We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta to your Saves list
Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta
via Indipendenza 244 / 246 | Borgo di Gaeta Porto Salvo, 04024 Gaeta, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Gaeta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while visiting family in Formia and Gaeta during our two week Italy vacation. B and B was well equipped like a hotel. It was clean, nicely decorated, and the staff was very friendly and accomodating to our needs. Air conditioning was fantastic and the best when compared to other places that we stayed with. The only thing I would recommend is they do something to sound proof the roof of the third floor, because every morning we could not sleep deeply due to all the people eating breakfast on the fourth floor terrace. Otherwise we slept just fine and it was quite peaceful. Very close to Montagna spicatta, Serapo Beach( both a ten minute walk) and other things to do. You will not go wrong with this place, it is perfect for the price and location.

Room Tip: Do not get room 304(see above review about noise from breakfast from 8-10). Otherwise room itself wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    32
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
114
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had a wonderful couple of nights here. Very clean, well run B&B with sea views on a charming old pedestrian street with a great vibe (markets, bakeries, gelati, bars, restaurants). Francesca and Nina were wonderful, and full of good advice. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a great start to the day.
We loved Gaeta, especially the beautiful Montagna Spaccata, and had a pleasant time on the beach at arenauta (few steps to get down from the road, but nice relatively quiet sandy beach), and enjoyable evenings along the seafront and in the old town.
Note there's no free parking - you can park nearby and buy a parking ticket from reception (10 euros for 24 hours, valid all over Gaeta).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Il Quartuccio is a great find in lovely Gaeta. Gaeta is a perfect spot for a visit to Italy. It is half way between Rome and Naples, both easy day trip train rides away. Gaeta is historic, quaint and a has a great beach. Near by Formia is also a fun place to visit. Neither are very touristy. Avoid the crowds of Rome by staying here and going in by train. July and August gets a bit crowded, but with Italians seeking heat relief at the lovely beaches in Gaeta and Formia. The Il Quartuccio makes a great base. It is located on the medieval pedestrian street of via Indipendencia, with easy walking access to restaurants, shops, the beach, old town Gaeta, the marina, bus stops to Formia, where you find the train station. The staff was very accommodating and professional. The rooms were air conditioned and comfortable. The gem of this place is the lovely roof top terrace - great for breakfast, and an afternoon's riposo! The staff speaks great English and made us all feel very welcomed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in II Quartuccio B&B Gaeta for about 4 nights with my friends and had a very pleasant experience. This place was very well kept and tastefully furnished and decorated. The owner, Francesca, goes out of the way to help you and make your stay welcome and comfortable. By the way it is really good listen to her advice about the area! Nina, who worked at the reception also provided are very pleasant and good service. They made us feel really welcome! I loved having breakfast on terazza with the view to the sea and port. I would highly recommend this place for my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Renata, thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Il Quartuccio and that you appreciate our daily effort to give our gests any help and reccomandation to fully enjoy their holidays in Gaeta. Hope to see you again all the best Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The charm of old style elegance without opulence. A must for anyone wanting to experience a historic and romanticized European lodging. Nestled within a beautiful inner street, it is tastefully adorned, well-kept, and surprisingly furnished with modern technology suitable for business and leisure travelers alike.

In the warmer months, breakfast is served on the terrace (level four), with a magnificent view of the coast and surrounding area.

Free wired internet (appreciated by those preferring this method) and low latency facilitating good throughput for patrons having to work on their portable computers. Motion sensor lighting in halls and vestibules illuminate upon entry and eventually dim once physical movement ceases.

The staff? now that is the best part! They truly make you feel like this is home for as long as your stay. Give an example? I had to depart the premises at 5:15 AM on my final day due to a stringent travel itinerary. The staff provided me with breakfast to go comprised of pure bottled orange juice, fresh strawberries, a banana, cheeses, fresh bread, biscotti, chocolates, cookies and wafer crackers for my trip to Fiumicino (Rome airport).

Oh and there a bicycles for use free of charge.

Room Tip: All rooms are air conditioned however in the cool nights, open the window for awhile for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Il Quartuccio B&B is situated just back from the waterfront in Gaeta. It was a little hard to find, but think that was our navigating as it is located close to everything. Francesca was so helpful and could not do enough for us. We had a wonderful room which looked down the lane onto the beautiful sea. It is set back from the main road so there are no concerns with traffic noise, just the occasional party goer coming home late at night. It is situated in a lovely area, where there are beautiful cobbled lanes, small bakeries and cafes and traditional restaurants. It is a lovely walk along the harbour to the cathedral and square where there are more restaurants. The rooms are large and bright, the bed was very large and comfortable and the shower room is more than adequate. We will definitely be returning! Thank you Francesca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Located on a traditional narrow street good for shopping, near to the port and the old marina, Il Quartuccio bb Gaeta is closed to many good fish restaurants, traditional trattoria, and very good ice creams.
Rooms are provided with high quality services and wifi is free of charge in the room. We get even a romantic balcony with a sea view. Breakfast is very unique on a beautiful free wifi terrace on the Gulf.
The staff was remarkable in everything, they speaks English very good and clean was really top. This hotel B&B is strictly recommend when in Gaeta.
We’ll be back next summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta

Address: via Indipendenza 244 / 246 | Borgo di Gaeta Porto Salvo, 04024 Gaeta, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Gaeta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Gaeta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Quartuccio B&B is located in Porto Salvo, the fisherman port of Gaeta, in the worm heart of the old city. The Accommodation “Il Quartuccio” is a charming traditional building providing single and double rooms with private baths. It has recently been completely remodelled and attractively furnished and all rooms have private bathroom, individual air-conditioning and heating units. First class service is provided and maximum norms of safety and hygiene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Quartuccio B&B Gaeta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.