We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about our experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciampini

Ciampini
Piazza Trinita dei Monti, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
06.6785678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #649 of 9,120 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All about our experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food was terrific, the view was dome-full, as expected and I loved that there weren't wait staff at our elbows all the time! They only seemed to show up when the glass was low or our plates were empty. How can they see that? I especially enjoyed the cookies that came with our final espresso of the evening but can't figure out what they were and was in such a mellow place after the wonderful meal that I didn't think to ask. Wow, what a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    126
    25
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Unattentive; Decent Food; Great View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It's in a perfect location just off the Spanish Steps on the Pincian Hill overlooking northern Campo Marzio with the same view as Joe Bradley's flat in Roman Holiday (really, no kidding, Via Margutta 51 is almost directly beneath it), and the food is pretty good - not amazing like Ad Hoc, but pretty good. It's also got kitsch appeal with the turtle pond. The knock I have is that the service was very pretentious, cold, and rigid, and not particularly attentive. It was our first meal in Rome, a lunch on a hot day after a long plane ride. I wanted some gnocchi, bread, water, and wine, and I got that, but after experiencing much warmer service at a host of other places in Rome over the rest of the trip, I have a baseline of good service that, looking back, this didn't meet in many respects. With that said, I'll probably go back to give it another chance. It's too good of a location, and it has too much potential to abandon after one, less than stellar service experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. Veal was amazing Val loved the Sea Bass. Great veiw. I found the staff very professional and knew how to stay out of the way of the experience. If your near the Spanish stairs make the strool up to this gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elverum, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A great place to eat in Rome! Just minutes away from the crowds at the Spanish steps, this is a peaceful and quiet restaurant. The Food was excellent, the service was good, and the atmosphere and wiew was great! They even have turtles in a pond in the middle of the restaurant ;) A good Choice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were staying near the Piazza di Spagna at the end of a trip to Italy, and ate here on the recommendation of a friend. It was good enough that we came back the next night. We appreciated the fact that the restaurant was peaceful despite being close to the activity of the Spanish Steps area. The food was well-prepared and presented, and the service was courteous without being instrusive. Although the restaurant served several traditional Roman dishes in addition to other items, and although naturally there were plenty of visitors dining there like us, it did not give the sense of a tourist trap at all. Good choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciampini also viewed

 

Been to Ciampini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciampini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.