We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sforno

Sforno
via Statilio Ottato 110/116, 00175 Rome, Italy
0671546118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,164 of 8,713 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well off the beaten path but in a nice neighborhood in Rome. Food was good but also we just hung out in the neighborhood and enjoyed the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    247
    150
    58
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montecarlo, Italy
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One Year has gone!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We decided to pay a visit again to this restaurant and we found it pretty much the same.
However, we decided to share one Arancino alla Trippa Romana to start and that was not a good choice, dry, bit cold in the center and where was the Trippa?!?!
After that we chose 2 pizzas, one with speck and stracchino and one salsiccia e verdure, both good and you could taste the wood oven!
Service bit friendly but by the time we left the place was packed and service running around.
Again Good Pizza!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Rome by far -- don't let the distance scare you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We first found this restaurant from Katie Parla's recommendations (Guardian and New York Times food writer) and we can say that you should believe the hype: Sforno makes GREAT pizza. We live in Rome and have tasted pizzas from many, many different restaurants, and it's very hard to find pizza with dough of this quality. It's Naples-style, so you get more bread (as opposed to the cracker-thin Roman style), which basically means a chewier and tastier crust around the edges, and the ingredients and toppings are top-notch. My husband has had the cacio e pepe, and like others have said here, it was very good but a bit heavy for one person to finish. We've noticed that locals tend to order that particular pizza as an appetizer to share around the table. The red pizzas are great -- we haven't yet tried many of the white ones. The fritti/fried appetizers are also amazing and should not be missed, particularly the bacala' (fried cod), which I also think is the best in Rome. The downside is the time it takes to get to Sforno (several stops on the "A" line from the center of town), but once you get off the metro, it's just a few blocks away, nestled in the middle of a residential neighborhood. It's very safe -- it's just a normal Roman middle class/upper middle class neighborhood, so I think those who think it is scary or sketchy just really haven't been to normal, suburban Rome outside the tourist areas (I've been to some sketchier places -- this is not one of them!). The restaurant itself is unassuming, and it's family friendly. If you go earlier in the evening (i.e., 7:45 or 8), you'll see lots of families. It has a real "neighborhood restaurant"-feel, with lots of locals coming in to order pizza "portare via" (to take away). The staff are also very friendly and the prices are very reasonable. I would recommend making reservations, though it does seem like some people come and wait to see if they can get a spot. Sforno is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average and too far from center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I decided to make the trip to sforno due to the excellent reviews. However to reach there is a different story, by metro it is around 15 stops and the area where the restaurant is located is very sketchy and quite scary. We were happy to find the restaurant after 15 minutes of turning in circles since it is located in a small and dark street. The place is average nothing special, the pizzas tasted alright but we're quite burnt so make sure to tell the waiter if it is. I don't think it is the best place for pizza in Rome, however the prices are reasonable. But the trip is quite a long one, make sure to take the metro as the taxi would be around 70 euros back and forth. I recommend a closer pizzeria if you want to stay in the center

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great pizzeria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Best pizzeria I tried in Rome. Very very good. Neapolitan style. Wouldn't recommend Caccio e pepe pizza as others do. Too strong, and the cheese is not melted, it is just grated on top, which I don't understand. There is simply too much cheese (and I love cheese and pepper). Other (regular) pizzas are fantastic! Very far from city center, but not that big of a problem with a metro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sforno also viewed

 

Been to Sforno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sforno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.