We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Villini

Ai Villini
Via Marcantonio Colonna, 48, Rome, Italy (Prati)
063216766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,787 of 8,552 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prati
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a sumptuous lunch at this traditional, small, family run, lovely trattoria. If you would like a carefully prepared, home-made, genuine Roman meal, I highly recommend this restaurant. Unlike the tourist traps near the monuments, this restaurant offers honest, delicious food at fair prices. We ordered the delicately fried tiny sardines, which were scrumptious, as well as a platter of vegetables and the special, seasonal salad. Of course, the pasta was perfect. Don't miss an opportunity to enjoy an exceptional meal at reasonable prices. The servers were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    21
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant defies the saying "don't judge a book by its cover". Earlier in the day we walked passed it and had a chuckle to our selves as it was out dated and empty. Later on that evening after a recommendation from our B&B owner Luca from Rome Armony Suites we were eating in there and enjoying our best meal of our trip.

This is not a fancy restaurant, but what it does have is a really nice family feel to it and some of the best cooked authentic food you'll have whilst in Rome. This is where locals will go with their family, it's not your everyday tourist trap.

Everything that we ordered was top notch, if I was to recommend any dish it would be the carbonara. It's not what you'd usually expect but it will blow your taste buds away!

Also quite rare for Rome, the drinks were an absolute bargain, I think the Birra Moretti was 2.50 Euros. So you're going to have a fantastic meal, the drinks will be flowing and you won't have to empty your wallet in the process.

So if you do pass it please don't laugh it off as we did, go in and enjoy the best meal you'll have in Rome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tiramisu so good I had to have it twice again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A warm an friendly welcome, carbonarra to die for and tiramisu so good I had to have try it twice - again
just to make sure I wasn't dreaming, what more can I say.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, great value food and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited for lunch and really enjoyed it. We had authentic Roman carbonara....which was delicious....washed down with very reasonable priced wine. Service was very friendly. We would recommend this restaurant and hope to visit again one day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Food just ok with a terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because by the outside seemed to be a family restaurant, that usually means good local and home-made like food with good prices. The price is ok, and the food is just ok as well. For a restaurant that have a recognition of Trip Advisor in the door, it has very poor (terrible!) service. They gave me the English menu, and I ordered a starter that should have some samples of cold meat + fried vegetables for 8€. However we only had the meet slices by the very same price! When I asked about the vegetables the guy looked at the menu and said "no more", meaning that they didn't serve the vegetables anymore... (I must say that it was a little bit strange, you know). Besides, the staff is not very polite. In short, I don't recommend here there is a lot of better options nearby. RUN!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Villini also viewed

 

Been to Ai Villini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Villini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.