We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte del Papa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Al Ponte del Papa to your Saves list
Al Ponte del Papa
Aurelia 62, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,095 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Acceptable Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My college roommate and I stayed here for one night during our travels through western Europe. The room was clean and big enough for two people. There was one shared bathroom, but there were only three or four rooms so that was not a problem. There were some communication issues due to the language barrier. Thus, we were not comfortable leaving our bags here before or after check-out. The location was okay, but it was difficult to find. The hotel is quite close to Vatican City, but we had difficulties getting to the other main attractions. Overall, we had an acceptable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent location for Vatican, a bit of walk to bus or Metro station. Few eateries in the vicinity. But while the staff was welcoming and helpful, the location is right along a busy street where the sirens of emergency vehicles often blare.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a two night stay to visit Rome and this hotel served it's purpose. It's inexpensive, barebones hotel that was exactly what I was looking for. It's definitely no frills, but the location is literally 7 minute walk to Vatican City and easy to have the hotel manager get you a taxi to get into the center of Rome. The only downside is that if can be loud at night due to its location and the occasional wait to use the bathroom/shower however those were quite minor in my view for the price. There are also a few restaurants available within walking distance. Very helpful staff that appeared to live on-site.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at quadruple room late May/early June, with a queen size bed and a bunk bed.

I will start with the good:
- Location: within 5 min walk to Vatican. Accessible to Room city center by bus.
- Value: Typical hotel rooms in Europe accommodate two people. An add-on bed will cost extra. Our family of four would have to book two rooms. The quadruple room is spacious.

the mixed:
- Rooms are clean but dated. The host lives on site and cleans the bathroom diligently. However, the mattress is very thin and cheap and bedding is clearly worn out.
- Minimum service. Host provided a map and highlighted bus route upon arrival. Nothing else.
- Simple breakfast. Prepackaged croissant and instant coffee. No hot food.
- Shared bathroom. Not surprised by that as it is clearly indicated at the time of booking. Nor was it much of a nuisance as we only encountered occupied bathroom once.

the negative:
- Nose. The shutter window provides no insulation to noise. The cars rumble through the road underneath the window extremely loud. I had hard time getting to sleep the first night.
- Bottled water. We were provided a bottle of water daily. We didn't realize until the day before we checked out that the bottle actually has been opened. I have to wonder who used the bottle before and where does the water come from?
- Bathroom small and cumbersome. This could be an European thing. But I'm talking about bathing space of no more than 2'x2'. The shampoo dispenser apparently contains more water than detergent. The hotel-sized bath soap we brought was reduced to almost nil the next day. Bring your own (adequate) bath essentials!
- Honesty. Hotels.com, where we made the reservation, confirmed credit card payment is accepted at the hotel. When I tried to make the payment with cc, Franciscan told me the machine is broken and asked for cash. After I insisted cc payment and told him we can wait for machine to be fixed, he promptly took out the handheld cc reader and transaction was processed within a minute without any issue. The only thing that's broken is trust.

Room Tip: Quadruple room is facing the busy street and can be very noisy, so is the room it shares bath with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The room was comfortable, though it was little hot in late June, but it was a great place to be based for touring the vatican and heading back to at the end of the day.

It was a bit of a trek getting to the further reaches of Rome, so suitbale for those who don't mind walking or if you are happy getting on buses to get around it's very inexpensive.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and gave excellent customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We spent four night in Al Ponte del Papa at the end of an extended European trip. Despite arriving during Rome's first significant snowfall in over 20 years, we found the location easily and were warmly welcomed. The location is not only convenient to Vatican City and bus lines (or even walking, as we did) to central Rome, it is also close to the Roma San Pietro train station, making access from Rome's Fiumicino Airport very easy. (It's a simple one-change ride, from the Airport to Roma Trastevere station, followed by a 6 minute ride to San Pietro station -- much easier than traveling to Rome's central Termini Station and then coming back to the Vatican area.)

Vincenzo was kind and welcoming, giving simple instructions for getting around to the main sites for the Vatican and central Rome. The wifi in the B&B was excellent throughout our stay, with a strong a steady signal -- so reliable that we were able to make clear Skype calls to the United States. The facilities (we had a room with a shared bathroom) were normal for properties throughout Europe: small but clean and very well-maintained. If one is looking for a large, American-style breakfast at a B&B, that is not the Italian norm: Al Ponte del Papa provides in each room a tray with simple food and beverage for a good start to the day. Additionally, if one has mobility problems, this would not be the place for you: to enter the B&B one ascends a long flight of stairs to the second floor, as will be found with many private B&Bs.

Overall, we would stay at Al Ponte del Papa again without hesitation, as it offers convenience, friendliness, and considerable value in comparison to most other possibilities in The Eternal City. Al Ponte del Papa was an ideal base for our excursions throughout Vatican City and central Rome; especially if one is interested in the wonders of the Vatican, from early morning Mass services to ready access to the Vatican Museums and Gardens, it's a great property at an excellent location!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size based on cost, but they still provide sufficient space for leaving one's belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were in the hostel for 2 nights, and had a very good time. Positioned near Vatican, and near the hostel there are bus stops with buses going to the city center. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and in general a really nice stay in the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte del Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte del Papa

Address: Aurelia 62, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,095 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast is situated in the centre of Rome just a short stroll away from St.Peter's square in the shadow of the famous Basilica. In the immediate vicinity , within walking distance from the bed and breakfast, you will find many places of historical and cultural interest in the eternal city. Each of 3 bedrooms is furnished with colour tv, ventilation and heating. The bathrooms are equipped with a shower, hairdryer and soap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Al Ponte del Papa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Del Papa Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte del Papa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.