We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Prassede

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Prassede to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Prassede
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via di Santa Prassede 25, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #851 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week. It's really well located, 5 blocks away from Roma Termini (train station), and 7/8 blocks away (on the other direction) from the Colosseo.
Right next to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore, it's a small hotel with very nice staff and very good rates.
The rooms (and bathroom) are small, but perfect for a couple that wants to walk around Rome, and not stay in the hotel for too long.
There is no elevator (as many other hotels in Rome), so you'll have to take the stairs...
I strongly reccommend this hotel for couples planning long stays and lots of walking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    54
    24
    23
See reviews for
17
69
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

First off, the hotel is on an uneven cobblestone alley way with funky gypsies begging you for money, meanwhile, you're dodging turds of feces on the ground to get to the front door. Next, the guest must find their own hotel room. So, nothing was explained about usage of phone, tv, AC, etc.. The electricity NEVER stayed on. Twice throughout the night my girlfriend and I experienced the outage which was confined to our own section of the hotel. When we told the man at the front desk, he seemed indifferent about the situaion, and, he even had the nerve to tell us, "Oh, somebody must've cut the power." Well, what did he do? Nothing except reset the fuse box, and parked his dirty behind back at the front desk. Now, don't get me wrong, I'm not a snob but certain basic things which we are paying for should be provided. Bathing in total darkness is not being snobbish! Oh, and finally, about the Wi-Fi, you're better off going to an internet cafe because it doesn't work. The only benefit is its close to Termini train station and two ristorantes down the alley way. Peace.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have never been prompted to write a review before as I am usually not a complainer, but feel the responsibility to my fellow travelers to warn them.

First of all, the room was very hot and smelled of urine. The heat did not help the odor situation and there was no air conditioning (this was ok since they didn't advertise that they had A/C).

I was traveling with a friend and we had made the reservation for two and requested two beds. When we got there, there was one bed and they refused to do anything about it, stating that we should have let them know earlier. There was no possible way to do so, since when we checked in, they still hadn't cleaned the room so we had to store the luggage at the front desk and then went out for the day. To discover this when we returned at 11pm was a major disappointment.

The kicker though was that AFTER using the toilet, we discovered that it did not flush. When reporting this to the front desk, the employee said "well now I have a problem because there are no other rooms and nobody is here to fix it." Uh, no pal, it's not your problem, it's OUR problem since we now have a toilet full of bodily functions and no other place to go.

Same guy who refused to fix the bed situation, even though the bed in there was two double beds shoved together and he could have at least just given us a spare set of blankets/sheets so we could do it ourselves.

To add insult to injury, the free wi-fi in the hotel lobby only worked with one computer at a time, so that if you were online and someone else signed on, you were kicked off. Great...

I mean, what is a hotel room without functional beds and a toilet? They also refused to alter our bill. Like I said, I've never had a worse hotel experience in my life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I needed to find a place close by to Termini train station so I could catch my flight out the next morning. I only slept in the room for 4 hours and we had a lot of problems. The wi-fi did not work when I arrived back at 0130 in the morning. Thank god there was a computer in the lobby that worked so we could check in for our flight! The power also went out when we went to bed, so I could not sleep with the air conditioning on. When I woke up, I put the tv and air on and soon afterwards the power went out again! My boyfriend had to take a shower in the dark! So, I am not sure if there is a fuse problem or if the hotel workers just turned off the power. When I spoke to the man at the front desk, he walked over to the light/fuse box and turned all these switches on. Other than that, the room wasn't so bad. So, if you are an experienced budget traveler looking for a cheap place for 1 night and nothing else was available, than one night isn't going to do so much harm. But if you are looking to stay in Rome for more than one night, please find somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Positive: Nice staff, Free wifi, good location
Negative: The shower is little too small for most of the people with even average frame.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Great location next Santa Maria Maggiore, at the start of Via Merulana, reasonably near Termini train station.
Some discomforts are to be expected and budgeted in, considering price and Rome hotel market: room size, most basic furniture and fittings, lack of elevator, access through a dirty, busy alley fully in the country's average that may appear dangerous to people unfamiliar with the Italian version of Western civilization - or those who just like tidy surroundings and considerate neighbours.

Rooms must have been refurbished and are cleaner than in previous reviews, especially in the dependance across the alley where they appear downright nice if small.

Speaking of room size and window size, if you think room 316 is small and uncomfortable, as a previous reviewer does, check out room 306. If you book, explicitly rule out room 306.

The most annoying feature in my stay has been shabby service, including sending me and my luggage up three flight of stairs to the wrong room, then showing me an acceptable room for a guest who would arrive later, then forgetting to assign it and leaving him to settle in 306 - yes, the one that makes 316 look posh.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel on May's 2009 first week. It really is a very good option and has a relation price/quality quite considerable.
The location is near the main central station of Rome, Termini, and is besides the Santa Maria Maggiore Church. The rooms are clean and so is the bathroom. The wardrobe could have some more space. The hotel doesn't have any lift which is an upside for disable or elder people. The breakfast doesn't have very much options but the food avaiable was very tasteful.
Basically, when we return to Rome we might stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Santa Prassede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Prassede

Address: via di Santa Prassede 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #851 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Prassede 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Santa Prassede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Prassede Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Prassede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.