We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the heart of Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SuiteDreams Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SuiteDreams Hotel to your Saves list
SuiteDreams Hotel
via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Little gem in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is boutique style, brilliant value, has large modern rooms and is situated in an excellent location.

We travelled by bus from the airport to Termini Station and were able to walk 5mins to the hotel with luggage. During our stay in Rome we walked to all major tourist stops including the Collesseum (15mins), Trevi Fountain (10mins), Spanish Steps (10mins) and the Vatican (45mins) - plenty of shops and restaurants located right by the hotel.

Other people have mentioned the "grubby" exterior and lift - I completely disagree. The hotel is similar to all other hotels in the area which are located on first floor of apartment blocks! The vintage lift is also a really quirky feature.

A continental breakfast was also provided which was good value for money. The only improvement we would suggest is some background music in the breakfast room to ease the awkward silence!!

Overall an excellent hotel. The rooms were first class in comparison to other hotels we had considered staying at, which were all very old fashioned. This hotel would be our first choice if we return to Rome again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    273
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
184
560
49
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is situated in an excellent location with everything in walking distance of 20 mins. They had only breakfast in the hotel which was decent enough. The rooms were very spacious and very neat and clean.This is around 15 mins walk from the Termini and 5 mins walk from the Republica. A lot of places to eat around, shop and see. We only took metro tickets to visit the vatican. We did not took any pass to roam around in rome because everything was so close by. There are small pubs where you can just down in the evening and relax near to this hotel. The receptionist was very helpful as he gave us a map as soon as we arrived and information about the city. We had only 2 days in rome, so he suggested us what should we start with and where should we go when. He also told us which areas to avoid. We saw everything except the Romun Forum following his advice.

Room Tip: We got the room inspired by Totti and it had a an open balcony attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location is perfect for getting around Rome. For my husband and I, who enjoy walking, we could get pretty much everywhere by foot within about a 15-20 minute walk. If you are mobility challenged, like my Mother who was traveling with us, both metro stops are a couple of blocks away and the buses to the tourist sites are just around the corner. We were able to walk with luggage to Termini station in less than 10 minutes making it so easy and inexpensive to get to the airport. Others have complained about the elevator but my Mother used it several times per day and we never had a problem with it.

The only thing lacking in the area was restaurants. We ended up eating at Target 3 of the 5 nights we were there because my Mother couldn't go far. But, if you are able to walk 10 minutes or so don't let this deter you.

The staff was very pleasant and super helpful. They helped with bus numbers, where to catch them, best ways to get places with my Mother in tow, etc.

The room was a nice change from the previous hotels that had no room for our luggage and toiletries. We were able to actually unpack and put clothes in the cupboards and drawers and actually store our bags. That was so nice after having to basically pull things out of our bags at the other hotels we stayed in. The room was very quiet and they have a black out shade that comes down so the room is super dark when you sleep. We were also able to actually regulate the temperature of the room so we could keep it cold at night and warmer when getting ready.

Oh, and for the U.S. people who want to stay somewhat caught up they offer CNN and BBC. Sounds pretty silly but one of our hotels had zero English speaking channels. We are on vacation but like to listen to the news while getting ready in the morning.

This was also the least expensive of the hotels we stayed in. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in C and loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Close to termini and republica makes all main sites within easy travelling distance. Hotel is one floor of a six storey block. Outside approaches are grubby but once inside all is clean, modern and bright. Staff are helpful and knowledgeable. Lovely continental breakfast to start your day. Deal directly with the hotel to get good discounts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great location near to all the sites and great restaurants. The suite we were in was great, clean, neat and spacious! The boys loved the bath !!!!Staff are friendly and the breakfast was lovely too. I would stay here again, thanks Suite Dreams!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went to this hotel and there were some strange looks from locals (taxi driver, airport staff, tourist information ) when we mentioned it. How wrong could they be?

It was great - the staff were knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming. The rooms were stylish, modern and well-appointed.

I just can't fault it!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Near to the termini from the airport and the metro station putting everything in Rome within easy reach. Close to the via Nazionale so the major tourist sites and shops are within walking distance. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are spacious and the staff are friendly and they provide a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SuiteDreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuiteDreams Hotel

Address: via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Rome
#49 Business Hotel in Rome
#59 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
little design boutique hotel at the first floor of a residential building in the heart of Rome.10 minutes walk from Coliseum, 5 minutes walk from the train station, 1 block from Repubblica metro station. 24 hours doorman, breakfast room, free wi-fi internet, free water in the minibar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SuiteDreams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitedreams Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SuiteDreams Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.