We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carbonara

La Carbonara
Via Panisperna, 214, 00184 Rome, Italy
064825176
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,085 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Full of tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were looking forward to coming here but were very disappointed as it was full of tourists rather than any locals. Also tables very closely packed in. There was no atmosphere. Can't complain re the food though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    459
    149
    75
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I didn't have reservation cause I didn't know it necessery, I sat at the free table and call waiter. I went to this place only cause TripAdvisor gave it high rating. A lot of tables were free but waiter said me they don't have any free tables for me. I was very upset. It's a horrible place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bari, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap with a mean lady at the door”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is another tourist trap in Rome ! The attitude in this place is like they're doing you a big favor by giving you a table. RUN, DONT WALK away from this very awful poor excuse of a restaurant on Via Panisperna. They are out of everything on the menu at 7 PM and whatever they serve is garbage Unauthentic cucina romana. The kitchen is filthy and the cooks are not Italians. The owner, a rude woman is nasty and low class with a really bad attitude problem.

DONT EAT HERE !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding fresh made pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Be sure to make reservations for this restaurant. We showed up at 7:30 p.m, and they were totally booked for the night. After pleading for just 2 se ats because it was our last night in Rome, they found us a table, notwithstanding the fact that the place was packed. The English speaking staff was most accommodating. You can't go wrong with any of the pasta's as they are all home made. The have a great wine list and the waiters are very knowledgeable about the wines. We were here 5 years ago, and it is even better today. Be sure to give a special greeting to the "Nona" who is usually in the reception area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
“Very delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had cacio e pepe, straccetti and zucchine e pomodoro ciliegino and we enjoyed all of them very much. Prices are reasonable, i recommend it but There is no english menu and waitress does not speak english. Be prepared.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carbonara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carbonara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.