We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sotto La Cupola Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sotto La Cupola Guest House to your Saves list
Sotto La Cupola Guest House
Via Cardinal Agliardi 15 | St. Peter, 00165 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€51 (EUR)
Ranked #136 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After reading all the good reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked a room for four nights here. The apartment is a 10 mins walk from the train station. The bus stop is 5 min away, which was good to hop to other destinations. The Vatican is a 10 mins walk which was really good!

Emilia was helpful about checking in and answering our questions. We got the rubino room which was tiny for a couple with 2 bags ( one suitcase, one duffel bag). The room is a dark red which makes it seem even smaller and dark. We had to stow the bags under the bed so that we could at least get out of the bed and reach the door. Dragging the bags out each day was inconvenient. There is no closet in this room, just a tiny area with 3 hangers. The mattress was hard so sleep quality wasn't great. The drawer by the bed side was not cleaned and had all sorts of stuff from previous guests.The bathroom is tiny and the toiletries were never replenished in the 4 days we stayed there. The good thing was the bathroom and room were cleaned each day. This room is better for a single person.

The walls of the room are thin and the last two nights we had noisy guests next to us. So we were woken up each morning to their loud chattering and noise in the kitchen! There is a small kitchen area with utensils so that one can cook. The baskets on the table are replenished with croissants,cakes and bread daily,which was good.

The lift wasn't working for most of our stay, so had to use the stairs most of the time. Climbing 4 flights of stairs after a long day on the feet in Rome is not what we looked fwd too. I guess it was bad luck that at the same time there was some kind of transport strike in Rome, so getting to the historical center etc in the heart of Rome was not easy!

All in all, after 2 beautiful weeks in Italy, where we got to stay in much better B&B's, this was a disappointing end to our journey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After looking at 100s of places online, I decided to check out this place--mostly because of the location, but also for the great reviews on TripAdvisor. I was very glad I did. We really didn't know what kind of place this was, but we soon learned upon our arrival once we saw the place. I couldn't get an idea of what kind of place this was (e.g. Bed & Breakfast, Hotel, Motel, Inn, etc.) just by seeing pictures of it online, and I'd never stayed at a "guest house" before, so I didn't know. I describe what it's like in the next paragraph. After booking this place, the owner contacted me via e-mail. Emilia's English is excellent, and she made me feel very welcome & comfortable about my stay. She offered to arrange a driver to pick us up at the airport. Having never been to Rome before, this was especially helpful. She was so kind to answer all of my questions. Emilia wonderfully worked with us regarding our arrival time, holding our luggage, and our scheduled activities. Our plans really didn't work out according to the standard check-in/check-out times, but I had given Emilia our entire schedule well ahead of time to see if anything would be a problem. She helped us with everything we needed. Close to the time we were getting ready to leave Rome for the port in order to start our Western Mediterranean cruise, we needed some information. Emilia's husband, who doesn't speak English, immediately called Emilia, who was out for a while, so that she could help us. That was so nice, and it was extremely helpful as we really didn't know what to do.
Here's what the place is like: Emilia & her family own 2 apartments on the 2nd floor of their building. They live right next door. Each apartment has 2-3 bedrooms. We (3 of us) rented the Triple Room, which is in the 2-bedroom apartment. The Triple Room has 1 bed for 2 people (probably a queen-size) + a small, single bed that was similar to a roll-away. I slept on this bed. It was comfortable. I think its matress was a memory foam matress. We had access to our room, the bathroom, & the kitchen. We never saw/heard from those in the other bedroom. The place was very clean. The furniture was very elegant. The wardrobe was like a very fancy antique. I think it was too nice that we were afraid to use it! The A/C was a bit weak, but I think that's sometimes common outside of the USA. The bathroom was nice and had plenty of hot water. The towels were comfortable and absorbent. I was surprised to discover a towel warmer! I thought those were only in England and in SkyMall catalog! The kitchen was stocked with glasses, plates, pots, and pans. We didn't cook since we were there for a very short stay. Besides, we wanted to have real Italian food prepared by someone else! There were little snack cakes or danishes on the counter for our consumption, but I didn't help myself to one. I believe there was also tea & coffee, but I didn't have any of that either. There was a shelving unit in the kitchen stocked with maps of the area as well as many other helpful resources that would help tourists get around town and see things. Because we were only there 1 night, we really just needed a place to sleep & a place to shower the next morning. We got both! I would definitely stay there again. I would highly recommend this place--especially for those staying several weeks or months.
1 note regarding location: It's nearly across the street from Vatican City, but there is no street noise! I have read countless complaints on this site regarding street noise at many other hotels in Rome. It's Rome (i.e. a large city), so that should be expected--particularly if you are going to open your windows at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The guest house was a bit difficult to find from the train station although we had the directions and it was only a 10 minute walk. Emelio greeted us she was friendly and spoke good English and was very helpful with a map and places to visit. Although our bedroom and bathroom was small the facilities were adequate. The guest house was very clean and in the small breakfast room you helped yourself to tea and coffee and packaged croissants. The guest house is a 10 minute walk to St Paul's Square and Vatican City and a regular bus stop 5-minutes walk away to hop on and off to other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

we stayed one night in September to spend two days in Rome and the choice was great. just below the Vatican, a short walk from downtown and well connected with buses. are three bedrooms with bathroom and a kitchen with everything you need for breakfast. all new, nice and everything you need for your stay. and alessio, the owner, helped us to move around, eat, dinner, etc...thanks alessio!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We liked our 2 nights stay in SOTTO LA CUPOLA in Rome!!! Two minutes walk from Vatican museums, clean room and nice owners who give you lots of advices regarding best way of visiting rome.. THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN!!! We shall be back!! Price is very competitive for rome.. we have paid about 40 euros per person.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This guest house is situated less than 5 minutes away from Vatican city. Easy to get to by train from the airport and brilliantly located should you wish to walk to everything (which we did.)
The apartment is spotless and the owner is super helpful - if we were to go back to Rome, this would be the place we would stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good location, just 5 minutes walk from the Roma San Pietro train station, it's €0.90 to/from Roma Termini. The nearest metro stop is Ottaviano Station on the other side of St Peters, a 15 min walk away. The 64 bus runs between Roma San Pietro and Roma Termini but gets incredibly crowded so wouldn't recommend trying to squeeze on with luggage, plus the traffic in some parts is so awful you don't get far very fast. We found walking was the best way to get around the sights. It's easy enough to walk into the old town area across the Tiber or down to Trastavere for dinner.

Emilia met us on arrival and was lovely, very helpful and welcoming. The guesthouse has 2 rooms, 1 with ensuite, 1 with the bathroom right next door to the room and a wee kitchen separating them. Emilia and her family live just next door if you should happen to need help with anything. Definitely take her up on her suggestions of local places to eat, we had some fantastic, and great value, meals. There's also a wee bakery/take away pizza type place around the corner on the train station side that had some of the best and cheapest pizza we've had, plus beers, juices and things. Dinner and drinks for under €10!

The room is beautifully decorated and cared for. Comfortable bed, dresser, couch. Small, modern and functional bathroom. There's air con in the room, a tv, and free wifi.

Breakfast is included and is pre-packaged croissants and cake, spreads, coffee/milk/juices. The kitchen is fully equipped if you preferred to cook or you can stock other breakfast items. We found it enough to start the day on if a little repetitive by the 4th morning! The room was serviced daily.

The only downsides we had were that the walls were thin so were woken each night, sometimes 2-3am, by the people in the other room coming home, sometimes staying up later drinking. The front door lock was a struggle and very noisy. The shower was awful, just a trickle so I struggled to wash my hair and the hot water constantly disappeared so we'd have to turn the water off/on numerous times. Not sure if that's a building water issue or for this particular place.

Contrary to what another reviewer found, we were able to pay with credit card.

Overall really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it or stay there again if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sotto La Cupola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotto La Cupola Guest House

Address: Via Cardinal Agliardi 15 | St. Peter, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#151 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#157 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Sotto la Cupola-Guest House, is located at only 250 mt from the Vatican City and 300 mt from the train station of Roma San Pietro. Close to most of the sites and museums of the eternal city, the nearest is San Peter,then Vatican Museums, Castel S. Angel, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and the Colosseum, which are reachable easily by foot walking through the most beautiful streets of Rome. Unique areas, interesting to leave and visit, as Campo di Fiori, Trastevere and Testaccio are nearby and are nice to walk through also by night also because of all the restaurants, pizzeria, trattorias and pubs of the roman night life. At the second and forth floor with elevators,of comfortable and quiet condominiums, we have rooms of high prestige, with italian antique furniture, antique paintings and private bathrooms for each bedroom. We have all modern comforts: WI-FI, AC ,TV led and hairdryer. To be as free as you wish you will be give all keys of the apartment, to feel like at home kitchen is at your disposal for breakfast and at any other time. For whoever wants to enjoy a stay in Rome with all modern facilities and familiar atmosphere, this is the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sotto La Cupola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotto La Cupola Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sotto La Cupola Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.