We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say Ciao to Sergio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il giardino di albino

il giardino di albino
via zucchelli 29, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39064885202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #518 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Say Ciao to Sergio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What an amazing evening we had! This was a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Rome for my mother-in-law and we initially chose Il Giardino for dinner based on the close proximity to our apartment. The food was delicious, the wine flowed and Sergio was the epitome of charm. Be careful to not order an antipasti for each person - too much food! Share one and you will be very satisfied. If you want to avoid tourists - don't head out too early for dinner - locals don't get there before 8:30 p.m.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    76
    22
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poinciana, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sit in the back in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was our last day in Rome, and this was the best of the best. The food was great, the staff was wonderful, and the setting was Rome at its best. It is on a small side street so we almost missed it, but the hotel staff sent us there. I think we were the only Americans in the place. If we ate there the first night, we might not have tried anywhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We headed to this restaurant on the advice of our hotel. It was worst meal we've had in room: extremely noisy room, poor service and blah food. Lots of better choices around, so avoid it if you can.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tour Bus Stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are looking for a place to share your evening with a bus load of tourists, this is the place. Not one, but two tour busses unloaded at this restaurant the evening I was there. That should tell you all you need to know. In case you are wondering, the place is a fiction. The food is straight out of the microwave. The room is dated. The service is slow when there are two bus loads of tourists. And the guy playing the guitar and singing all the worst Italian songs is truely forgetable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Just as Wonderful the Second Time Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Of the numerous places to dine in Rome, Albino's is the only restaurant that rated a repeat for my family group. After eating there the first time we returned three days later and were greeted like we were family coming home for the holidays.

On the second trip we were served by Luca instead of Federico, and while he was a bit more reserved than Federico (he's the owner's son after all) he was still very warm and charming. The service was again impeccable. The food was just as wonderful as the first time and I think we all ended up trying something that someone else in our party had tried the first time and raved about. This is the type of family-owned place that I looked forward to visiting before traveling to Rome and I was thrilled to find such an outstanding example of what I'd read about in Albino's. After two visits, I have only wonderful things to say about this fine restaurant and I highly encourage anyone visiting Rome to give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il giardino di albino also viewed

 

Been to il giardino di albino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il giardino di albino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.