We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Sogno Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Piccolo Sogno Hotel to your Saves list
Piccolo Sogno Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Alberto (1st traversa), 2, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Pompeii
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location but bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The price was reasonable and great location. The staff were generally knowledgeable and friendly but in one case TOO friendly. I was travelling alone and stayed 2 nights and had a bad experience with one of the staff members. Note to women travelling alone - Find some where else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8923DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we ended here by default but had such a great stay - Alfonso is a real example of Italian hospitality! the rooms are spacious and clean, the location is central, close to the station as well as to the ruines. lovely restaurant just around the corner. two days here made us feel as part of the locals!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights between a stay in Amalfi before heading on to Rome. It was very well priced, spotlessly clean and the staff were so friendly. Alfonso is a student of archeology and very knowledgable about the Pompeii Scavi ruins. My one regret is that we didn't have longer here - Pompei is lovely

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The reception area is on the first floor,where you'll be warmly welcomed by either the owners or staff. This hotel is located in one of the chic quiet streets of Pompei, near the piazza,and a 12minute walk to the entrance to the Ruins in via Roma. The entrance to the Excavations at the Villa Dei Misteri is further walk, possibly 20mins. Each room has a bathroom,wardrobe tv, desk, comfortable bed/beds. The friendly owner,Fabio, has cleverly retained the spaciousness of the rooms by adding modular foldout beds which provide extra sleeping arrangements-ideal for families. Each well-lit room is smartly decorated in a theme from the Pompei Ruins.I found the continental breakfast more than adequate. Staff make delicious coffee.Fabio wants you to enjoy your stay so ask him about attractions.He now offers tours as well.Great value for money here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeiOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here after enforced flight delay due to volcanic ash and cancelled flight. It was over priced at 70 euros per night per twin room. When we had stayed at Hotel Forum in Pompei for only 55 euros for 4 star accomodation. Breakfast was croissants and coffee - tasty but not a lot of choice! The rooms were basic and the net curtains were scruffy. It was noisy during the early hours of the morning - trucks and early morning traffic and noisy neighbours. Internet access only if you have your own laptop. Stay at Hotel Forum rather than here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldennis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore-MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We are still at this hotel, but we are so impressed we decided to go ahead and sing its praises. The staff is amazing. Our son was dealing with a sour stomach. The staff -- despite the slight language barrier -- did a fantastic job in helping us secure and administer the proper medicine (No CVS, RiteAid, etc, here). They are very accommodating and nothing seems too difficult for them.

The initial price may seem a bit high, but the experience is worth every penny. If you travel with a family of four (2 adult, 2 children), you know how difficult it is to find a room in many European hotels. This hotel provides adequate space for every family member. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

If you find yourself in Pompei, I highly recommend this hotel. The family running it really understands the meaning of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymru-freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Tiny hotel with 7 rooms, ideal location 1 minute walk from the main square and about 5 to the ruins and the same to the train station.Very clean, comfy beds and very helpful pleasant staff where nothing is too much trouble despite the language barrier!.Downsides are the outside noises but later realised this didnt effect us because we were so tired each night with all the walking and the breakfast is only sweet options but overall it was a really welcome break after a days busy site seeing.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompeii
0.1 mi away
Albergo Pace Pompei
Albergo Pace Pompei
#18 of 24 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#3 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#14 of 24 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amleto
Hotel Amleto
#15 of 24 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Sogno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Sogno Hotel

Address: Via Carlo Alberto (1st traversa), 2, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Sogno Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piccolo Sogno is a charming two star hotel, center, recently renovated, just a short steps from the Basilica of Pompeii and the famous Archaeological site; Hotel has a business center with Internet and fax service; at the reception you will find information about the main tourist centers of Campania region, our staff will be happy to help you in organizing your excursions. The service includes breakfast held at the bar or in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Piccolo Sogno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing