We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another smashing event !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matermatuta

Matermatuta
Via Milano 48/50 | Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 482 3962
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Matermatuta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 8,713 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $35 - $90
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: 40 seats divided into 4 rooms furnished in 70's glam style.Mediterranean cousine, especially fish, with selected and strictly seasonal products, it does not fail to wink to the traditional Roman dishes.The wine list is constantly evolving, careful to offer Italian excellence in the right quality / price ratio.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another smashing event !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Let your taste buds ride the rollar coaster of delicious dishes !
Modern decor, excellent presentation & amazing experience. Great wines out if this world deserts. Give your self at least 2 hours & enjoy the food !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    156
    32
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We went here because of reviews on trip adviser and we were not let down. The decor was really cool each little room decorated differently. Our waiter was really lovely and helped us find a bar to go to afterwards to listen to live jazz music (charity bar) and most importantly THE FOOD WAS BEAUTIFUL!! I had the seabass tagliatelli and it was the best pasta i have ever eaten! A must see if nearby in rome!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bracebridge
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our first night dinner in Rome was at Matermatuta, just off Via Nazionale, where our apartment was. you enter through a non-descript entrance down a flight of stairs. There are 4 parts or chambers to the dining room, each with its own feel and art work. We chose the last chamber, which was warm and well lit, but not bright.
We started with a glass of Shiraz and a glass of gewurztraminer. We had Parma Ham with Buffalo mozzarella and a special dish with pastry, eel and capers, both were excellent. For our main we had pastas, both with tomato sauce, mine with garlic and mushrooms was excellent and my partners a bolognese was also very good. We also ended up splitting a dessert (cannot remember which) but it was quite good. After 6 glasses of wine and 5 dinner courses the bill only came to 126 Euros.
I would reccomend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant with a personal touch, quality food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Cardilly and this restaurant was just underneath it! It was a great restaurant with a nice personal touch, the food was great, not tourist food! Real fresh made food for a decent price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel receptionist recommended to us and after checking reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to go there to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant is located underground...very cozy. The food was very tasty... Especially the scallops and the honey duck. You should check it out if u are in Rome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matermatuta also viewed

 

Been to Matermatuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matermatuta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.