We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARASMATIC TOUR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of When In Rome Tours

When In Rome Tours
Via Sebastiano Veniero 21, 00192 Rome, Italy (Vatican / Borgo)
+39 06 8390 4705
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$51*
and up
Ranked #30 of 593 Tours & Activities in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When In Rome Tours is a collective of like-minded tourism industry professionals, comprising company directors, two business managers, several admins, and dedicated support staff. Our Rome tour guides are fully licensed and have been leading Rome walks for many years in both English and native Spanish. Instead of working for a corporate tours provider on a commission basis, we have worked our way up over the years to become Rome's leading independently established tour operator. There are no middlemen, book a Rome or Vatican walking tour with us and you will tour WITH US. In this way, you get value for money with no extra costs at any stage. Our guides are experts in their chosen field, be they art historians or archaeologists. Our primary aim is to deliver education about Rome and the Vatican in an enjoyable way, so we take great care to ensure that our guides are as personable as they are professional. Small group tours of Rome work well for everyone and they are our focus. If, however, you wish to book a fully private and exclusive tour, we have many private Rome tour options for you to consider. As a fully licensed tour agency in Rome, we have to bear considerable operating costs as anyone working in Italy will tell you, so we are very proud to announce that our prices continue to be as competitive today as they always have been. In order to be fully transparent, tour costs on our website include all tickets and all local taxes - there is never anything else to pay over and above the prices we publish online. One of our many guarantees is "skip the Vatican line". The same also applies to our ancient Rome tours - "skip the Coliseum line". You will always enter venues in Rome before everyone else on a Rome or Vatican tour with When In Rome Tours. Our reputation in Rome is second to none, and we are sent recommendations every day. When In Rome Tours strives to offer the best possible tours of Rome and the Vatican, and we will continue to pursue even higher service standards in future.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“CHARASMATIC TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Luigi of WHEN IN ROME TOURS,is most certainly a man of knowledge with a great love for the city of his birth! Our fine guide was well educated in all aspects of VATICAN CITY as he has several Phd's in history,theology etc. We enjoyed a very informative two & a half hours with Luigi who not only gave us a fantastic tour but was also most happy to give us a "romans" perspective of this fine city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,098
    105
    21
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“TOUR TO VATICAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had the most deligthful, enjoyable and educational tour in Vatican with our guide Daniela. Apart her perfect english, her description was so precise , detailed and vivid that we could listen to her for many hours. She was well prepared and the vast art knowledge was obvious. I myself an italian teacher lover of art and history in the few hours of tour I was repassing volumes of history books. My husband and I were very pleased and we reccomend her tour as the most excellent. We would like to thank and give our congratulations to the owner of the agency for the choice of personnell and the whole organisation. As greeks we felt at home in Rome.Caterina-Miltiades

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Two different tours both excellent with Luigi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were in Rome in February. Excellent time to visit. Weather was great and crowds were small. We had two diffrent tours with When in Rome Tours. We took the Vatican and St. Peter's tour first. It was a group of 12 people. They give you a headset so you can hear the guide. Luigi was very informative. He has a doctorate degree in art and really is passionate about showing you the difference between good art and great art. The tour ends in St. Peter's so you can stay and enjoy it for as long as you want after the tour is over.

Our second tour was ancient Rome, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, and Piazza Navonna. This tour had 3 people including me and my wife. We were excited because Luigi was once again our guide. While we were waiting we were telling the other person how great a guide he was and then he showed up. It was really nice to have such a private tour (we did not book a private tour). We went through the forum and colloseum. Luigi filled us in all along the way about what was what. After ancient Rome the other person dropped out of the tour and we did have a unbooked private tour the rest of the way. Luigi even took us in to some other Churches along the way because he knew of pieces of art he wanted us to see.

I would definitely use When in Rome Tours again. Luigi was the best.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“LUIGI SENISE- BEST TOUR GUIDE EVER!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Luigi was a great tour guide and we even became friends with him! He knows so much about the Vatican and the rest of Rome. He is wonderful at teaching his tourists about the city and the culture and I wish he could have given us a tour for the entire 11 days that my boyfriend and I were in Italy. It was a wonderful trip and we will of course visit this city and again and request to have Luigi again.

Thank you!!!!
Rebecca and Harold

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“If You're Short of Time You Can See Rome in a Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was a first trip to Italy for my friend and me and we were heading for Tuscany/Umbria to cook, but we decided that a day in Rome was a must. But a day was all we had!

Fortunately the staff at Culture Discovery Vacations recommended "When in Rome" tours to us. We chose a private "Rome In a Day" tour and were lucky enough to have Chiara as our guide. We did indeed see ALL of the highlights of Rome with this passionate and knowledgeable lady and although there were places where we would have liked to spend more time, the buffet of sights in Rome was enough to leave us sated for one day, but eager to return and sample more next time.

When in Rome did everything they promised and more! Thank you.

I heartily recommend When in

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed When In Rome Tours also viewed

 

Been to When In Rome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage When In Rome Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.