We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in a residential neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Santa Croce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Santa Croce to your Saves list
B&B Santa Croce
Via di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 91, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,255 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Hidden gem in a residential neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Don't come expecting a hotel, but rather a bed and breakfast inside a condo. We booked this room through Hotels.com and would recommend it to singles and couples; for Rome the price is very hard to beat. Our room had a private bath and we loved all the nice furniture and fixtures. Everything was super clean and nice. The owner met us downstairs, gave us our keys, showed us where to go on a map, and asked what time we wanted breakfast. Even with his very MINIMAL English, we were able to communicate sufficiently. The breakfast is tasty and served to us in the kitchen and unlike most B&B's, our room was tidied up while we were gone. Air conditioning and Wi-Fi in our room worked great!! It's a 5 minute walk to the Manzoni metro stop and very centrally located; we walked directly to Colosseum in under 15 minutes. There may not be a ton of businesses and bars right next door, but you can't beat the quiet street at night when you're trying to sleep. Speaking of which, my only complaint (like another reviewer) might be the extra soft pillows.

Room Tip: Rooms come with and without bathrooms. Be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Don't even think about to reserve a room on this b&b, the owner is a cruk, taking advantage of the tourist naifity.
You won't get what is promisses even tho is written.
Stay away!!!
We supposed to have a room with large balcony, a/c, in room bathroom.
We got no balcony, no in room bathroom, no a/c and the kitchen is locked, so you won't be able to have a coffe during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soriano nel Cimino
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked here after searching for a cheap B&B to cater for our family (2 Adults and 2 kids) at a reasonable rate for 2 nights in central Rome. We found this little gem! Really centrally located, spacious room, separate private bathroom, beautifully clean and well presented room and bathroom. The host was great, we arrived over an hour late due to traffic and we had to wait just 5 minutes for him to get to the B&B to let us in. Street parking right out the front for just €4 per day. He accompanied us to our room showed us the facilities, provided us with a map went through our location and pointed out places of interest and public transport. We asked for his recommendation for a family restaurant nearby and he recommended one just 2 blocks away. He then asked us what time we wanted breakfast and left wishing us a good night and happy stay. We went to the restaurant and enjoyed a good meal of delicious pizzas and seafood with drinks for just €70.
The next morning promptly at 8, as requested a delicious array of breakfast treats arrived, fresh brewed coffee, freshly squeezed juice, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, toast, assortment of jams, spreads & cheeses and 4 fresh pastries! Way more than expected and what we experienced in the many other B&B's we've stayed in.
Got back from our first morning outing at 13:00 to find our room had been cleaned already and left nice and tidy and ready for us to have a relaxing rest before our evening wandering around Rome.
This morning again we were woken by the lovely maid promptly at 8 with another delicious breakfast!
If we had any complaint it would only be that they should get better pillows :)
We have had a wonderful stay and will definitely come back and recommend this great B&B to our family and friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked three nights at b and b Santa crose for a 40th birthday surprise for my boyfriend. First night we arrived was great. He told us that we would stay the first night in the suite and then in the morning we will change rooms. Thinking all he meant was to move next door to the double room we agreed that's fine, no problem. Next morning came...we had a tour at the colosseum at 1030 so agreed 930 we would change rooms. He came to collect us and without a word said walked us 10 mins down the road to a different b and b (not as nice at all) and left us there. We had already paid for three nights. When we asked and complained that this is not the b and b we paid for, what's going on. He pretended he didn't understand. We later got 50 euros back off him as he finally admitted he had double booked. Very disorganised, but with an explanation things would have been ok but nothing. Would definitely not reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santacroce1, Proprietario at B&B Santa Croce, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
For an unexpected, i could be a problem for a room on 29 and 30 April.
The Guest booking was March 28 to 31 and I knew that they celebrated the boy friend birthday.
Upon arrival I proposed to couple with clarity: I give you stay the first night in the "SUITE" (very very beautiful room) at the same price of room booking if you tomorrow morning move to another bb in a nearby building.
Given the great room enthusiastically accepted the proposal.
The next day at 8.30 have breakfast in our room and at 9:15 were ready with luggage closed for the transfer to the bb (so they were well aware that they had to move to the other building).
I have accompanied them to another bb and they have not made any comments.
After reception called me saying that the guest had gone to the Coliseum and at return they wanted to talk with me. AT 2 p.m. the girl . tells me, since the discomfort for the transfer, wanted a discount on the price of booking. After stating that the evening before had agreed to transfer, to close the problem, I proposed them to choose between a discount of € 50 or to return to BB SANTA CROCE. They said they wanted a discount of 50 euro and the issue was resolved.
This is the truth that certifies the transparency and fairness towards guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was there with a group of three friends last year and I had an enjoyable stay in Rome, capital of Italy...Maybe was the "fault" of Rome of having such a good time here... The breakfast is fair, the location is ok, just nearby a beautiful catholic church - if you go to the terrace you may touch the saint statues on the roof...

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist for a room up, up, up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

i stayed at this B&B back in may 2010 and thought it was lovely. i went with a friend and we stayed in the twin room, which was basic but very nice. the bathroom was shared with another room, but it was very spacious and very clean. i really liked the location, i felt safe and it is in a quiet enough street with a lovely typical (full of locals) restaurant up the road where we ate most evenings as it was so nhami and cheap. the B&B it is less than 5 minutes walk to the tube but you can also walk (about 10 minutes) to the colosseum. the breakfast is really lovely and the host very friendly. the only problem i had, were the mosquitos... unfortunately there are plenty of them in rome at that time of the year and i spent hours at night trying and failing to sleep as kept being bitten! maybe they could install some anti-mosquito sprays in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nice B&B. Good breakfast: coffee, tea, fresh squeezed juice, soft boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, pastries, butter, jams, nutella, cheese. All rooms have private bath (some attached to room, some across hall). Must take subway or bus to major sites, too far to walk, but subway stop is only a 5 min walk away. Owner speaks a little English, maid speaks none. Free wifi worked well.

Room Tip: They have rooms with 2 twin beds and some with a full size bed, also, some rooms have bathroom attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Santa Croce

Address: Via di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 91, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,255 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Santa Croce
b&b Santa Croce Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.