We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lobster linguine, great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il nostromo

il nostromo
Lungomare Giovanni Caboto 154, Gaeta, Italy
+39 0771 470 107
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 107 Restaurants in Gaeta
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster linguine, great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I went here with two friends for lunch. We all had the lobster linguine, which was among the best I've had anywhere. Moreover, the prices are ridiculous. For these four dishes plus two bottles of wine (admittedly not the most interesting wines) and four cups of espresso, we paid an astonishing 75 EUR. That cannot be beat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    84
    81
    35
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“generous, polite and accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of dinning there last night with 12 family members from Gaeta, the service and food was terrific, we had a shared antipasto which we asked the waiter to select for us, even though there was way too much it was delicious, a selection of bruschetta, arancini, croquette and several other style finger foods, local famous Gaeta olives.

For the main course we all selected our own with mist people having chosen pizza, i chose the soute' misto, (seafood), i attached a photo, it was delicious, maybe slightly on the salty side, but non-the-less delicious. the pizzas were also well spoken about.

Followed by a selection of 3 in house made deserts, all traditional local delicacies.

I'm sure we left with as much food as we ate, the size of the serves were a bit over the top, and the antipasto was really large.

We were so graciously served by a young waiter (Giuseppe) that looked after us all night, it turned out that he was a local lad that had studied as a pasty chef and knew the ingredients of every dish we asked about, his patience with our rowdy group was testament to his professionalism. He really helped make the night a great success and very memorable, i'd certainly recommend this place for a group of family / friends, it may not be the place for an intimate dinner for two.

We finished up with complimentary limoncello and coffee, nice touch to finish the night.

Great food, relaxed environment and great, great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We had expected more....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had read a few very positive reviews about Il Nostromo and so our expectations were high, which wasn't the restaurant's fault. We found the food and surroundings to be average and the service a bit impersonal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
“Great food, friendly atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Been there several times and I like it. Its not about the view. There is none. Its about friendly service and great food. Very traditional Italian style restaurant. The staff is friendly and helpful. Its also a great place for a medium to large group. If you are new to the local area and want a good idea about authentic cuisine in the gulf of Gaeta, this is a great first experience. The staff is great with kids too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great food, family ambiente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

great food, family ambiente

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il nostromo also viewed

Gaeta, Province of Latina
Gaeta, Province of Latina
 
Gaeta, Province of Latina
Gaeta, Province of Latina
 

Been to il nostromo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il nostromo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.