We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very traditional, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria Romana

Hostaria Romana
Via del Boccaccio, 1, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)
064745284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #535 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Trevi
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very traditional, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This small place is slightly off the beaten track, but offers great roman cuisine at a good price. The service is excellent and the plates are good sized. We saw many locals eat there, which is a very good inidcator of quality!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    460
    98
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came here late and enter this restaurant with some other customers. My husband ordered Spaghetti Carbonara, but they refuse it because need 3 minutes more, to cook Spaghetti as the old waiter insisted it. So they gave him, fettucini carbonara instead of spaghetti carbonara. Its totally wierd, because other customers on the other table, just order their foods as well. Lucky the carbonar taste good but its too aldente. My minestrone soup mixed so well but its too Salty! I had mixed feeling indeed. The panacotta tasteless and i just enjoy the chocolate topping....not the panacotta. But we will not come back again...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Mixed feelings on this one. Good value and clearly hugely popular with locals, not just tourists (a queue for tables by the time that we left!), but much of the menu is pretty “standard issue” with nothing that really cries out to be ordered. However, the antipasto buffet largely lived up to its Tripadvisor reputation and a tagliatelle dish with funghi porcini was well worth sampling, though clumsily served for two (both portions tossed in a large bowl, then half taken out onto a sensible plate for one of us and the messy large bowl served to the other – are Roman dishwashing staff really that expensive?). Many of the wines we tried to order from a short list were unavailable. The rather plain room is very cramped with tables for two so close together that you might as well be sharing a table for four, but in some ways that gives the place a buzzy bustle that will suit some moods and occasions perfectly well. The elderly male wait are not nearly as witty as they think they are.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Get there by the suggestion of one of the concierge in our hotel. We didn' book a table as we thought that it was Tuesday, and made a mistake. When we arrived at the restaurant there was already 4 people waiting in line as the restaurant was full. We decided to wait and get in in 30 minutes. The food was just delicious! We took antipasta with grilled artichoke, that was just fantastic. The pasta (Cacho and Pepe) was the best that I have ever eat. My wife took carbonara that was also amazing. The staff was very friendly and we really enjoy or dinner.

Great experience - we will come back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Referred by the owner of the nearby Hotel Boccaccio. Ate here our first night in Rome, and despite a little wait (very popular venue), the service and food was excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria Romana also viewed

 

Been to Hostaria Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.