We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and the entertainment is unbeatable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria da Meo Patacca

Osteria da Meo Patacca
Piazza dei Mercanti 30, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
06-581-6198
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,722 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Trastevere
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The food and the entertainment is unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We searched high and low for a restaurant with entertainment for our first night in Rome. The idea being that we would be tired and would not want to go to one place for dinner and a different place for entertainment. Our priority was first food and second entertainment.

This restaurant was perfect. We ate at long tables outside. The food was great, much better than what we expected from such a venue and the band that walked around singing and playing the crowds favorite American/Italian classics was perfect! We ate, sang, and drank our hearts content. I recommend it highly for those seeking dinner with entertainment for all ages.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    153
    107
    69
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun Italian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

For our last dinner in Rome, we tried a different part of Trastevere, and saw the glow of table and wall candles from this restaurant. There were already a few tables full, and many set and ready to go. The menu looked tasty and reasonable, so we gave it a try. There were two individuals who weren't quite the friendliest, but all others were very nice. Had caprese salad, lamb, and veal with mushrooms; with wine of course. Food was quite tasty, and we were even serenaded with two lovely songs. A nice ending to our Rome visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lovely al fresco dining; charming night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first night in Rome dining here. It was a lovely, clear beautiful night and perfect to dine outdoors here. The musicians were fun. The service was prompt and efficient. There was a little skit, and even though we couldn't speak Italian we understood what was going on. Quite fun! Food was above average - but honestly nothing remarkable or outstanding. It IS really about the experience here. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Is the best tourist restaurant in Rome, good food, good music! Nice view, in a antique Italian Villa

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“"A Lovely Experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely dinner here with some Roman friends and we loved every bit of it. The setting is charming, the feeling is casual, the food is very good, the service is “Roman” which means it can be slow on occasion and sometimes confusing but “When in Rome, etc.” The prices are moderate to the slightly high side of moderate. If your waiter makes a mistake just smile and say “No Problem” and the rest of the evening will be just fine. The aged musicians are a joy. I do believe a few of them sneak out of the old age home at night just to party and sing the old songs. They are clever, talented, charming and entertaining. We sang along with a party of 20 or so Japanese tourists sitting near us and an assortment of other locals and foreigners to “Volare” and “That’s Amore” and even “La donna e mobile” from Rigoletto.

The Saltimbocca was delightful as was the Veal Scallopini. There was a very nice wine list but we found the house wine to be just dandy for our purposes. The food is not great but it is very good; more importantly, this place is not about fine dining it is about fun dining and we will return here in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Meo Patacca also viewed

 

Been to Osteria da Meo Patacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria da Meo Patacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.