We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sixbeds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sixbeds to your Saves list
Sixbeds
Via Carlo Alberto 63, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #871 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and helpful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a stay at Sixbeds for six nights and would definitely go back. Max was a helpful and knowledgeable host and upgraded us to a different room with a private bath (his Amistad location) after a couple nights. Both locations are clean, cheerful, and well situated. The second location had a larger kitchen which is helpful for travelers looking to save a little more by cooking their own meals.

Both locations are within walking distance of the Termini train station and doors away from a Metro stop. We spent each evening walking and exploring the restaurants, piazzas, and neighborhoods. The Esquilino neighborhood is a great one to explore and Max marked several points of interest on our map. We're so glad he did because it meant we saw several places we might otherwise have missed like the Capuchin Crypt.

If you're expecting a large hotel room with a private bath and continental breakfast, Sixbeds might not be for you, but if you're looking for an attractive, safe, clean, and affordable place to stay in the heart of the city, I heartily recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
42
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Sixbeds was a great place to wind down after a whole day of sightseeing, because it truly made me feel at home. The decor of the room was so fun yet elegant and cozy, and very clean too. Croissants served in the morning, along with your choice of coffee from the coffee machine, is definitely a plus for travellers who want a quick pick-me-up before spending the whole day outside. The location is also great, since its right outside a metro station, which is just one stop away from the Termini main station. But the best highlight of my stay was actually having a warm and friendly host like Max, who was very helpful in pointing out all the necessary "touristy" stops and even suggesting a route for me. Very comforting for someone who has never travelled alone before! Definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Rome! Slightly pricey if you're a student, but hey, its totally worth the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

You get what you pay for and probably a bit less . The bathroom was ours , but not in our room, which was disappointing news when we arrived. Very close to Termini station. Not far away from Coliseum. But overall good hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max S, Owner at Sixbeds, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review. As per our web description, Sixbeds is a small apartment of 3 bedrooms and one sharing bathroom. Sorry you have been surprised about it.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

its just 5 min. to termini (main train station) and in front of the door there is a metro station..so you can reach where you want until 11:30 p.m..the room was big enough and it was clean. also the shower and toilet is clean. the staff is very helpfull (i reserved room with shared bathroom but he gives me room with the private bathroom, thanks:)) you can get all information and maps from him. the breakfast is ready about 5 am so if you leave early you can have it and go.. there is a kitchen to cook and coffee machine..

Room Tip: all rooms are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very nice hostel, near everything important and the price was really good!!
The owner was super nice and helped us in everything! The room was pretty good for the price.
Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Sixbeds for 2 nights, our first night was upgraded when we arrived for no extra cost so that was an awesome welcome! When we arrived very late in the night Max was there to welcome us and give us an incredible amount of useful information. He even recommended some places to eat food, ice cream, and a place to do laundry which is just what we needed! Max was very friendly and informed us of things going on, including a couple artists singing in a local coffee shop. We would recommend this place to anybody as it gave you your own space while still being in a shared area, very clean, and very personable! Thank you Max for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max S, Owner at Sixbeds, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello girls and Thank-you very much for your nice comment!

Your kindness and your happyness will be always welcome at Sixbeds.

Max - Sixbeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Read review about this place in Tripadvisor and decided to book it. I was a little skeptical when I reached the location but all turned out well afterwards. We were greeted warmly by Max and he explained to us the attractions around Rome. Our room is the green room with twin beds. The room is large and comfy. Wifi is available for free and the included breakfast every morning is croissant (cornetti) and coffee. Though it's just a simple breakfast, for me it's the best breakfast in my 2012 Europe trip.

The lift to Six Beds is a tiny one. At most can accommodate 2 person with 2 luggage. Six Beds is located on the 4th floor and consist of 3 rooms.

The location is excellent, just right in front of Vittorio Emanuele Metro and near to Termini. The walk to Colosseum took about 15-20 minutes which we enjoyed very much.

The lady (I think her name is Cristina) recommended a gelato shop and thanks to her we have the best gelato ever! (The shop name is Palazzo del Freddo Giovanni Fassi)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max S, Manager at Sixbeds, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for the nice words you have used to desribe Sixbeds experience.

Max - Sixbeds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sixbeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixbeds

Address: Via Carlo Alberto 63, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #871 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STOP BEING A TOURIST! Get Sixbeds' vibe and feel like at home. Sixbeds is a small, peaceful, fancy, green place on the 4th floor (with elevator) in airy flat of 3 rooms only, in a building dating back to 1860.We don't just give you a place to sleep, but a friendly atmosphere and all our help to visit Rome according with your time and expectation.Just get out from the front door and enter the subway station "Vittorio Emauele" (15 feet from the door!). Subway is really cheap (1 €, no matter how long you run) and allows you to reach every important point of the city centre, i.e.: Piazza di Spagna in 5 minutes, Vatican in 9 minutes, the Lateran 2 minutes, etc. You can even use subway to get to the beach (45 minutes) or to the archaeological ruins of the ancient roman harbour Ostia (50 minutes).BREAKFAST:We serve breakfast directly in the apartment, with daily fresh croissant, coffee or cappuccino or tea included in the price, that you can have in your room as well, if you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sixbeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sixbeds Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sixbeds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.