We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel's Gate San Pietro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angel's Gate San Pietro
Save
You added Angel's Gate San Pietro to your Saves list
Piazza A. Capponi, 9, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,425 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“impressive building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile

Round castle former palace of the Pope. Huge building. A lot of very beautiful halls. Various walkways around the castle within the walls. Very nice view over the city. Beautiful collection of paintings.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

You would be hard-pressed to find a better place to stay in Rome than Angel's Gate San Pietro. From the moment we left the plane, our vacation was perfect. Alessia and Gianpaulo, our hosts arranged airport pickup and a courteous and helpful driver whisked us to the apartment, stress free. We were greeted by this delightful couple who were friendly and outgoing and spoke almost perfect English. The fridge was stocked with a bottle of wine and fresh strawberries. They deluged us with information which proved to be extremely helpful. This was in addition to the information they had already sent us earlier by e-mail. The apartment was immaculate and we were immediately struck by the image of Saint Peter's Dome greeting us from 2 of the windows and the large terrace. You know immediately you can be in no place else than Rome, not as it is sometimes in generic hotels which could be anywhere. The location is in walking distance to many major attractions and since it lies a couple of blocks from the Vatican walls, 5 minutes to Saint Peter's Square. Then if you go in the opposite direction nearby are many great eating and drinking establishments. To walk in the neighborhood is very important to us so this location proved ideal. Alessia had also arranged Omnia passes for us which we bought on their recommendation and proved very useful, especially the open deck sightseeing bus the Cristiana. That is also a must for anyone allowing you to get the lay of the land without walking your feet off. Finally, excellent beds. Great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is now a self contained apartment. It has 2 rooms plus small kitchen, small terrace and 2 tiny bathrooms. I think it is set up to be attractive to 2 singles or couples travelling together so they each have their own room and their own bathroom. We used the main bedroom with low double (queen) size bed and great view from the window. Very usual murals throughout the property.

The highlight of the apartment is the terrace and the lovely view over the dome of St Peter's Basilica and the surrounding terracotta roof tops. Looking down the side street you can see the walls of Vatican City. It is very charming.

The lowlight of the apartment is the bathroom which is about 4 foot square (120cm) with a 2 foot square (60cm) shower. It is not possible to bend over and wash your feet you can only stand upright (I am 5ft 6 inches and about 125 pounds - 160cm and 58Kg - and just fitted). If you are a heavy person you would not fit in it! Plus, were were only given one small thin towel each (smelled musty) to last for 6 days. There is no clothes washing facility in the apartment.

It is on the 5th floor and has a quaint old style elevator.

If you don't mind a tiny shower and have no need to wash clothes, this is in a great location, the terrace is charming, the owners were lovely and restaurants and supermarkets are close by. We booked through 'Rental in Rome'.

Room Tip: It is a self contained apartment with no selection options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsGate, Proprietario at Angel's Gate San Pietro, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest we thank you for your stay and the appreciation you showed for our penthouse, its unicity as per location and spectacular terrace view, dining area and rocking sofa, where you can enjoy your first sun down on St. Peter Dome with the bottle from the house... for no alcohol drinking guest please enquiry at your next reservation time.
We are surprised by your comment about towels because, per internal standard procedures, each guest has 1 hair drying cap, 1 bath robe, 1 little and 1 big towels always clean from laundry. Moreover at guest disposal there are a robotic vacuum cleaner and 24/24 assistance (that can change your towels easily and free of charge), so to make yours stay with us hassle free and unforgettable... Angel's Gate San Pietro, Rome – Italy… where time stops and holiday begins!!!
Tks for noticing that the 2 showers in the 2 bathrooms have italian standard shower dimensions 65x65 cm that is something to be considered before booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We arrived In Rome and were picked up by a driver who does not normally work for Luca so the mix up we experienced will probably not be repeated. We had a lovely stay and loved the neighbourhood. Luca was away so we didnt speak to him for a few days but when we did meet he was very helpful and on the last day let us store our bags at his B&B nearby. Our children slept in one room which had a seperate bathroom. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They were quiet at night and the neighbourhood is safe and interesting.There is a lovely view of St Peters Coppola which is beautifully lit of a night and a small kitchen and balcony which was lovely. Breakfast is not included but we found a lovely little cafe very nearby ( towards the vatican) that had great fresh juices, coffee and fruit salad. One suggestion is if you are sensitive to mosquitos keep the windows closed and the air conditioning on. We left the windows opened one night and were bitten. Also we tried to print out tickets on the printer and spent a few hours trying to work it all out as the directions were in Italian but turned out the ink cartridge had run out! Didn't end up needing the tickets anyway. Neither of these things are a big deal just something to be aware of! When we came back to Rome, Luca did not have any accommodation so we stayed at another B&B which was not as good. We hope to stay again at this cute apartment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsGate, VR Owner at Angel's Gate San Pietro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear guest, from 2012 the B&B changed its name to Angel's Gate San Pietro and even type, becoming a Penthouse Holiday Rental which is rented entirely to a single group of max 3 adults + one child up to 12 years (double, single and double services, kitchen and terrace). The Penthouse has been decorated and furnished, for example by including a rocking sofa and a dining area on the terrace, plus Electric Mosquito Zapper and Ultrasonic Mosquito Repellent and Ozone FootBath for tired tourist. The cute apartment has become further attractive for families or groups of friends that can enjoy their holiday in total privacy. Breakfast is not included in the rent, but new and more attractive services were added to make your holiday even more memorable. We hope to see you soon in Angel's Gate San Pietro.
The New Management Alessia and Giampaolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed in the B&B for 3 nights, and enjoyed the place very much.
We stayed in the room with the external shower and toilet, and was comfortable.
Room was clean and spaceous. Bed was comfortable. Breafast was nice as well :)
Location was great - close to bus stops and metro.
Our room had a nice view of the St. Peter's basilica, and was a walking distance from the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo.
We also found a mini-market near by.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsGate, VR Owner at Angel's Gate San Pietro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear guest, from 2012 the B&B changed its name to Angel's Gate San Pietro and even type, becoming a Penthouse Holiday Rental which is rented entirely to a single group of max 3 adults + one child up to 12 years (double, single and double services, kitchen and terrace). The Penthouse has been decorated and furnished, for example by including a rocking sofa and a dining area on the terrace, plus Ozone FootBath for tired tourist. The great structure has become further attractive for families or groups of friends that can enjoy their holiday in total privacy. Breakfast is no longer included in the rent, but new and more attractive services were added to make your holiday even more memorable. We hope to see you soon in Angel's Gate San Pietro.
The New Management Alessia and Giampaolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this B&B located near the Vatican. We are a family of four, and this was a perfect location for us. It is a ten minute walk to the Vatican and to the metro. The apartment was spotless and conveniently located for easy access. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby and the hostess was excellent.

NW l Los Angeles, CA

  • Liked — location and access
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsGate, VR Owner at Angel's Gate San Pietro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear guest, from 2012 the B&B changed its name to Angel's Gate San Pietro and even type, becoming a Penthouse Holiday Rental which is rented entirely to a single group of max 3 adults + one child up to 12 years (double, single and double services, kitchen and terrace). The Penthouse has been decorated and furnished, for example by including a rocking sofa and a dining area on the terrace, plus Ozone FootBath for tired tourist. The great structure has become further attractive for families or groups of friends that can enjoy their holiday in total privacy. Breakfast is no longer included in the rent, but new and more attractive services were added to make your holiday even more memorable. We hope to see you soon in Angel's Gate San Pietro.
The New Management Alessia and Giampaolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jönköping, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed at Residence l'Angelo for a long-weekend in june to celibrate my boyfriends birthday. In my memory i had a picture of Rom with low standard, so thats why we choosed this place. I´ve heard from my collegues that this place was super, and with "swedish standard", located central in Rom.
We had the best trip during our days in Rom, and we can warmly recommend this place.
The terass was the best, please just put som chairs out there, end the place is 100%:-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelsGate, VR Owner at Angel's Gate San Pietro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear guest, from 2012 the B&B changed its name to Angel's Gate San Pietro and even type, becoming a Penthouse Holiday Rental which is rented entirely to a single group of max 3 adults + one child up to 12 years (double, single and double services, kitchen and terrace). The Penthouse has been decorated and furnished, for example by including a rocking sofa and a dining area on the terrace, plus Ozone FootBath for tired tourist. The great structure has become further attractive for families or groups of friends that can enjoy their holiday in total privacy. Breakfast is no longer included in the rent, but new and more attractive services were added to make your holiday even more memorable. We hope to see you soon in Angel's Gate San Pietro.
The New Management Alessia and Giampaolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel's Gate San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel's Gate San Pietro

Address: Piazza A. Capponi, 9, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,425 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel's Gate St. Peter is a penthouse on the 5 floor of an historical building few meters from Vatican City, at the entrance of Borgo Pio. Double room with bathroom and single room with bathroom, fully furnished kitchen. The terrace has a panoramic view of St. Peter Church. a rocking sofa and living area. Walls are decorated with Angels and mural painting, the penthouse is equipped with all comfort, library, 2 TV, telephone, safe, free WiFi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel's Gate San Pietro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.