We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Hotel par Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palma Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piave 15, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Pompeii
Portsmouth, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Hotel par Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have stayed in a number of hotels in Italy but this is simply the best. It has a prime location in relation to Pompei Santuario station and the heart of this small, but beautiful, town and serves as a great base for exploring Campania.

Our room was large with a lot of natural light,. There was also a balcony and roomy ensuite.

There is a roof solarium and a jacuzzi which was perfect after a day spent exploring the many attractions in the area.

The breakfasts were a comprehensive, all-you-can-eat-type with a superb selection of foods and fruits available.

As for staff, they were absolutely first class and, a word I do not use lightly, efficient.

They made us feel like friends not guests but were never fawning. I won't name them here since I have sent a separate email to the hotel to thank them and I do not have the names of the backroom staff who, all together, made our stay extremely pleasurable.

I cannot praise this hotel enough, but I think you get the idea that I rate this place highly.

All things being equal, we will be returning to Pompei next year and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Pete Chandler

PS Look our for bar Rosso and Nero which is between the hotel and the station, plus Bar Cobla opposite the Santuario church.

Also, if you want a good restaurant, you will have a difficult task to beat Ristorante Piazza at the Santuario end of via Carlo Alberto.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking via Piave, great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
42
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Pompeii itself was a nice and mellow little town and this hotel is right in the center. It's about a 10 minute walk from the ruins. Our room was a good size and had A/C. A computer was available for free use in the lobby, which worked well for us, or you could pay a fee to get in-room wifi. The staff acted professional and were helpful. We had a superior room which included two balconies. Our friends had a standard room next door, which was slightly smaller and did not have a balcony. There was free parking all around the hotel. Breakfast was included and served buffet style in the dining room. A nice surprise was the large roof top deck, which included tables, a hot tub and a rock shower. Although the hot tub was definitely on the cooler side, we still got in and enjoyed the wraparound views around us. A nice retreat after the tourist crowds along the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked for one night before leaving Italy. We arrived early and they were so charming and nice, letting us check in without a problem. Everyone was wonderful but we would like to give a special shout out to Lydia. She is a treat and her English is great. She made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We took our family to Rome this summer and took a side trip to Pompei. We made the trip by train from Rome - connecting through Naples on the Circumvesuviana train to Pompei. The train we took stopped literally 50 yards from the Palma Hotel, so that was perfect. We found the hotel staff to be polite, friendly, and extremely gracious. The rooms were clean, relatively large (for Europe) and updated. The breakfast was very nice as well. We found the town of Pompei to be lovely, and of course a walk through the ruins was memorable. Overall, we highly recommend this trip AND especially Hotel Palma.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

nothing was too much trouble for the staff.they all spoke english they were friendly and very helpful.gave good direction on places we wanted to visit.the room was comfortable and clean.great location to visit ruins.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This hotel is in a great location near the train station in Pompeii (not Pompeii scavi station, the other one). It is a 7 minute walk to one entrance to the site. Great roof terrace and the rooms are fine. Ours was a bit dark but very clean. There is a laundry next to the hotel which does an excellent job. Hotel is reasonably priced, we stayed two nights. It is the staff which make this hotel. Everyone from Lydia who showed us to our room to the reception staff who booked us on a candle light free visit to the Pompeii ruins, went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Seems a family run affair. They have reserved parking at the front of the hotel too.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The hotel is right opposite the Pompei (Santuario) station of the rickety Circumvesuviana Metre-gauge metro. The rooms are spacious and the toilets are clean and luxurious. The staff is very friendly, though not very knowledgeable about the surrounding attractions. The food and service is excellent too. It's a laid-back small-town place, run by a family, and far better and cheaper than the big-ticket hotel chains at that price.

To reach the hotel, take the Circumvesuviana Metro (Not the MetroNapoli - Naples has TWO separate metro systems) from Napoli Garibaldi station (which is below the main Napoli Centrale station) going towards Poggiomarino via Scafati. Get down at the Pompei Station. BTW, the line Route Diagram given in Wikipedia about Circumvesuviana is not entirely correct. And there is another Pompei station on another branch called Pompei Scavi, which is quite far from the ruins.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Hotel

Address: Via Piave 15, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palma Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities include a well-equipped meeting room and Internet point, a cosy bar and TV lounge as well as a delightful citrus garden and splendid sun terrace. The hotel is provided with a refined hall, bar and TV lounge, conference room, a typical Mediterranean cooking restaurant, solarium with mini Jacuzzi swimming pool, internet point,Wi.fi on the rooms, fax and safe service. They are provided with all the comfort : conditioned air/heating, private services with bath-tub/shower, direct dialling telephone, windows or balconies, drink cooler, safe boxes, hair dryer and TV . The hotel is provided with double, triple, quadruple rooms, and junior suites with hydro massage bath-tub and shower to grant to our guest a pleasant and unforgettable stay. A buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room each morning between 7 a.m. and 10 a.m. L’hotel dispone di una raffinata hall, sala bar, sala TV satellitare, sala ristorante e un ‘area internet point, gratuità.Esse sono dotate di servizi privati con bagno/doccia, telefono con linea diretta, minibar, aria condizionata/riscaldamento, phon, cassaforte, TV color ,Wi-Fi.Junior suites con vasche/docce idromassaggio.La clientela apprezzerà, una ricca prima colazione continentale a buffet, arricchita dai dolci tipici della pasticceria napoletana e la squisita cucina italiana e regionale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Hotel Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.