We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Roman restaurant near Porta Pia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Coriolano

Trattoria Coriolano
Via Ancona, 14, 00198 Rome, Italy
+39-0644240959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $78
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant opened in 1935 as a typical Roman general store licensed to sell and also to supply food and drink; tables were available for clients to eat their meals made with products either bought in store or brought from home. Housed in a period building of King Umberto I (1885), a few steps from the Roman gate at Porta Pia, today TRATTORIA CORIOLANO continues to be the favourite meeting place for lovers of both tradition and good food. A welcoming atmosphere, a warm and homely environment, a scent of wood which colours the walls chestnut brown; wood panelling, pictures and various memorabilia, a blend of tastes past and present.Seasonal products, homemade delicacies. Roman traditions are followed and contemporary dishes are offered together with the best specialities of Roman cooking.TRATTORIA CORIOLANO, an historic place abreast of the times, that remembers its origins.
Roma
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Typical Roman restaurant near Porta Pia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you look for a cosy, family run restaurant a bit outside the city centre, this is the place for you. The menu proposes typical Italian cuisine, as well as some international dish - nothing ready-to-serve, so take your time. Staff extremely nice and helpful, good choice of wines.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    30
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant because of previous reviews and we were not disappointed. The decor and atmosphere was lovely, and the food delicious. I had the cheese platter to start whilst my partner had the meat platter. Both were large but everything was such good quality it was hard to leave anything. I had veal saltimboca for main course which was very pleasant and the bf had pasta in a tomato and bacon sauce. The pasta was very al dente - too much so for our taste but the sauce was full of flavour. We finished the meal off with a perfect tiramisu to share. Including a bottle of wine and water our meal came to ?90 which i thought was reasonable for what we had. I would recommend this restaurant to friends visiting Rome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lanex
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a find. A wonderful family run restaurant (in the family since the 1930s) Delicous authentic food using fresh ingredients. The staff, owner and chef were wonderful and more worried about our dining experience than anything else. It is a bit off the beaten path but well worth the visit. A charming decor. Next time in Rome we will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good service and fond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We ate there twice during our 5 days stay. We came back the second time cause of the good service, very good food and the best desert eaten for a long long time. Atmosphere in the trattoria is very good, and the staff cares about the customers. We have to go back to visit rome, and the trattoria coriolano is the reason.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So good we went twice in five days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the find of our holiday. The food and the service were amazing. very reasonable prices for Rome with a well priced wine list. We stumbled across it on our penaltimate night and had to go back the next night because we just knew we wouldn't find anywhere as good. Thank you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Coriolano also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Coriolano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Coriolano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.