We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price quality is fine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amitrano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amitrano to your Saves list
Hotel Amitrano
Via Lepanto 93-95, Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
antwerpen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“price quality is fine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

it is a middle class hotel with his normal + and -. About interior you can discuss. For me is is nor beautiful renovated,
but general in price quality it is fine!
The location is very good, directly on the main shopping street, 3min. by food to the main place and 5min to the archelogical place. The family run stuff is friendly and our room was very big, but they have also smaller ones. No extra charges for kids.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms to the street, they are all big. In the night the street is not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at Hotel Amitrano in September, arriving late in the evening after fun and games with the Circumvesuviana train from Naples (note: the Santuarini station is the one labelled as just 'Pompei' on the Circumvesuviana line; if you get off at Pompei Scavi you face a long walk). The surrounding streets don't feel the most secure; it did not take us long to realise why so many visitors take day trips to the city and not stay the night (although this isn't strictly the fault of the hotel, and was probably one of the better looking places in the area).

We were shown to our room on the second floor, although the receptionist seemed extremely eager to get away and did not offer us details of when breakfast was served, check out time etc (and the hotel was unable to give or show me a map of the city, despite being able to see several guidebooks on the other side of the reception desk). The room itself was adequate and the bed comfortable (being in a 'deluxe' room which did offer a balcony but on to a rather horrible side street).

Breakfast the next morning was unfortunately less than enjoyable, with croissants dry and the coffee providing a somewhat bitter aftertaste. To their credit however the service was friendly and an effort was being made, but by the time bread and meat was brought to our table we decided to not venture any further and so got up and went back to our room (I'm not sure if they would have kept bringing things out!).

We were able to leave our luggage with them behind reception for the day following our check out which was useful. Card payment was not accepted however, which was a little frustrating and unusual we thought for a large hotel with a similarly sizeable restaurant on the ground floor.

All in all, this did what we needed and gave us a good night's sleep, but we shall not be returning to the hotel (or probably the city) for an overnight stay again. It is a shame as the place should have so much potential with the simply stunning ancient ruins around the corner. In the future we will stay in Sorrento or nearby and travel into the city for the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was dubious when I was told of this hotel, but my fears were unfounded! This is a very good Hotel, well placed for visiting the ruins and indeed sight seeing around Pompeii. The room was good with aircon, and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Carparking round the back was a boon. Plenty of restaurants around for eating out. Would I stay there again? most definately. For a 3 star hotel, it exceeds all expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night along with some family. The staff were pleasant enough and helpful since we had a baby in our party - there was no problem with getting a bed for the baby and getting water boiled for bottles etc. The location is also pretty good, just a ten minute walk from the ruins and right in the middle of a number of local shops. The air con was also very good which was a relief - it was very hot when we were visiting.

The downside were the rooms themselves - dark and dingy and in great need of a makeover. Also with damp patches on the walls. Actually the hotel was clean but somehow the depressing decor made it feel dirty which is disappointing. The rooms were a good size though and we could easily have accommodated another person in ours.

Breakfast wasn't particularly great but this is common enough in Italian hotels.

I think we also paid over the odds - 100 euro a room - and it wasn't worth this much. The 65 euro price quoted below seems much closer to the mark.

Not a bad place to stay and I might stay there again but only if Certe Notte was booked up (which it sadly was on this trip).

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room before accepting it - there may be others that are better than the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here on advice from another hotel that had no vacancy (but a 95% on TripAdvisor). Loved it!
Private parking for 8€ a day.
AC
Great little outdoor restaurant with a beautiful ceiling.
Good location - clean, trendy little neighborhood within walking distance (15 mins) of the ruins.
Not a bad drive to Mt. Vesuvius.
Crappy continental breakfast - although the coffee & pastry were good we were looking for a nice hot breakfast. The owner told us no one would be open @ 8AM to serve that kind of food so she went to the kitchen herself & cooked fresh eggs served with lunch meat, cheese and panchetta. Great little place we'll be sure to stay at on our way back north.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

One double room is easily large enough for 4 people. We had two doubles and did not need tat much space. We recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were really happy to find this hotel, because we'd changed our itinerary at the last minute and decided to come to Pompeii early. The rates here are very reasonable (we paid about 65 euros for a double), and they have garage parking a little extra. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and it's in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amitrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amitrano

Address: Via Lepanto 93-95, Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amitrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amitrano Hotel Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amitrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.