We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and very expensive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Fiorentina

La Fiorentina
via andrea doria, 22, 00137 Rome, Italy
+390639737019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,392 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $35 - $139
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service and very expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Food was poor quality and very expensive - 4 euros for extra potatoes which consisted of a half a small potato. Service was appalling, we waited 20 minutes just to have a beer poured and we had to remind the waiter several times that we were waiting, this when there were only a handful of other diners. The waiter seemed only interested in enjoying himself with the other Italian customers. This was going to be our present to ourselves of a special expensive treat in Rome, but although the expensive part was true at 95 euros for 2 beers, 2 starters and 2 mains, special it certainly was not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    63
    64
    65
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Food, Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant on recommendation from our rental company. The food quality was pretty good however the service was less than satisfactory. The waiter who greeted us was pretty casual with the service. We turned up around 1230pm on a Saturday and asked for a table - the waiter, who proved himself to be a buffoon, said choose any one, no interest in showing us to a table. When he finally decided to come to our table he made a big deal of whether we wanted water or not! After a while he decided to bring menus. We ordered our food. When ordering we asked if the mixed grill was big enough for two people- the buffoon said yes. I asked for wine. The buffoon said he would bring the wine list - didn't think to present this with the menu. After asking twice, and after the primi piatti had arrived, I received the wine menu. When I finally got the buffoon's attention and I pointed out which wine we wanted. The buffoon nodded and left with the wine menu. After a while the maitre-d' arrived and advised that the wine I ordered wasn't available and recommended a replacement - all OK. As I tried to order this wine the buffoon returned to clear our primi piatti plates before we had finished. While we waited for the secondi piatti (main course) the buffoon returned and advised that the mixed grill wasn't for two as he had recommended and said we needed to order another plate. We ordered an extra dish. The meat arrived without the side dishes (contorni). We asked for the side dishes and were assured that they would arrive shortly. They did not. We decided to eat our meat before they got cold, again I asked for the contorni- I was assured they were on their way. No, nothing. When we had almost finished our meat dish, the potatoes arrived. The verdure (greens)? On their way, we were assured. Nothing. When we had finished, the greens arrived. To his credit the Maitre'd tried to explain the whole thing as a misunderstanding. It wasn't misunderstanding, it was incompetent service and outright contempt for the customer. The quality of the food was very good - meat dishes exceptionally tender. Shame about the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went there by our hotel recommendation. Service was nice and kind. We chose pasta for main. Very tasty and well served. Try a tiramisu, it's very tasty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Special place for all tastes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A rather ambitious restaurant with cuisine not lmited to specialties from Tuscany and above all an exquisite choice of home-made pastries (including ice-creams): the restaurant actually comprises a separate shop for those pastries).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and a patisserie beside it - YUMMMM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a meal in this restaurant for my birthday. Hadn't booked, but plenty of seats. We were seated beside a loud British couple (old guy trying to chat up a younger woman), so asked to be moved inside, where we were the only people. Great food, lovely wine, and when I told the owner it was my birthday, they provided a lovely selection of cakes with a roman candle firework :)) and a nice dessert wine.

Went back two days later to buy some delicious biscuits to take back to work. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fiorentina also viewed

 

Been to La Fiorentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fiorentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.