We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Piazza San Calisto 6 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,752 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Yep, the bar downstairs is fairly noisy at night on the weekend... so take your airplugs...slept well with my plugs in.....either that, or go to the bar! Bar has really cheap coffee, drinks and icecream and the the locals hang there too, which I loved. Hate being in touristville.

Staff leave you alone. Our room was large and really nice (bathroom across the hall, but that's fine)...has character and not a big horrible anaethetised boring hotel....

I really loved Trastevere, and Calisto 6 is in an excellent location, lots of good dining and gorgeous lanes.....good location to walk to everywhere you need to, or take a tram, bus, metro...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Great place to stay at, but if English/ Scandinavian breakfast is important you need to look for something else. Coffee and croissant at the bar just outside the door gives a local feeling. In evenings there is a lot of noise from the bar as it is a very popular spot.
At check in we got a thorough overview of the area, restaurant recommendations and transportation.
The room and the private bathroom just across the corridor are very nice decorated and clean. No international hotel feeling here.
Don't buy maps/ guide books before checking the small library where it is possible to borrow.
Would recommend this B&B to Rome travellers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I are glad we spent three nights at Calisto 6. You can't beat the price or the location--in the heart of fun, lively, and full-of-locals Trastevere. We walked everywhere in Rome from this B&B with no problems (well, we took a bus to Termini station). You have a wonderful piazza right around the corner, and the nearby Ponte Sisto bridge leads right to the historic center of the city.

Our room was "IKEA chic" and a nice size, as was the bathroom. Free wifi was appreciated. We rarely saw the owners, but that was fine for our needs. They did provide a map and some restaurant recommendations when we checked in. Yes, the B&B is above a bar, but with our windows closed (our room had an AC unit), the noise didn't bother us at all. Plus, the bar is an extremely cool place to hang out--great crowd.

I can't imagine staying anywhere but Trastevere in Rome, and if we return, we'll definitely consider this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at Calisto 6. The rooms are done up individualized with the best of Ikea, so it really felt like we were staying at a friend's extra room rather than an anonymous place-for-rent. It's also of a pretty good size -- I've definitely had smaller rooms at three star hotels during previous Rome visits, so I was pleasantly surprised. My only beef with the room was the teeny-tiny bathroom... but then again, that's my beef with all of Europe's rooms. I think if we sprung for an upgraded room we'd have a bigger bathroom. Oh, and there's free wifi too.

The location's great -- right in the heart of Trastevere, and most of the major sites within walking distance. Yes, it's on top of a bar, one which is constantly full... but honestly, when I closed the window at night to sleep, it didn't bother me. I live in a city, and I expect a certain level of noise when I live in the heart of trendy neighborhoods packed with bars and restaurants like Trastevere. There's that urban hum of people, but it's certainly tolerable and FYI the bar will close at 2 am. If you really want a quiet place, you're better off looking at another neighborhood in Rome altogether. Anyway, the bar is what gives you breakfast in the morning too. The guys who work there and quite the characters, as are its frequent customers. It's an authentic place where the customers are mostly locals, no tourists.

What makes this B&B outstanding though is the host, Andrea Fella. He is SO helpful and kind. We asked him for so many nitty little things (even before we arrived!) and he always responded with a friendly smile and a kind, prompt answer. I mean, he even went out of his way to get back home ASAP from a trip out in order to print our tickets to the Quirinale for us! It was like having a concierge almost -- he's just that determined to making sure you have a pleasant stay. He's really what made the stay exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

I stayed here in October 2009 with my teenage daughter. Calisto 6 offers privacy, cleanliness and value in Trastevere. The owner Andrea is very nice and prompt to meet you when you arrive. You're given 3 keys to get through the buidling, apartment and your room securely. When we stayed there was one other room being rented...I think. Meaning, it's very private. If you are a lone traveler, I'd suggest a hotel so you have the opportunity to meet others. Also, research the surrounding area and your needs prior to your arrival as there is not anyone to direct you once you are there. It took a little work to find the laundry, cheap eats and understand the bus schedules.

The breakfast is a pastry and drink. The rooms are well maintained and cleaned daily but the bar downstairs is very noisy. If you don't mind the noise; and better yet planned to be AT the bar; there's no problem-it's actually a perk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B and found it to be very clean and nicely furnished. The owner and his wife are friendly, and it is located in a very charming neighborhood. It is a bit noisy at night due to the bar just below, and though the owners do provide ear plugs, we had trouble sleeping. The wireless internet does not work as advertised. The breakfast was a very small croissant with coffee - we were hoping for a bit more, given the price and that it is advertised as a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

This is a tough place to review. On one hand, the host (Andrea) is fantastic and incredibly helpful. The location is superb, right in the centre of some of the best food in Rome, and the accomodation clean and comfortable. On the other hand, the Calisto 6 is situated right above a bar in the middle of a busy piazza, which makes for an extremely noisy night on Fridays and Saturdays. Keeping the window closed reduces the noise to a dull roar, although in summer I could imagine this would make the room unbearably hot.
Despite this, we had a fantastic time staying here. The shower is clean, albeit a little cramped (we stayed in a room with a private bathroom across the hall), and our room was cleaned daily. Breakfast was a fresh pastry and coffee downstairs, which is pretty much all you'll need first thing, and the rooms are located right in the middle of the fascinating Trastevere district.
If you're staying on any days other than Friday or Saturday, this is a wonderful place and worth the effort. If you're a light sleeper, however, then you may want to take advantage of the complimentary earplugs that Andrea thoughtfully provides.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast

Address: Piazza San Calisto 6 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,752 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is located on the first floor of an ancient building of the 15th century, in the heart of Rione Trastevere, very close to Santa Maria in Trastevere square. 'Calisto 6' B&B is the perfect place to experience daily life in a typical Roman setting. The bedrooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated with tall ceilings, large windows and some rooms have antique fresco wall paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calisto 6 Hotel Rome
Calisto 6 Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.