We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take note” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Moretta

La Moretta
Via di Monserrato 158, Rome, Italy
06-686-1900
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,815 of 8,708 Restaurants in Rome
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“take note”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

glam seekers will surely not like the venue, which has remained almost unchanged from a past in which wenge & design were yet to come.
food lovers will instead enjoy a very basic "best of" roman cuisine menu, along with rather a good balance for quality and quantities.
wine drinkers will not dislike their house wine, which is in facts not from Lazio, but will probably be disappointed by the wine list, which is much less interesting than the food one.
rome lovers will happily dine with no frills, no rush, no LCD's, no Buddha bar nor other annoyances, and all for a reasonable bill

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Near Campo but better food than the tourist traps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Sat outdoors for lunch and enjoyed a seafood pasta course - mussels, shrimp, clams & other frute de mare. Wonderful broth soaked up with great bread. Also a Lasagna with meat sauce that was so much better than typical USA version, every bite was delicious. Cheese was crisp on top and creamy underneath. Sauce had a touch of cream that added a mellowness, and dispelled the acid typical in USA versions. Salads were fresh with radish, tomato, greens. These guys can cook!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Generally Fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

OK and average food and service. Most of the patrons on a winter Sunday night appeared to be tourists.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too good not to go back for seconds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were staying in an apartment on Via Giulia in July 2011. Five minutes from our apartment was La Moretta Ristorante. Having arrived back from Croatia late in the afternoon, we decided to dine out. La Moretta was a mere five minute walk from where we were staying. For two Australians dining al fresco on a balmy night in Bella Roma, this was the perfect place, set in a quiet location on Via di Monserrato. My aunt and I had a superb dinner and enjoyed the ravioli so much we returned with the rest of our family for lunch the following day.

The restaurant staff instantly recognised us from having dined at La Moretta the previous evening and gave us 'extra special attention'.

I can assure readers that next time we go to Rome, we would be happy to dine back at La Moretta.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jewel of a Restaurant for Authentic Italian Cuisine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This gorgeous little restaurant is run by two brothers who served up to us some of the best and most authentic food we had in Rome. Frequented almost entirely by locals, we stumbled across it as we were wondering the back streets around the apartment where we were staying and ended up returning there twice during our 5 day stay.

Highly recommend the Roman Chicked as well as the Spaghetti alla Cozze ... although really everything we had there was great as was the service, the ambience and the value for money.

Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Rome ... definitely worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Moretta also viewed

 

Been to La Moretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Moretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.