We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Giovanni

Ristorante Da Giovanni
Via Antonio Salandra, 1A, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)
+39 06 485950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,654 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I visited here after seeing this place recommended in a guide book. The food was ok and the prices reasonable except...the bread. This place, like so many others, puts a basket of the standard fare in front of you, a few small slices of dry bread and packaged bread sticks. Know before that you pay extra for this even though you you didn't ask for it. The cost, 3 Euros (3 people). Just decline the bread, everywhere. It's not worth more than $.50. There is better bread at your local grocery store. Prices are already high in Rome, Spend your money on a good gelato instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    102
    57
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very old italian style,good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we had lunch here,we walked in before they actually started their service, told us to seat while they had their lunch. Service was good,well we were the first ones there but they were nice to us even if we were early and served us as soon as they were done with their lunch. most of the waiters seems to have worked here for a long time. Family owned. we had pasta and a pork chopped and some asparagus. Food was good and the price was so reasonable.We were told later,this is an old italian styled restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The owners/waiters were very friendly and guided us on the menu (Italian and English). Delicious food and wine. We arrived just after opening (7pm) and it got very busy soon after, with locals and tourists alike. Chose it because we were staying across the road and read good reviews on Trip Advisor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our first meal in Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

By the time we were ready to eat it was the customary afternoon closing time, but they allowed us in and fed us well. It was a nice place. I had the Fettucini Giovanni, my daughter had pasta and my husband had the quarter chicken with chips.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homely Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Last night at Rome we were and decided to continue our adventure recommended by a book compiled by some students. We were really looking for authentic italian food.

The moment we stepped into the restaurant, we felt like home. Ordered tortellini in soup and veal and other stuff (see photos). We just truely enjoy the dinner and this has marked a nice full stop to our Rome stop.

It was not too far away from Republica station. Worth a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Da Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.