We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who sleeps in Pompeii, anyway?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amitrano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amitrano to your Saves list
Hotel Amitrano
Via Lepanto 93-95, Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Who sleeps in Pompeii, anyway?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We decided to sleep in Pompeii because we wanted to be close to the Vesuvio for our visit the following day. We found this hotel quite convenient and central. It is a family run hotel, that has seen better days but is comfortable and pretty decent. We parked the car in their parking lot for free and the rates of the rooms were reasonable. Of course, it´s not a great hotel but I don´t think Pompeii is such a well sought place as to justify having some fancy place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
antwerpen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

it is a middle class hotel with his normal + and -. About interior you can discuss. For me is is nor beautiful renovated,
but general in price quality it is fine!
The location is very good, directly on the main shopping street, 3min. by food to the main place and 5min to the archelogical place. The family run stuff is friendly and our room was very big, but they have also smaller ones. No extra charges for kids.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms to the street, they are all big. In the night the street is not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at Hotel Amitrano in September, arriving late in the evening after fun and games with the Circumvesuviana train from Naples (note: the Santuarini station is the one labelled as just 'Pompei' on the Circumvesuviana line; if you get off at Pompei Scavi you face a long walk). The surrounding streets don't feel the most secure; it did not take us long to realise why so many visitors take day trips to the city and not stay the night (although this isn't strictly the fault of the hotel, and was probably one of the better looking places in the area).

We were shown to our room on the second floor, although the receptionist seemed extremely eager to get away and did not offer us details of when breakfast was served, check out time etc (and the hotel was unable to give or show me a map of the city, despite being able to see several guidebooks on the other side of the reception desk). The room itself was adequate and the bed comfortable (being in a 'deluxe' room which did offer a balcony but on to a rather horrible side street).

Breakfast the next morning was unfortunately less than enjoyable, with croissants dry and the coffee providing a somewhat bitter aftertaste. To their credit however the service was friendly and an effort was being made, but by the time bread and meat was brought to our table we decided to not venture any further and so got up and went back to our room (I'm not sure if they would have kept bringing things out!).

We were able to leave our luggage with them behind reception for the day following our check out which was useful. Card payment was not accepted however, which was a little frustrating and unusual we thought for a large hotel with a similarly sizeable restaurant on the ground floor.

All in all, this did what we needed and gave us a good night's sleep, but we shall not be returning to the hotel (or probably the city) for an overnight stay again. It is a shame as the place should have so much potential with the simply stunning ancient ruins around the corner. In the future we will stay in Sorrento or nearby and travel into the city for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was dubious when I was told of this hotel, but my fears were unfounded! This is a very good Hotel, well placed for visiting the ruins and indeed sight seeing around Pompeii. The room was good with aircon, and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Carparking round the back was a boon. Plenty of restaurants around for eating out. Would I stay there again? most definately. For a 3 star hotel, it exceeds all expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night along with some family. The staff were pleasant enough and helpful since we had a baby in our party - there was no problem with getting a bed for the baby and getting water boiled for bottles etc. The location is also pretty good, just a ten minute walk from the ruins and right in the middle of a number of local shops. The air con was also very good which was a relief - it was very hot when we were visiting.

The downside were the rooms themselves - dark and dingy and in great need of a makeover. Also with damp patches on the walls. Actually the hotel was clean but somehow the depressing decor made it feel dirty which is disappointing. The rooms were a good size though and we could easily have accommodated another person in ours.

Breakfast wasn't particularly great but this is common enough in Italian hotels.

I think we also paid over the odds - 100 euro a room - and it wasn't worth this much. The 65 euro price quoted below seems much closer to the mark.

Not a bad place to stay and I might stay there again but only if Certe Notte was booked up (which it sadly was on this trip).

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room before accepting it - there may be others that are better than the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here on advice from another hotel that had no vacancy (but a 95% on TripAdvisor). Loved it!
Private parking for 8€ a day.
AC
Great little outdoor restaurant with a beautiful ceiling.
Good location - clean, trendy little neighborhood within walking distance (15 mins) of the ruins.
Not a bad drive to Mt. Vesuvius.
Crappy continental breakfast - although the coffee & pastry were good we were looking for a nice hot breakfast. The owner told us no one would be open @ 8AM to serve that kind of food so she went to the kitchen herself & cooked fresh eggs served with lunch meat, cheese and panchetta. Great little place we'll be sure to stay at on our way back north.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

One double room is easily large enough for 4 people. We had two doubles and did not need tat much space. We recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#1 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pompei Resort
Hotel Pompei Resort
#3 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#17 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#2 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amleto
Hotel Amleto
#15 of 23 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Pompei Valley
Albergo Pompei Valley
#7 of 23 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amitrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amitrano

Address: Via Lepanto 93-95, Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Amitrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amitrano Hotel Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amitrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.