We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value quiet location but close to all very clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diana Pompei to your Saves list
Hotel Diana Pompei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value quiet location but close to all very clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Near the back entrance lots of cafe near
Is right across road from one of the train stations but due to a wall collapse this is closed so you have to catch the other line is only a 15 min walk though to hotel
Is a very very clean hotel good English
Breakfast a bit scarce for an Aussie some salad and yoghurt also would be helpful
Family room 2 bunks and a QS not huge but renovated and has a lovely garden area available to relax

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    323
    46
    5
    2
See reviews for
292
459
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our third stay at Hotel Diana, Pompeii. We would now not stay anywhere else in the town or the area. The young staff are outstandingly welcoming, friendly but never obsequious, helpful, full of humour and good advice. The rooms are very pleasant, especially the ground floor room with its private secluded balcony; the breakfast is copious and served once again by courteous, considerate staff. The location is ideal: right in the centre of town and 2 minutes from the main train station, but in a quiet, secluded cul-de-sac, so no local noise at night. Even the venerable owner/boss is in attendance, keeping her sharp eye on all that's going on, and making sure that her guests are happy and well looked after. It is the best, and we recommend it wholeheartedly. (Couldn't grade swimming pool or fitness centre because they don't exist, but why would they, in a delightful bijou hotel like this?)

Room Tip: Room 5 is the one on the ground floor with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Hotel Diana may be the number one rated hotel in Pompei, but having stayed nowhere else, I have nothing to compare it to and the rating seems a bit high. That said, this is a solid enough property located at a bit of distance (but certainly walkable) from the ruins. In fact, it's kind of a plus to be away from the more touristy area. And the Diana's courtyard is a wonderful reprieve -- another plus.The breakfast is typical but in a large comfortable room and with plenty of variety. Our room -- on the main floor -- was clean but spartan. The whole hotel is rather fresh and modern in a spare way. It was far from the most comfortable bed we've slept in, though, and the walls are paper thin. One night the guys in the room next door were boisterous and way over the top. I was about to call the desk, but then the noise stopped (it was after midnight) so I figure someone else must have called. That's not necessarily the fault of the hotel, and thin walls are common everywhere, but it did reflect on our experience. Outside noise was also prevalent. But the bottom line is that everything worked fine (wifi and a/c too), the parking was free and convenient, the staff helpful, the room clean, and the common patio a real plus. Oh, and the restaurant on the corner at the end of the street is well worth trying.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a two night stay here with our 9 month old daughter. The staff were really helpful and accommodating, the room was clean and functional and the garden and chilled seating area was a big hit. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a quaint little place situated in a quiet cul de sac about 300 meters from the archaeological site of Pompeii and 100 meters from the Sanctuary of Pompeii. Access to the sites, food, and nightlife is just a short easy walk.

The front desk staff was extremely helpful working our reservations. Booking.com messed our reservations up overbooking the room. The hotel staff found us another hotel and notified us, to ensure we were taken care of before our arrival. Upon arrival the front desk staff had worker their magic to put us in their hotel for the whole stay. They were awesome! The front staff is the property's greatest asset.

The room was basic, quiet, and clean as was the bathroom. The maid did forget to put soap and shampoo in the room, but once again the front staff came to the rescue providing the amenities. The air conditioning worked great after a hot day in the sun. Internet worked but was not the best connectivity.

The breakfast buffet in the morning is nothing fancy, but it fills your belly to get your sightseeing day started.

If driving, your car can be safely parked in the monitored parking behind the hotel.

We would definitely stay if we return to Pompeii.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel. We were on the second floor and the elevator worked well. Our room, for 3, was very small and storage was extremely limited. Wifi was very erratic. Sometimes it worked and sometimes only by going into the hall first could we get on. Sometimes it did not work. Air conditioning in our room was excellent though the common areas were quite hot. Water pressure was good and towels were large and plentiful.

The location is perfect not only for tourist activities but also for the two great restaurants very close by. The very best thing about the hotel is its staff. No question went unanswered and information was specific and useful. They were very welcoming and helpful.

If you are staying in Pompeii, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A nice place with helpful friendly staff. Clean and tidy and perfect for the archaeological site.
Lacking a little in facilities but we were not looking for them. Nice garden out the back to rest in. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.