We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diana Pompei to your Saves list
Hotel Diana Pompei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived at night and missed our turn off but found the hotel eventually without much trouble. The parking was safe and easy but I wouldn't like to have a bigger car! The staff were incredibly helpful with restaurants and train times and they were always friendly. Breakfast was pretty good. We had fresh fruit - plums, nectarines, pears, oranges, apples; beautiful croissants and good cappuccino. The beds were firm and the room small but very clean and comfortable. The location was very close to the town centre and restaurants but a long way from the main entrance to the ruins which is where the meeting place for guides is situated. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is lovely to sit in the garden, have a drink and read after a busy day's sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    313
    46
    5
    2
See reviews for
287
457
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After arriving on an over-night flight from Canada via Munich to Naples, we quickly located this wonderful little hotel. We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the attractions we wanted to visit, plus the free on-site parking, and the fact restaurants were within walking distance. We were only staying here one night, in order to visit Pompei the following morning (10 min. walk,) and then Mt. Vesuvius in the afternoon. After talking to the hotel staff, it was suggested that if the weather was clear in the morning, that it would be best to climb Vesuvius first. This is what we did, and the weather was clear. We returned to the hotel to park the car while we toured Pompei. Sure enough, the weather changed, and Vesuvius was engulfed in cloud in the afternoon, and it rained just after we finished Pompei, so it is possible Mt. Vesuvius may have been closed. We needed the hotel staff to park our car twice and get it out onto the street for us as the parking was very tight to say the least. Always done with a smile. The breakfast was simple but adequate, the room while not large was clean and more than adequate, and the little garden / patio was great for a nice cold beer when we arrived. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were very impressed with everything about Hotel Diana. The knowledgeable, friendly staff, the location (walk to ruins), the reasonable price, the dining recommendations, the breakfast.....all were excellent. They care about the details and focus on client service. You can tell this hotel is very well managed and the staff really care. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Diana just one night, but wished we could have stayed for more. The hosts were very attentive and the garden was the perfect place to relax with a glass of wine and a book after a long couple of days of travelling.
The rooms were very clean and they were even nice enough to hold on to our luggage after checkout while we toured the ruins of Pompeii.
The staff gave great suggestions for dinner, and were more than willing to answer any questions we had about attractions in the area.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in April in order to explore the Pompei sight.
The location is quite far from the Circumvesuviana station and when we arrived we were searching for a taxi but couldn't find any so we ended up paying someone that was around there and had offered to take us with his car to the hotel.
The hotel has actually two parts, one which is the Hotel and one where they have some rooms but like an apartment building. We stayed in the second building which is next to the Hotel. The rooms was new and very nice but a little bit noisy on the hallway because the rooms are very close.
Having stayed here one night and considering we were tired from the trip from the Amalfi coast and the Pompei visit I can say our stay was enjoyable.
The breakfast was a bit simple and no eggs but I liked the fact that they asked us what coffee we liked and brought it to the table.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex / sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My girlfriend and myself stayed for six nights from the 7th September and i must say we were pleasantly surprised considering the reasonable price. The rooms are very clean, comfortable. The staff are beyond nice and helpful, they happily helped us plan each day with great enthusiasm. Even better is the location of the hotel, being only 2 min walk from the station, 2 min from the main square and 5 min from the ruins. Plus there are two amazing restaurants just around the corner.

One thing we loved about the hotel was that it is not too big and so a pleasant atmosphere was experienced at all times. If i had to say anything bad about the place, it would be the mosquito's, although they are everywhere and the hotel staff were very proactive in deterring them from the beautiful garden area.

I would not stay anywhere else in this part of Italy, so well located for all of the must see attractions.

Thank you, will be back.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel directly, they will send you anything you need to assist. I would stay on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

my wife and i recently stayed at this hotel for one week to see the the ruins of pompeii and herculaneum. the room was clean and comfortable. the garden terrace was very nice ( but watch out for the mosquitos! - although the staff did put out insect repellent burners ) .all the staff were very helpful and spoke pretty good english but a special mention goes to allessandro in my time of need.when flying into naples airport i suffered a severe headache which lasted for a few days. allessandro very kindly took me and my wife to the hospital in the next town in his own car and at his own expense. he stayed with us and acted as an interpreter for us to tell them what had happened. after the hospital had treated me for a suspected minor stroke allessandro came back and picked us up and took us back to the hotel. this man did not have to do any of this for us and in my mind he went far beyond what any other hotelliers would have done.I would thoroughly reccommend to anyone wishing to stay in pompeii. the staff will give you all the information you need about the ruins , buses , trains and other local places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.