We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience 5 years later” 5 of 5 stars
Review of When In Rome Tours

When In Rome Tours
Via Sebastiano Veniero 21, 00192 Rome, Italy
+39 06 8390 4705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$236*
and up
Private Tour: Castelli Romani Day Trip from Rome...
Ranked #67 of 889 Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When In Rome Tours is a collective of like-minded tourism industry professionals, comprising company directors, two business managers, several admins, and dedicated support staff. Our Rome tour guides are fully licensed and have been leading Rome walks for many years in both English and native Spanish. Instead of working for a corporate tours provider on a commission basis, we have worked our way up over the years to become Rome's leading independently established tour operator. There are no middlemen, book a Rome or Vatican walking tour with us and you will tour WITH US. In this way, you get value for money with no extra costs at any stage. Our guides are experts in their chosen field, be they art historians or archaeologists. Our primary aim is to deliver education about Rome and the Vatican in an enjoyable way, so we take great care to ensure that our guides are as personable as they are professional. Small group tours of Rome work well for everyone and they are our focus. If, however, you wish to book a fully private and exclusive tour, we have many private Rome tour options for you to consider. As a fully licensed tour agency in Rome, we have to bear considerable operating costs as anyone working in Italy will tell you, so we are very proud to announce that our prices continue to be as competitive today as they always have been. In order to be fully transparent, tour costs on our website include all tickets and all local taxes - there is never anything else to pay over and above the prices we publish online. One of our many guarantees is "skip the Vatican line". The same also applies to our ancient Rome tours - "skip the Coliseum line". You will always enter venues in Rome before everyone else on a Rome or Vatican tour with When In Rome Tours. Our reputation in Rome is second to none, and we are sent recommendations every day. When In Rome Tours strives to offer the best possible tours of Rome and the Vatican, and we will continue to pursue even higher service standards in future.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An incredible experience 5 years later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I used When in Rome Tours 5 years ago on our Honeymoon. Last night we read our journal from the trip and enjoyed reminiscing about our private tour of the Vatican and the group tour of the Colosseum. Both guides we knowledgeable, friendly and memorable. Trust me you are in good hands!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    99
    17
    4
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcome Italy excelent tours in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hello, I am Renny, I was in Rome for a leisure holiday. I visited the most beautiful places in Rome, I bought the Welcome tour of Italy, the Vatican Museums and Ancient Rome (skip the line). I suggest to all those who come to Rome to buy their products, they are truly 5 star.
Italy Welcome Thank you for letting me see Rome as I never imagined.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Vatican and Basilica Tour with Luigi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Luigi provided an unforgettable tour of the Vatican and Basilica. He is very knowledgable and added humor when appropriate. Great stories that helped you understand life in Rome through the centuries. He quickly guided us through the massive crowd and positioned in places to get the best view and pictures. He was curtious to other guides. The time passed quickly. Request Luigi!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barsingerhorn
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ask for CHIARA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our tour trough the Vatican was top. The guide, Chiara, was sublime: knowledge, humor, personal, understandable etc. The tour of two hours turned out to be one of four hours, leaving the guide and the enthousiastic group exhausted, but very satisfied. When in Rome ask for Chiara and your visit will be a cultural feast.

Peter and Inge

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Luigi - When in Rome Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Did the Vatican Museums and Basilica tour with Luigi and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Luigi is quite simply a legend - brimful of enthusiasm, great perception, deep deep knowledge and a fantastic ability to keep you entertained right through the tour. He even turned our 3 hour tour into almost 4 hours - so fantastic value for money too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When In Rome Tours also viewed

 

Been to When In Rome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage When In Rome Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.