We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Stil Novo

Lo Stil Novo
Via Sicilia, 66/B, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)
+39 06 4341 1810
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Lo Stil Novo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #285 of 8,547 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $84
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great service - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife & I went with a group for lunch. The lunch prices were very reasonable -- the serving size was a bit large for lunch. The food was great -- the squid salad and the pasta I had were delicious.
Atmosphere was very nice -- reminds me of a cozy and elegant wine cellar.
Service was slow by American standards but pace was what we've come to expect from a leisurely outing in Italy. They messed up one of our orders, but they offered to correct their mistake and of course did not charge for the error -- overall service was professional and otherwise attentive.
Every table was filled half way into our weekday lunch.
A great value for lunch -- we'll definitely have to return to try out their dinner service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    121
    36
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

In the Via Veneto area, not all food is equal. Although located in a basement, Lo Stil Novo exhales subdued elegance with walls in venitian plaster and travertine. But more importantly, it is the home of a real chef who does serious cuisine and masters the art of revisiting traditional italian dishes. With an obvious mastery of ingredients and a flair for unusual and innovative combinations, this chef should deserve praise. The sommelier is most helpful and the wine list does include interesting finds at reasonable prices. Service is gracious and the atmosphere overall totally relaxed. This restaurant should be filled every night: at about 120 Euros for two with a a first quality bottle of wine and an amarone grappa, you can hardly find better in the entire area unless glitz and overcooked buccatine all'amatriciana is what you fancy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The real italian restaurent where the price is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I came to Rome in search for Italy restaurent. I went to Cafe Veneto around the street and got a total rip off. 100 Euro for absolutely something not eatable.

THEN I search for Italian restaurent on the net which is close to where we are. Lo Stil Novo is what I found. Fabulous food at half price of the rif off restaurent on the street.

Highly recommend to anyone who want REAL italian food. The service is great. The place is luxury. Most important the food is fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“truly fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sophisticated cuisine served meticulously, they definetly know how to combine various textures and tastes. Very helpful and friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, live music (piano). Would be great if they had a garden or a great view out of the window in addition it all that, but their atmosphere has its own charm which is just perfect for a romantic evening for 2

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
1 review
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We came across this restaurant in Tripadvisor, and loved it so much. The food was delicious and service outstanding. Staff was friendly and willing to help with any advice. Between all other restaurants in Rome this one has really good price/quality relationship and 100% worthy to visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Stil Novo also viewed

 

Been to Lo Stil Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Stil Novo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.