the morning of our departure. We instructed that we had 4 adults with 2 suitcases each. The next morning we were met by a driver in a beat-up Mercedes C-class - not a significant car for 4 adults, plus a driver, plus bags. When I challenged the front desk about how we were going to fit into that I felt blamed for the situation as the staff stated that we should have been more clear. Rather than being the solution to the problem their last interaction with me as I left was rude and unwarranted.

For the service issues alone I would likely go find another place to stay next time. There are lots of great places to stay where you will feel welcomed.

Room Tip: The hotel is split into two towers. We were travelling with another couple and were put in separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel as part of a Trafalgar tour of Italy. When we arrived by taxi with our luggage, the gentleman at the entrance door looked us up and down and barely acknowledged us. Even though baggage was supposed to be delivered to our room (we had paid for this as part of our tour) no one assisted us with taking our luggage. The majority of the reception staff were snobby and by no means friendly or helpful. The room was neat and clean, but the air-conditioning was noisy. The breakfast on offer was average and nothing about the hotel its staff or the service reflected the price that we paid for the accommodation. There were very few restaurants within easy reach and the shops in close vicinity were mainly department stores. We had stayed in another hotel in Rome prior to the tour that was superior in every way and a lot cheaper! We wouldn't be returning to this hotel, nor would we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for two nights, I was given a small suite, the rooms were clean and bed comfortable. Not much of view from the balcone, but you are in a city. Other than breakfast (which was the standard buffet) I didn't use the restaurant. Hotel seems to be used by Americans on their whistle stop tours of the Europe, so busy with coach parties coming and going. Hotel staff that I met were polite. hotel is close to the Vanican and a short walk from the Metro. I would be happy to use again if in Rome on business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Great location, you can walk to Vatican and get around the city by metro.
Good breakfast lots of choice and a great coffee machine to get you goin in the morning.
We had a room on the 6th floor with a nice view, room was large with a cozy couch, the bedroom was also very comfy.
Bathroom was perfect with god water pressure for a refreshing shower.
No free wifi but if you book it online it s had the price the hotel lobby charges??
Free wifi in the lobby only.
Friendly staff. Booked a limo through the hotel for our trip back to airport and was cheaper than a cab!
Would rebook this hotel anytime I'm back in Rome .

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days in Rome, Italy from September 4th to the 14th. Our choice of hotel was the NH Giustiniano, which is located in the Prati District. We have stayed at NH Hotels on two other occasions and have been very satisfied. We were not disappointed this time either. We had a deluxe room which consists of a living room and separate bedroom. Our balcony was facing St. Peter's Basilica which made for a nice view. Housekeeping did a great job daily. Room service was very quick and efficient. My husband enjoys breakfasts and said he tried something new daily and enjoyed it all.
My one complaint is that the room did not have a full length mirror but it did have a make-up mirror so that negated my irritation.

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of Rome and at first we were concerned we would have to take the metro to a lot of sites. We are walkers, but we easily walked to all the sites easily except for the colosseum. We walked it easily but for some it might be too far. It probably took us an hour to one and 1/2 hr. but we also stopped at other sites along the way. The Vacation, Castel Sant' Angelo and Piazza Navonna were really close, 10 to 15 minutes walk.

A really good restaurant is Pizzicotto which is located on Via G. Gioacchino, about two blocks from the hotel. The head waiter, Giuseppe Rossi quickly became our friend and each night he would have the chef prepare meals not on the menu for us. Needless to say, we ate there every night.

A great shopping street, Via Cola Di Rienzo, which is one block from the hotel has the latest in Italian fashion and the prices vary so everyone should be able to shop.

We will definitely look for a NH Hotel for our next vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

As a hotel manager myself, I have to say that this is definitely one of the best that I have ever stayed in. Myself and my partner went to Rome for 5 nights and this hotel was just perfect for what we needed. The hotel was really easy to find and was in a great location. When we checked in the gentleman on reception was wonderful and could not have been more helpful. We were offered a room upgrade and for an extra €20 per night this included the minibar items and wifi for free. We took this and ended up in a corner room where we had a perfect view of St. Peters Basilica and the Castel St Angelo. The room was extremely large and split into 4 separate rooms. There was a large entryway which had the wardrobe with secure safe inside. Off this was the large spacious bathroom with a large frosted window which filled the far wall letting in lots of natural light. There was then a sitting room area which was lovely to sit in after a long day walking round Rome. Off this was a balcony which overlooked the main entrance and despite the amount of noise there is in Rome, when the doors were closed you couldn't hear any of this. The bedroom was absolutely huge with the largest bed I have ever seen!!!

We went down to breakfast a couple of times but not being breakfast people we only had the coffee but there seemed to be a great selection available. For food around the hotel there is such a large selection but if you want really good food, avoid the touristy places as the food quality was extremely poor!

We had a fantastic time at this hotel and would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Rome and we cannot wait to go back here.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade and try to get a room on the corner! We stayed in room 620 and it was wonderful!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Giustiniano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Giustiniano

Also Known As:
Nh Giustiniano Hotel
Nh Giustiniano Rome
Nh Giustiniano Hotel Rome
Address: Via Virgilio, 1 E/ F/ G, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Business Hotel in Rome
#77 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Giustiniano 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your NH Giustiniano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Giustiniano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.