We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diana Pompei to your Saves list
Hotel Diana Pompei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The title says it all. You are walking distance to the center, and restaurants and cafes, and the train station. Loved the modern glass elevator. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Room was clean and quiet, but the bed was very very hard and we didn't sleep that well. A better bed would make it Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    308
    45
    5
    2
See reviews for
284
452
41
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Now I understand why Hotel Diana is the number 1 rated hotel in Pompeii (the reason we booked). From the moment we arrived we were impressed - it was like being invited into someone's home. Alessandro and his staff were charming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well designed with better furnishings than you'd expect for a small three star hotel. We had reserved three rooms which were in a wing all by themselves. Wifi was free and superior to any other hotel we stayed in Italy. We loved the (included) breakfast and the outdoor patio. Alessandro found us a private tour guide for Pompeii who was fantastic. All of this made Pompeii the highlight of our Italian trip. Overall incre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked two rooms (a double & a triple) and, as Hotel Diana has a three star hotel rating, our expectations were not high. In fact our stay was as comfortable and relaxing as other higher ranked hotels that we stayed in across Italy. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished with good en suite facilities and excellent air-conditioning; breakfast was bountiful and the service throughout our stay was attentive, friendly and knowledgable, ensuring we made the most out of visit to Pompei and Vesuvius.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Awesome stay thanks to all the staff. Arrived after a few days in Rome thinking Italy was terrible and all Italians were rude and arrogant. We found the rooms nice, the price good, location perfect, recommendations great, staff awesome. They really made us feel at home. Thanks guys. The best hotel we stayed at while in Italy and completely changed our opinion of the country. Why are so many of the Italians in Rome rude to tourists? Obviously they done need the tourist dollar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel far exceeded my expectation. Their attention to detail is seen from all aspects of the hotel, from the decor, to the staff. Alessandro (hope I got the name right) checked us in, gave us some great tips, recommended a wonderful restaurant where we had an amazing meal. The patio and garden at the back is perfect for early morning and late evening. WIFI was great, even in the room. Parking was very secure and monitored by camera at the front desk. Location is great, an easy walk to everything, including the ruins. In all, was a very pleasant experience. My wife and I would stay there again if ever we are back in the region. I strongly recommend this family-run hotel to all travellers who are planning on visiting the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Rooms were clean, bathrooms modern and well equipped, and the hotel was in a great location. Staff were all friendly and accommodating. We arrived into Napoli station too late for the last train and the hotel arranged a taxi transfer. Sure enough, the taxi driver was waiting at our train with a 'hotel Diana' sign. The hotel also inquired as to the efficiency of the transfer, so they obviously care about who they use and recommend. Breakfast was fine, enough to get you started for the day....lots of cakes and tarts though! The WiFi was down at one point and the hotel arranged for use of another hotels WiFi whilst it was fixed (due to a prescheduled skype date home) and were very helpful and understanding. WE would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Pompei. Also, whilst we didn't use it, there is a very cute courtyard and a bar.

Please ignore the fitness center rating, there isn't one and I can't unclick it!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A block from the railway station and 10 minutes walk to the "locals" entrance for the ruins - no lines. Very nice and clean hotel and they provided a nice breakfast downstairs. There is a lovely outdoor patio in the back and a couple of computers one can use. They also had good wi-fi.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street and did get woken up in the middle of the night from some noise, it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.