We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong with this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciampini Ristorante

Ciampini Ristorante
Piazza Trinita dei Monti, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
06.6785678
Improve this listing
Ranked #708 of 8,292 restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“You can't go wrong with this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On top of Spanish steps follow road left till you reach this very fine restaurant . We had the cacio pepe for main with wino blanco . It's the best meal I've had in Rome! A must is too try the gelato. Superb service . A bit pricey but worth it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    136
    72
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Trying to catch shade near the Spanish steps we stumbled upon this more than adequate eatery. Although the prices are slightly on the steep side, the service was attentive and the food highly satisfactory. All this within a stones throw of the tourist trap which is Piazza de Spagna!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

nothing to fault really. service is professional but not detached - our waiter smiled a lot, answered my questions patiently and thanked us for the compliments i made. food is very good, i particularly liked the octopus salad and the tonarelli pasta with pecorino cheese (yum!) great wine recommendation too. overall a lovely experience just a few paces away from the Spanish steps.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All about our experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food was terrific, the view was dome-full, as expected and I loved that there weren't wait staff at our elbows all the time! They only seemed to show up when the glass was low or our plates were empty. How can they see that? I especially enjoyed the cookies that came with our final espresso of the evening but can't figure out what they were and was in such a mellow place after the wonderful meal that I didn't think to ask. Wow, what a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Unattentive; Decent Food; Great View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It's in a perfect location just off the Spanish Steps on the Pincian Hill overlooking northern Campo Marzio with the same view as Joe Bradley's flat in Roman Holiday (really, no kidding, Via Margutta 51 is almost directly beneath it), and the food is pretty good - not amazing like Ad Hoc, but pretty good. It's also got kitsch appeal with the turtle pond. The knock I have is that the service was very pretentious, cold, and rigid, and not particularly attentive. It was our first meal in Rome, a lunch on a hot day after a long plane ride. I wanted some gnocchi, bread, water, and wine, and I got that, but after experiencing much warmer service at a host of other places in Rome over the rest of the trip, I have a baseline of good service that, looking back, this didn't meet in many respects. With that said, I'll probably go back to give it another chance. It's too good of a location, and it has too much potential to abandon after one, less than stellar service experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciampini Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Ciampini Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciampini Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.