We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palma to your Saves list
Hotel Palma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piave 15 | Campania-Napoli, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in the area. The location is fantastic for easy access to archaeological sites and parking is free. There is internet and the roof terrace is lovely.
The only negative is the breakfast - which is pretty poor. You can get eggs and a cappuccino but you need to ask...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
52
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had read lots of reviews on this hotel so was very disappointed with this 4 star hotel. It felt like we were an inconvenience to the staff for being there. The room had damaged pealing paint to the ceiling and the bathroom looked like it needed to be revamped but was meant to be to a Superior room. The room also had a funny smell to it and was offered another room but this also had pealing paint and was very dark. We did have a view of Vesuvius but were right next to the railway station and roundabout so was quite noisy. There was no mention of the sauna etc being open and didn't look like it was ready for use. We stayed three nights which was too long for this hotel. The breakfast was limited and on the third day consisted of stale cake and we had to ask for cheese and ham to go with the rolls. More of a three star hotel.

Only plus side to this hotel is the location to the ruins and bus for Vesuvius being only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from Pompei after 3 days crammed with site seeing. The Hotel Palma was our choice of hotel. It was ideally situated for the station which is opposite enabling us to catch the train to other local sights and also a visit to Sorrento. The hotel was is walking distance of the town and the ruins. We spent the whole day there so returning to the hotel in the evening after walking all day was much appreciated as it was so close.
The hotel itself was clean, well presented and the staff were helpful. It was not busy, however the restaurant was not open every evening. Eating out was not a problem as there were many eateries close by.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staved here for three nights in november, well kept hotel with very friendly staff, good breakfast, just across the road from the railway station. 200- 300m from the ruins in a nice part of the town, couldn't fault it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked hotel Palma the day before arrival, purely because of it's proximity to the ruins. The rooms were very nice and clean, although some of the windows were so high up you couldn't see out of them....The staff were very friendly (they even drove round town to find us when we got lost upon arrival) and the food was excellent. There were a couple of powercuts while we were there, but they were fixed very quickly! We did hear some of the staff arguing quite loudly a couple of times, but it didn't really affect our holiday. The location is very good for the ruins, although Pompeii itself is not the nciest town in the world (having said that though, the hotel is still in a good location). Regarding a previous review...it is common for hotels in Italy to take passports off of all of the guests. This is perfectly normal. Also, the metal shutters on the windows are to stop the heat, so the rooms don't get too hot (Pompeii is VERY warm). They have nothing to do with safety.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel Palma had everything to make our stay very enjoyable: great location (within walking distance of restaurants, the Scavi and opposite one of the Santuario station), friendly staff (even if some are struggling with their English), good breakfast buffet (especially if you like cakes!), a large room with working aircon, a good sized bathroom and even our own little balcony, free wifi, a computer in the lounge and a jacuzzi and sunbeds on the rooftop! The only thing we were missing was English channels on the TV. We were initially booked for 4 nights but as we liked it so much and it was so easy to get to Naples from there, we decided to extend our stay by another 2 nights (instead of staying in Naples). We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Pompeii.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We had been booked in to another place in the old pompeii but the hotel was having water problems , we got taken to Hotel Palme and we were so pleased it was a very pleasant hotel right in the middle of town , we could walk to restaurants, the little stalls and the piazza with the church was right there and of course the ruins on easy walking distance. We only had breakfasts there which were excellent lots of choices but u could have all meals there if u wanted to. A very quaint family run it , lovely furniture

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palma

Address: Via Piave 15 | Campania-Napoli, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a well-equipped meeting room and Internet point, a cosy bar and TV lounge as well as a delightful citrus garden and splendid sun terrace. The hotel is provided with a refined hall, bar and TV lounge, conference room, a typical Mediterranean cooking restaurant, solarium with mini Jacuzzi swimming pool, internet point,Wi.Fi on the rooms, fax and safe service. They are provided with all the comfort : conditioned air/heating, private services with bath-tub/shower, direct dialling telephone, windows or balconies, drink cooler, safe boxes, hair dryer and TV . The hotel is provided with double, triple, quadruple rooms, and junior suites with hydro massage bath-tub and shower to grant to our guest a pleasant and unforgettable stay. A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7 a.M. And 10 a.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Hotel Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.