We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mediocre experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Hostel to your Saves list
Blue Hostel
Via Carlo Alberto 13, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 724 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“a mediocre experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had to book this hostel last minute since there was no choice. A bit disappointed for the amount of steps we had to climb to get to our rooom and the quality of wi-fi signal (almost absent, we stayed in the third floor). Other that that, the place was rather spacious and clean; 8 minutes walk from Termini. We paid slightly more that EURO 100 per night for a double room (with tax), which is not a bad price for Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guests,
thank for your suggestion on the wifi connection, we will implement the signal shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    58
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
145
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Blue Hostel back in June 2012. It's really more of a hotel with nice clean rooms and friendly staff. The hotel is also relatively near Termini station (about a 5-9 minute walk). Great value. We'd recommend this hotel to our friend and other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Hostel for 4 nights in the middle of September.

The name doesn't do it justice. It's not a Hostel at all. It's a very well decorated Room with Ensuite.

LOCATION: Fabulous. 5 minutes walk from Termini Station, and Subway. Close to major attractions such as the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain.

ROOM: Spectacular. Met my OCD standards. Air-conditioning was bliss during the heat, and it was very quiet considering it's in the heart of Rome. Would have appreciated a Microwave though. Only has a small fridge.

STAFF: Hardly see them. You meet one at the very beginning, who gives you a map of Rome and thorough instructions of the attractions/transport and restaurants. After that they leave you to it, which is exactly what we wanted.

Altogether a very pleasant stay. If I was returning to Rome, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Proximity to Termini Station can't be beat. Room was clean and well maintained. Our host was very kind and provided lot's of info regarding sites, restaurants and generally getting around. Certainly nicely priced for folks on or not on a budget. Having said that I'm not sure this place is for everyone. The walk up from the street is three long flights. The shower stall was very small. Towels were thin ply. Finally on our last night the power went out and there were no lights and no hot water for a shower before our trip to the airport. The cordless phone in the hall used for reaching the manager was out to boot so we couldn't even contact anyone about the situation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Ciao!
Unfortunately there has been a black out in the neighborhood, causing an interruption on electricity, gas and telephone lines. There was literally nothing we could have done about it! As for the shower, just like we were discussing during your stay, it's a pretty big shower for italian standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a lovely place! A friend of mine told me about this and I wasn't expecting such beautifully decorated rooms, it really is full of charm. Very comfortable, great bathroom and really near Termini station, so it's very central. There's a Metro stop at the end of the road, too! Really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Blue Hostel is not a hostel at all. Its rooms are large, airy, beautifully decorated and it is located just a few minutes away from Termini - Rome's main train station and subway stop. Asking for directions to return to the hotel was easy and there were plenty of buses that stop there.

Ercole (the owner) was very helpful. He gave great recommendations for restaurants. I enjoyed every single restaurant he recommended.

Blue Hostel is truly a gem that offers great value. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at the BlueHostel for one night while travelling alone and would recommend it for anyone looking for accommodation that is in a great location, near a cool area for bars,restaurants and quirky shops, clean rooms with all facilities including fridge, a/c, hair dryer, kettle, and the individual decor is more like a boutique hotel than a hostel. It was very quiet and Ercole who met me on arrival was really helpful in making recommendations. I would definitely go back to the BlueHostel on return trips to Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms are up stairs so might not suit if you prefer elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hostel

Address: Via Carlo Alberto 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 724 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former convent built during the 17th century, with an amazing location between Santa Maria Maggiore, Termini Station and the Coliseum, Bluehostel provides fantastic double or triple rooms.Every room at Bluehostel has en-suite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, Lcd TV, free wifi and wooden floors.The rooms are daily cleaned and tastefully refurbished and are decorated with excellently preserved traditional ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.