We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great, but that is it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega del Caffe

Bottega del Caffe
Piaza Madonna dei Monti, 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
06 474 1578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,719 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pouch Cove, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Looks great, but that is it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located at the top of a lovely square filled with locals enjoying the weather and each other. On a previous evening we joined them with a bottle of cold white wine purchased next door. But today we arrived in the square famished and went directly to the vine covered courtyard where we sat outdoors absorbing the last of the afternoon sun. Once seated everything ran downhill. The service ranged from indifferent to slow to lousy. We ordered a salad and a plate of salami. The former was mediocre soaked in dressing, the latter to be fair was excellent when matched with the bread on offer rather than the crostini it was served with. I followed with a pasta that took a half an hour and three separate requests for service. I should have quit while ahead. The ravioli was Chef Boy ar Dee. Straight out a can. Tasteless and cold as the coffee. Fifty euros and that is what they got. Never again. Try somewhere else.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    61
    27
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“VERY overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This place is packed ... But that does not always mean it is good. The menu states that items are frozen and reheated. I do not go to a restaurant and pay top dollar for preheated food. The view of people passing by is very limited and since the plaza is on a slope, so is your table and chair. The service is typical of tourist spot that does not expect to see you again ... Ignore patrons bordering on rude. To sum it up : tourist spot, limited view, poor seating, frozen food, bad service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Jet-Lag fighting pit stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Found this cozy cafe on a walk a few blocks from our hotel. Very friendly staff, good English skills. Prices were very inexpensive. Espresso was good, cheese plate was excellent. Sat outside in Feb!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice restaurant, small portions.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good ambiance, very nice waiters. The square is one of the best ones in Monti

Delicious food in very small portions. I chose the lasagne which was quite enough for a female, but the ravioli which my male friend chose was a very smal portion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very nice place with good food.try the plate with cheeses and cold meats with a bottle of wine!you can go after your visit at Colosseum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega del Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Bottega del Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega del Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.