We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Caterina to your Saves list
Santa Caterina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Emanuele 4, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is lovely and well-decorated, with a terrace off the breakfast room and another off the lobby. The rooms are clean and attractive, and the staff are helpful. It is very well located - a short walk from the three train stations in Pompeii, close to the city centre, and close to the ancient ruins. There are bars, restaurants, and gelaterias very nearby.

Some of the staff don't speak English, so if you have complicated questions and little command of Italian, there may be a slight problem. However, there's a computer in the lobby, so I used Google Translate to make myself understood!

If I ever return to the area, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chyne, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

In June 2012 we made a trip to Naples and Pompeii. We spent 2 nights in familly hotel Santa Caterina. It is small hotel, but with a nice rooms and good service. The best is to have a breakfast on the upper terace. Staff was nice and helpful. There is a short distance to Pompei-Scavi (excavations). about 2 min of walk. We bought a tickets to Vesuvio by Tramvia also in this hotel. Nice trip at all with a teaste of wine. I can only recommend this hotel. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Santa Caterina is a lovely hotel, comfortable, stylish, well maintained and with friendly, helpful staff, we have stayed at The Santa Caterina on several occasions and will definitely be returning.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Pompei Excavations and the Sanctuary - also the Circumvesuviana rail station which is perfect for getting around the whole area from Naples to Sorrento.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Hotel Santa Caterina is located a few hundred meters from one of Pompeii's main entrances. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and very clean--but ask for a room at the back of the hotel. You cannot beat the price. There is an excellent restaurant across the street which has no sign so ask the owner of the hotel, Theresa, to show you where to enter. Only locals were eating there so you know it has to be a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

Great location for the ruins as it is opposite the minor entrance for Pompeii. This can be useful for entering the ruins at one point ad leaving by another, although if you want to get the audio guide( makes a significant difference)only available at the Porta Marina entrance(leaving passport/ driving licence-so need to return to the same entrance to retrieve). The room large with great facilities, although the plumbing could be improved. The rooms have heavy windows shutters which shut out the noise of the traffic along the Via Roma in the evenings. No problems with air conditioning. Breakfast is a self service affair - yogourt, croissant - with different variations. Good vaule for money.
Good parking.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — plumbng
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2006

This is a great hotel. It might look a bit tacky from the outside as most of them do in Pompei, but Hotel Santa Caterina was beautiful inside.. and the staff!! They were fantastic. You can't go to Europe expecting everyone to speak English, but most of the staff spoke good English. And they were so friendly and helpful. On our arrival the receptionist escorted us to our room and gave us a mini tour, showing us how to use the Sky television, etc. and showing us our beautiful view of the volcano! Having spent a month travelling through Spain, France and Italy, this sort of service is not common, expecially when it is clear that you are skint backpackers! But they were really kind and friendly to us, taking a genuine interest in where we were heading next, and making sure we got to breakfast on time! It was just lovely.

The room was huge, much bigger than what we had experienced elsewhere, and for much less money. We had stayed in a different hotel in Pompei the night before, £5 more expensive with a much smaller room and we would have had o have paid extra for a volcano view. So this was great. The room was clean and well equipped.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Within easy reach of the train station. We lugged our huge backpacks to the hotel easily, and right opposite the entrance to the ruins, an information point which we found really helpful, and also right opposite the world's BEST (so we think anyway) gelatti.

Breakfast was delicious and again the staff were on hand to get you anything you needed.

If this hotel is within your budget I would really reccommend it for a pleasant stay in this wonderful town.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The fact that they were fully booked when we arrived so we had to stay in a different hotel first!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

My friend and I were travelling budget for five nights in Pompeii. I found this hotel on the internet, made reservations, but then got worried when the latest reviews were from 2005!

Well, first of all, very few Americans actually stay IN Pompei, the new town, and that's where this hotel is. Hotel Santa Caterina was a short walk from the Pompei train station. With wheels on our luggage, it wasn't a problem finding it. A lot of people, including Italians on the train, had warned us against staying in Pompei and other cities near the Vesuvian ruins. However, I never felt threatened or ill-at-ease in Pompei city.

Now, the hotel! Hotel Santa Caterina is a small property and the rooms were small, but we didn't spend our time in the room, so that didn't matter! Breakfast is a simple continental breakfast taken on the roof-top, and that made it special, looking out over the city towards the mountains.

The staff is friendly, but only two of the three spoke English, and only one spoke English well. However, they were all very friendly and helpful if we needed something. They provided train/bus schedules from the internet for us and were happy to give directions. I speak French, so was able to communicate fine. As mentioned before, Americans who don't speak an additional European language may struggle getting around.

One really cool thing about Hotel Santa Caterina is its location. Each evening, the town came alive, and there are some tasty little restaurants, shops, Convent, and a beautiful Church, tower (be sure to go up in it....it's only 1 euro)! The gelato shops are all quite good and if you're looking for jewellry, try Il Karato.....really nice people in there. Best of all, you're only two or three minutes from the amphitheatre entrance to Pompeii ruins, and about the same distance to catching the Circumvesuviana, the train line that can take you to other locations around the base of Vesuvius.

The rooms are clean, and if I could change one thing, I'd want a safe. However, you are able to "lock" things up in a lockable closet, so just don't get anything really expensive until you're ready to leave. We found the staff to be very dependable, however. The hotel tends to cater to European business travellers, but there were a few other Canadians and Europeans there through the week on vacation. No Americans, though. However, I found that refreshing.....sort of felt like I was experiencing "real Italy" during my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 4, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with all comforts: private bathroom with shower, colour TV , air conditioning hairdryer, bar fridge, direct phone line,Internet access and parking.Each morning our guests are served a generous, delicious breakfast based on typical Neapolitan pastries, such as Sfogliatelle. The hotel, in a century old building, which has been completely restored,it's well furnished with taste and elegance, is located in the historical centre of Pompeii , at a distance of 100 mt from the Sanctuary and from the excavations, 400 mt from railway station and 1,5 Km from the gateway motorway A3.Ogni mattina serviamo ai nostri ospiti una colazione abbondante e deliziosa a base di dolci tipici della celebre tradizione napoletana, come ad esempio le sfogliatelle.Tutte le camere, di cui dispone la Ns struttura, sono arredate con gusto ed eleganza, richiamano i particolari dell'antica cittadina.Le camere sono dotate di ogni confort: bagno privato (con vasca da bagno o doccia),TV color , aria climatizzata-riscaldamento centralizzato, frigo - bar, telefono diretto, accesso ad internet ed area parcheggio adiacente. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Caterina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.