We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, nice ambience ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel to your Saves list
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great spot, nice ambience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Real old Rome feel but rooms were really nice, everything work. Great Courtyard and talk about a room with a room. Easy walking to main downtown area without downtown pricing. I'll go back with wife, good dollop of romance!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    169
    32
    21
    16
See reviews for
72
367
15
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This former monastery in Trastevere in Rome has a nice quiet atmosphere, like a fresh oasis in the busy city. Excellent service and splendid breakfast, a nice garden to relax after a long day in the Roman city.

Room Tip: Nice rooms with a over look of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My 18 yo daughter and I at Donna Camilla on our first trp to Rome. First, Trastevere is an excellent place to base with all the cool restaurants and authentic experiences. Donna Camilla is a couple blocks from the action, which was great bc it was quiet when we returned to the hotel. The front desk staff were delightful, spoke English well and helped make dinner reservations or other arrangements. The rooms were authentic, modest in size but well appointed - nice sheets and toiletries. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Just the idea of waking up in a hotel that was built in 1600 but newly remodeled was inspiring. Nice gardens, too. I don't write many reviews - but I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we had room 203 I think - one of the few rooms with a balcony. It cost extra but was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We drove to Rome just for one night and booked the hotel online on the way there. We didn't know what to expect but the hotel made our visit to Rome more unforgettable. The area where the hotel is, it's very vibrant, full of shops and restaurants and things to see, but still close to the city centre. The hotel building its and old convent, and its full of character, we were taken away by the view of Rome from the roof terrace. The staff were really helpful and friendly and spend a lot of time explaining where to go and what to do around Rome. We would love to go back to Rome and stay at the Camilla Savelli hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tromsø
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful hotel. It was a fantastic experience to find such a quiet oasis that close to the hectic senter og Rome. The rooms have caracter and the breakfast was really good. And the surroundings during the breakfast was even better if you choose to sit out in the courtyard. Not a Hotel to choose if you like to sit in the bar and listen to music, has this Hotel do not have a bar. But, i would still highly recommend it. Quiet, everything in walking distance, babyfriendly, historic and a luxury feel all over.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms and facility were beautiful and truly unique. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly - there was a woman in the reception area whose smile made my day every time I interacted with her. The breakfast staff were lovely.

And they were very helpful. Our first room was a "nook and cranny" room - all triangles, that looked over an inner courtyard. We loved it, and had fun 'scattering breadcrumbs' behind us so that we could find it again! However, i cut my foot in the shower on our first night there. It was a bad cut, and my husband called the desk. They showed up with antiseptics, tape, bandages, cotton, a mop and extra towels. They moved us to an even nicer room the following morning - it overlooked the inner garden.

One caveat - if you catch a cab from the train station to here, make sure you get a 'real' cab, and tell them up-front that the fare will be about 15 euroes. We got a scam cab who charged us 50 euroes - his car looked official but it wasn't. If you feel like you're being fleeced, have the cabbie pull into the parking area and go get the receptionist to help sort things out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked this hotel on friends suggestions and I was not disappointed. As previous reviewers have noted, it is a restored 16th century monastery. The chapel is more than worthy of a view as are some of the many common areas. The hotel sits in a great location in Trestevere, just a short walk to restaurants, shopping, the Tiber and the bridges over the Tiber. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. I stayed in room 123 which was large. It featured both a huge bathtub and separate shower (although I could not get hot water in the shower). There is individual hv/ac in each room which was preset for two of the three days at 23.5 the third day it was turned down to 21 and try as I might, I could never get it to change. These glitches in amenities were not enough for me to reach staff about, I just moved on. The breakfast, included in the cost of the room, was a great way to start the day. The hotel has free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#62 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.