We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a one day trip. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diana Pompei to your Saves list
Hotel Diana Pompei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a one day trip. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The place is kept very clean and the staff are generally friendly and helpful. They helped us with the locations of a restaurant for dinner and how to get to the rooms of Pompeii. The morning buffet served good quality. The rooms were clean too, but could have been more spacious.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    323
    46
    5
    2
See reviews for
292
459
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is in a little side street and a bit tricky to find.
It is a wonderful hotel, very clean and modern.
The staff are absolutely fantastic and I could not praise them highly enough. So friendly and helpful. The Beer garden is a beautiful place to relax in the afternoons after a long day at the ruins. It is about a ten minute walk to the ruins and the train station is only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was very well appointed and so clean. The beer garden was a tranquil place to enjoy a coffee or wine and recharge the batteries.
We were given good advice from Alessandro as to where we might like to eat and the amazing sites Pompei and Vesuvious. We enjoyed Garum Restaurant and our waiter Salvitore! Thank you Alesandro.
Great breakfast! We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we were due to catch the Circumvesuviana train from Pompeii to Sorrento, we returned to the hotel to get a taxi to the station. Alessandro, the staff member helping us, found out that there was a train strike. He then tried to find us a taxi to Sorrento, but when this failed went out of his way to help us by contacting a friend who drove us there (in his open topped car!) for an agreed, reasonable amount.

Getting to the hotel from the Circumvesuviana train on foot was complicated as we got off at the wrong station (Pompeii Scavi) - perhaps the hotel could give clear instructions on what train to get from Naples and what station to get off at.

Otherwise, the hotel was perfect and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as a base for seeing archaeological sites around Naples. Getting to the hotel from the Naples central train station was an adventure. In spite of great directions from the hotel, the staff at the station's tourist info and at TrenItalia couldn't provide us with sufficient info/directions to find the correct train/track. Our room was on the 1st floor of a building next door to the main building. The room size was average with a stand-up cabinet for a closet and a good size bathroom with a nice shower and toilet+bidet. The complimentary Wi-fi wasn't available in the room, but there was good reception in the lobby & hotel garden. The staff (Claudia & Alessandro) were enthusiastic, friendly and extremely helpful. They helped us plan our daily activities with detailed directions and train time tables. With their assistance, getting to Naples (National Archaeological Museum & L'Antica Pizzaria Da Michele), Ercolano (Herculeum), Pasteum and Sorrento was very smooth. We really enjoyed the breakfast everyday. The hotel is in the city of Pompeii which is small & quaint with the archaeological site, a large church, and many souvenir stands - even a Carrefour market. Many restaurants nearby are filled with locals. We really liked the pizza restaurant (Jerome Pizza) across street. Overall, it was our favorite hotel during our 2 wk trip. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The place is ran (or at least it appears to be so) by a bunch of young(er) people who are very enthusiastic about what they do. They all speak english and are alwaysa eager to help - no matter with what. Whether it is your AC in the room or to tell you what is the place to visit in Naples. I would recommend it to all. If I ever come to Pompeii again (and this was my second time), I am staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a lovely oasis in the middle of a very busy city. I think for Pompei, it is pretty nice but it is just not a 4 star hotel. We didn't actually have any difficulty parking. Staff was extremely professional and courteous. The bar service was great - but there are no snacks offered. The room was clean and we had a little veranda but it is literally right next to the street. If you open your veranda doors the air conditioning goes off so didn't use that much . Breakfast was nice. But the main problem is the hard as a rock bed. I've seen reviews saying its "firm" and I chuckle because if you sit down on this bed very hard you're going to get a bruise. We sat in the courtyard several times and thoroughly enjoyed that. Cost of this hotel was very reasonable. We would stay again if in Pompei.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.