We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciampini Ristorante

Ciampini Ristorante
Piazza Trinita dei Monti, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)
06.6785678
Improve this listing
Ranked #727 of 8,289 restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had lunch here on our last day in Rome, just a short walk along from the Hotel Scalinata di Spagna. The meal was fantastic and a great finale to our trip. The lobster ravioli was delicious as was the Tartuffo - not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    136
    71
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. The place overlooks the city. My brother and cousin had the roast crackling pork. It was great! I had lamb chops which were also good. The Tartufo was just ordinary. The service was attentive. Altogether, it was a most satisfying meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, very good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The reviews were spot on. This is a lovely restaurant in a very beautiful location with views over Rome and a beautiful outdoor terrace. The food was very good. The gnocci is a must, the shrimp salad was very good, the grilled lamb was enjoyed by my husband and daughter and my turbot was good though not the best I've had. The spaghetti for my son was excellent. Overall the service was fantastic, we had a very attentive waiter who was both professional and friendly. Not a cheap restaurant (total bill with wine came to 250 euros for the 4 of us) but we had 3 courses and an expensive bottle of wine. Definitely would go back and would recommend it, especially if you want a special location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have dinner at Ciampini each time we visit Rome and it never disappoints. Its location near the top of the Spanish Steps means that it has wonderful views over the rooftops of Rome, and it is a lovely place to dine. We went there for another meal on towards the end of our trip. On this visit, the service was very good - our waiter was very friendly and helpful, without being too intrusive, and the food was amazing - there's a wide selection of meat, seafood and pasta on offer so there's something for everyone. It also has wonderful desserts too - try the tartufo; it's awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I could have eaten the gnocchi for dessert!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A friend had recommended Ciampini to us -it was an awesome meal. We had the veal, octopus salad, beef carpaccio, and the gnocchi. My husband had ordered the gnocchi and let me taste it. It was wonderful...so much that I could've eaten it for dessert but we ordered the tartufo, which was also wonderful. Our server Goffredo was amazing!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciampini Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Ciampini Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciampini Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.