We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Castrense

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Castrense to your Saves list
Domus Castrense
Viale dell'Universita, 25, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #613 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

We stay at domus castrense for 6 nights in august. We decided to stay here based on price and location. We arrived in Rome quite late so requested a late check in and much to our delight massimo (max) one the hosts was waiting outside for us. We arranged a airport transfer for convenience because of the late arrival.

Our room was large and spacious. There was a queen or king size bed, air conditioning (a must in summer), large LCD tv with satellite, safebox, mini fridge, desk, closet, and two lounges chairs. The room was very clean and eveything seemed fairly new. The bathroom was clean as well.

Free wireless is available but was unstable at times. It can be a problem if this happens at night as no one is on site to help.

Free breakfast is served in your room based on what time you want it served. You complete the breakfast form on the lobby. You can ask for juice, coffee, toast, croissant, yoghurt. Nothing special but good enough.

The b&b is less than 10 minutes from termini station. A good distance to be away from the busyness of the termini area.

Overall, my wife and i had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    36
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
47
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had a great stay at Domus Castrense. The room was very nice, exceptionally clean. We liked the B&B feel. You could come and go as you please and were feeling as if you had your own personal apartment for a few days. The breakfast was served to you in your room between a certain time, which you would indicate the night before. Free internet which was awesome (especially since we couldn't find a TV channel in English).

The ONLY complaint was when we arrived. The door to enter was locked. We really didn't know how to get in. A simple instructions emailed prior on how to enter (which button to push for assistance) would be nice.

Overall, great experience!

Room Tip: Most hotels are close to the Termini, which gives you options for traveling around the city too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here for several nights with a friend of mine on my 3rd trip to Rome. The location is good, though not as good as other hotels that I have stayed in while in Rome.

The breakfast was good, as always fresh pastries and yogurt with some fruit. Cappuccinos to order was the best though!

The decor is quite pretty, simple and light, but very nice. It is a small hotel, I'm pretty sure that it used to be an apartment that was just divided because it is in an apartment building. The up side to this is that it was quiet. There was a bit of construction (scaffolding on the outside of the building) that blocked out patio but the view wasn't much to see so we didn't mind. The beds were comfy.

The staff was very very nice, though it should be noted that they are not always there. Basically during check in times and for breakfast. Not at night at all.

I liked it but I have found another hotel in Rome that I would probably stay at over this one, though this would probably be my backup.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This is more of a B&B style rooms in an apartment block, and not a hotel with 24hr reception. The location of the rooms is not great, better options to be had nearer to the termini if that is important to you. A lot of construction work going on and a long, hot walk to the city, termini and any metros. The triple room was only a double with an extra bed shoved in with no space between them, which is not ideal in the heat and a bit misleading. Breakfast is delivered to the room, with no fresh fruit, fresh pastries or cereal. On the upside, the room was modern and clean, staff were helpful and good English tv.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Great surprise, close to the main train station.
Good compromise between price and quality.
Interiors are quiet new. Wifi is free.

So why only 3 marks?
Negative topic: as breakfast is served directly in the room, as a common area is not existing, you have to book the precise time the evening before. Negative point, they were late of 20 minutes in serving it, I had to call the manager.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mykonos
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

very good experience especialy with the people of the hotel...we went to rome to get married and they help us so much...the hotel is about 350 meters from the termini in a location with many hotels...the rooms were spacious comparing to other hotels that i have been before and very clean...maybe in some other clients fotos are some details that it had to be fixed but general idea is that the B&B is very good and for sure we would stay again...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a seven day trip to Rome.We opted to stay at the Domus Castrenese after reading the positive reviews on this hotel;and i must admit that all was true.Actually it's not a hotel like one would expect,though we knew what we would find thanks to the reviews we had read.It's an apartment on the second floor within a five storey building divided into six nicely decorated rooms.
The floors are accessible to with the use of an old elevator(Describing the elevator as old doesn't mean it's rickety).The building is very close to Rome's main train station ,Termini.So once you get to the station you don't have to take a taxi but you can walk as it's only 10 mins away.As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by Alfredo(one of the owners) who patiently explained to us how everything goes along within the Domus,with not to many formalities but with a service one would expect from a hotel.
We were given a map and he marked all the interesting places(colloseum is only 20mins away )The rooms are cosy,have a comfortable bed,airconditioned and equipped with an LCD TV.Every evening you mark your choice of beverages to be served for breakfast along with cornetto and toast and all is served in your room.Alfredo also recommended a Trattoria,Sapori di Casa, a few metres away from the domus. This the perfect place where you can eat great food in a real Roman environment.
Well we only have words of praise for the domus and we strongly recommend this place to all those who intend to visit ROME.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Castrense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Castrense

Address: Viale dell'Universita, 25, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #613 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Domus Castrense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Castrense Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Castrense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.