We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value a stone's throw from St Peters Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfredo a S. Pietro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alfredo a S. Pietro
Via Corridori, 60, 00193 Rome, Italy
06 68 69 554
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,087 of 8,708 Restaurants in Rome
Restaurant details
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value a stone's throw from St Peters Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We first came to this hostaria simply to ask directions when we were trying to find a bus stop and found them so friendly that we came back, first for a drink and then for a couple of meals.

It's simple trattoria fare, but all the food is of good quality and the prices are extremely reasonable given the location just yards from St Peters Square and on the tour-bus route. One of the days we ate there was a public holiday and it was obvious that a lot of the customers were local families - always a good sign.

Our main courses consisted of items such as pizza, pasta and ham & eggs usually washed down with an Italian beer - they were quite happy for the two of us to share the one bottle as well.

So if you need a "pit stop" to recover from the tourist trek, this is the ideal place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“I'll Be Generous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

and give them three stars for having a place to rest our tired feet after the Vatican and for a decent bottle of wine and for a good desert (gelato tartufo or something like that.). My tortellini stuffed with ham was ok but not great, although a very generous serving. Hubby's veal steak and frites were average, again not great. They were packed when we arrived, so it took quite a while to be served, but that was ok, as we were in no rush. Enjoyed speaking with an older couple from England. They said their calamari wasn't great and the bread was "nothing to write home about." Our bill was 47 euros. We've had much better Italian meals for half the price at Buco di Peppos in Los Angeles. How sad is that?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I thought that this was a lovely place to have lunch and warm up after a bus tour. Reasonably priced, decent portions and friendly staff. Would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chosen by our tour, enjoyed by all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first dinner in Rome was delightful. We walked to this restaurant from the Spanish Steps with our large group. They accomidated us quite well, other than it was very warm at the back tables. The food was delicious and plentyful. The decor was interesting. A fun final evening was shared by all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best food in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

This place had the best pizzas and pasta we tasted in Rome.We went back there throughout our stay for lunch and kept trying different things.They had 2 servers who were a little flogged with work but they were still efficient.Its a nice cosy place to sit and have a beer and chill out after a long trip to the Vatican.
They have a very clean toilet as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfredo a S. Pietro also viewed

 

Been to Alfredo a S. Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfredo a S. Pietro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.