We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended - clean, modern and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beau Site - Antica Residenza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beau Site - Antica Residenza to your Saves list
Beau Site - Antica Residenza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ludovisi, 45, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Leicester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Recommended - clean, modern and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Beau Site for 3 nights. We were really pleased with how clean and modern the room was and the location is just round the corner from the Spanish Steps. We could walk to all of Rome's sites from here so was a great stay all round. The owners and staff were so helpful and friendly too so I recommend here as a great value place to stay - the free wi-fi is a definite bonus!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for your nice review!

Wishing you and Adam the best!

Linda and Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    69
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
184
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The location of the hotel is in the very chic via Veneto. The room is nice and clean and staff are extremely nice. If you're looking to save money don't eat near the hotel walk a bit further and you could get pre fixe dinners for the price of an appetizer in the rest. nearby...with this in mind Rome was the second part of a three euro country tour for me. Each hotel I stayed at I made sure breakfast was included to start my day off well... This is where beau site falls short the buffet selection was pretty bad there was not even milk for te cereals. Also the croissants were very rough. Furthermore the selection was only very few items. Compared to the two other hotels beau site would have been better if the breakfast was better after all it is a 4 star establishment. I enjoyed my time there but am not sure if I would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent three nights at Beau Site in the middle of August and had selected the hotel from an air+hotel package offered on Orbitz. Beau site was everything as described. The large Junior suite was roomy and my 17 yr. old grandson was quite content with his bed on the other side of the room. We had a corner location with a view of an historical mansion. I loved the slippers that were provided. The room had coffee/tea makers, room safe, daily bottle of water, many TV channels, and more. The bathroom was beautiful. Linda and Fabrio made us very welcome throughout our stay and were very helpful with our questions about the city. They are excellent hosts. It was so convenient to have the breakfast buffet in the hotel because we could start right away to sightsee. After a hot day, it was a pleasure to come to an air conditioned room. The location is quiet. The Via Veneto is only a short block away. We easily walked to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, and many restaurants, gelato stores, and retail stores. Stay here and you'll save on taxi fares. We can firmly recommend Beau Site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Oh, Barbara!

What a lovely review! Thank you so much!

We are looking forward to have you here again, so glad we made your stay so memorable!

Hugs to all of you, say hi to James and Michael!

Linda and Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having never stayed in Rome before, we were looking for somewhere central to see the sights from and we were not disappointed! The hotel is located close to the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain and was in walking distance for most of the other major sights.

We were very impressed with the hotel staff, who were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful - offering us advice on where to eat and showing us how to get to certain place.

The room was very clean, had a small safe and was of a good size - importantly they had free WiFi! The complimentary breakfast was relatively standard with a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts and pastries along with tea and coffee.

Overall we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to our friends visiting Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

It's always a fantastic accomplishment for us when you feel satisfied with the services we provide and the help that we give.

It's really our pleasure to have so great people here with us, and we'll be glad if you come back next time.

Best Regards

Linda and Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had such a great stay at Beau Site, that we went back later in the same week. The hotel is a small bit of luxury in walking distance of all of Rome's best sites! It's a second-floor condo style hotel with just enough rooms to make it feel personal. The rooms are a great size, with comfortable beds and large walk in showers and HUGE windows that open inwards to allow a gorgeous view of Roman architecture. The breakfast was good and plenty of choices, but we are more "bacon'n eggs" types, so a little insufficient. We were able to walk to many great restaurants, and found lots of shopping! We saw many of the big sites by foot, and when we got tired the metro station was only 2 minutes away. Mostly, we must speak of our gracious hosts Fabrizio and Linda. It was so lovely to get to know them! This beautiful couple greeted us with smiles every time, they answered our endless questions, (usually with great recommendations!) and they helped us to set up train tickets and hotel reservations for the rest of our trip. Because they are in their 20's, and we just hit our 30's, they helped us find a couple late-night spots that were off the beaten path and amazing! We returned here at the end of our trip, and Fabrizio gave us the luxury suite at a discounted rate for our final 2 nights. We couldn't have been happier with this hotel! Great location, rooms and service... and I haven't yet mentioned it was the most affordable place we stayed.

Thank you Fabrizio and Linda for also letting us use your phone charger, and should you ever make your way to Canada we will return all favours!

Ci Vediamo Dopo! (for Linda)

xoxo, Stef and Ian
Aug 27/28 and Sept 2/3.

Room Tip: We stayed in 204 and 205, both gorgeous! But 205 is enormous with a corner view, so the fancier choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Oh Guys,

What a nice review!!! Thank you so so much, we've had a great time having you here, it was a real pleasure to help you and we're both very glad we made your stay so memorable!

Hoping to see you soon again!

Hugs to you both

Linda & Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My cousin and I stayed at Beau Site for 4 days and had a lovely stay. As many of the reviews said, the location is great, with an "easy" walk to the Spanish Steps, Via Veneto, Fontana de Trevi, the shopping areas and most other key Rome sites. The train that stopped closest to the hotel wasn't working the week when we were there, but we managed with just walking most everywhere. The few times we did need a cab, Fabrizzio and Linda would call a cab for us and it would arrive in less than 5 minutes, every single time. It was great. Very little time wasted.

The hotel itself is on a quiet tree-lined street and is on the 2nd (and 3rd?) floors of a beautiful old building. It doesn't even look like a hotel from the outside, so if traveling by taxi, it's good to remember the building number. Most cabs will know Via Ludovisi. I thought It was very charming. We had a rental car on the first day because we went to Tuscany first and didn't have too difficult a time finding the hotel. There was also plenty of street parking, and a parking structure a few meters away. When we returned the rental car, we took the express train back to the city. From Termini, it was a 20-30 minute walk back to the hotel passing the Santa Maria Maggiore, Quattro Fontani, Piazza Tritone and a few other landmarks.

For our stay, Fabrizio upgraded us to a deluxe room which had a lovely view of the Istituto Svizzero di Roma. The A/C was perfect, because we had some hot days in Rome, and coming back to a cool room after a lot of walking was just heaven.

Other pluses:
1) Free internet! Yes!
2) Breakfast area was a lovely sunny area. It's pretty simple continental style with breads, cold cuts, jams, yogurts, etc. Eggs, hot chocolate and a few other things were additional $, but what was available is sufficient and tasty.
3) There's always someone greeting us hello and goodbye, which makes it feel very welcoming and homey. Fabrizio and his staff are very warm and sincere.
4) Some nice restaurants nearby, although beware of the ones in Via Veneto. Pricey and touristy.
5) Always felt safe walking around at night and the hotel felt very secure with secured entry in the front and secure entry once you get to the hotel on the second floor.
6) Items in mini-bar were affordable. We mostly just drank the water, but there was beer and prosecco in there, too.

Some maybe-negatives:
1) The place is kept very clean, although one of the days, the cleaning lady left some of her cleaning items in our room (a duster, a rag). I'm not picky about these things but some people might find that annoying. For me, it means she came into clean and actually used these things!
2) We were on the 2nd floor with a room near the breakfast area. If someone rang the bell at night, we could hear it pretty loudly. I think we were so exhausted most nights (or we were those late night people on others!) that it wasn't a big deal, but again, something that some people might find annoying.
3) No tub in our room, but we're not bath people. The bathroom was so spacious and clean with all the necessary amenities.
4) Smallest elevator known to man. But, we used the stairs 95% of the time, so no big deal. (The stairs by the way are gorgeous marble steps. Very old world Italian.)

Quick tip: If you walk down from the hotel on Via Francesco Crispi and turn right at Via di Capo le Case, there is a small cafe/gelati place called Cafe Nobel (next to a Pizzeria). They have THE BEST gelati in the area. It is SO GOOD. You can taste the fresh fruit and real chocolate, etc. This place was so good we went back every single night, on the way back to the hotel. (And sometimes, twice.) It made the uphill walk to the hotel go by fast! Buy a gelati, walk to hotel, by the time you get there, it's finished. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Proprietario at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very useful review! We appreciate much compliments but, ost of all, we appreciate good and constructive critics.

By the way, I'm afraid that the title of your nice and detailed review isn't much proper for the content of it, just because the italian word "pensione" means the opposite of what Beau Site is!

Anyway we'd like to thank you again for your lovely words about us.

Looking forward to have you here again,

Best Regards

Fabrizio Ricciardolo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beau Site during august of 2012.It was ideally located to visit all of the sites in Rome especially the Spanish steps. We had excellent advise from our hosts and visited almost all of the sites and many more that are not on the main tourist map. We were able to walk to everywhere and only took taxis to go to and from the hotel/termini at the beginning and end of the holiday. The breakfast was disappointing but is the only area for improvement. We were surrounded by cafes and restaurants and had good food at reasonable prices. We felt well looked after by our warm welcoming hosts and are very happy to recommend the Beau site to anyone visiting Rome. Arrivederci Roma!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Nick and Maxine,

Thank you so much for the nice review, and especially for your kind suggestion.

We are constantly trying to improve and provide the best to our guests, so we appreciate good critics and advices.

Best regards to you both!

Linda and Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beau Site - Antica Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Site - Antica Residenza

Address: Via Ludovisi, 45, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#102 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#193 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beau Site - Antica Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place, where the guest is the center of everything, welcomed and pampered from the initial smile to the last goodbye, which always leaves a taste of sweet nostalgia to everyone.This is the daily experience at Beau Site, luxurious Boutique Hotel in Via Ludovisi, an elegant street in the heart of Rome, just a few steps away from the magnificent Villa Borghese, that links Via Veneto, birthplace of La Dolce Vita, to Via Sistina, from which guests will reach in a few minutes the most attractive architectural, historical and artistic sights, such as the stairway of Trinità dei Monti, Piazza di Spagna, Fontana di Trevi, Via del Corso and Piazza Navona. The beautiful building where our Antica Residenza is located was built by the famous family of Roman architects Busiri Vici and came originally with the idea of a private home; then, the tranquility, sophistication and exclusivity of the location suggested the restructuring of a portion of the building, in order to create a jewel of hospitality that could ensure class, privacy and relaxation.The elegant décor, the style of the impeccable service and the comfort of each of the environments create a charming atmoshpere that makes pleasurable and memorable even the shortest stay.The Beau Site is a residence which is historical, but still Hi-Tech: the free WiFi and the iPad, available to our customers, are just some of the small details that contribute to create a balanced union of style and efficiency.In the morning, in the Bow Window room (unique in its genre) the continental breakfast is served on a buffet full of sweet and salted meals, always fresh and accompanied by the best Italian coffee and typical products.A special selection of drinks was made by a Sommelier especially for guests of Beau Site, even the most demanding ones. All is provided by a special service in the Bow Window dining room, or in total discretion in your bedroom.Among the various services offered: LCD satellite TV, free WiFi access, free AirPrint, check-in online for flights, online "jump-the-line" bookings for the Vatican Museums, Colosseum, Borghese Gallery etc., send/receive fax, transfer to/from airports, city guides, bookings for tours, open top bus, personal shopper, car rental.Who’s choosing our Boutique Hotel Beau Site knows what he will find, but never expects what being in this unique place really means, until he discovers by himself, being pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beau Site - Antica Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Site Rome
Beau Site Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beau Site - Antica Residenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.