We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome, relaxed, no fuss stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Franca Pompei

Save Saved
You added Villa Franca Pompei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Franca Pompei
Via Diomede 6, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Pompeii B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, relaxed, no fuss stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at villa Franca for two nights at the end of our Italian holiday. It was a warm welcome by Giuessepe with a cold beer and soft drinks as soon as we arrived. The accommodation is easy to find and only a short walk to the entrance to the ruins of Pompeii. Our rooms were large and catered for our needs, basic but comfortable. We ate at Villa Franca with the other guests which was excellent value and quality - some of the nicest food we have experienced on our trip. Highly recommend for good, laid back , value for money close to Pompeii. Swimming pool and sunning area a big bonus for families like us too! Really lovely breakfast too!

Room Tip: We had family room by the pool - big enough for a family of 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a great 2 nights at Villa Franca. It was an easy walk to the ruins. Really enjoyed coming back to the pool and the fantastic meal that was waiting for us. Be prepared for a huge array of Italian food. It was a great experience overall. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend to all travellers. Especially good for families due to the pool and the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Villa Franca in late April (sorry it’s taken so long to post this!). All in all this is a good choice for a stay in Pompeii, good value for money and very friendly and welcoming. There were a few annoyances, however. Giuseppe our host offered us an apartment as there were three of us and it was better value than two rooms. However, he didn’t mention that the apartment would be in a separate building down the road, so not near the pool or eating area. The apartment was basic, without a kitchen, but clean and pleasant, with a view of Vesuvius. The shower was a bit of a problem: needs a new head (easy enough to remedy) and kept going hot and cold by turns….
We ate in the garden one evening – dinner is offered every evening by the poolside if wanted, at 12 euros per head. The food was excellent and great value (three courses). However, we were offered red or white wine and opted for white, but were brought cloudy, home-made stuff which I could not drink. I sipped it to be polite (it’s less like a hotel and more like a private home, which has both pros and cons) but we hardly drank any. I can drink plonk with the best of them but this was definitely home brewed. Despite this I was surprised to see that we were charged 10 euros for the bottle. So be warned! Opt for the red! As the food was so good I paid up without a fuss. Breakfast was also generous and tasty, if a little light on choices.
The location is good – the other side of the station to the main town, in a quiet area, near the Villa dei Misteri and the entrance to the ruins (and the station). The whole place is pretty beat up (not just the hotel, but the whole town) but this is a reflection of economic conditions and not for lack of care. There are a couple of restaurants just five or ten minutes’ walk away.
At Villa Franca you’ll be assured good food and a warm welcome. Very good value for money overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Villa Franca was a wonderful place to stay! It was very cute and authentic and Giuseppe and his family could not have been nicer. The food was amazing - dinner being relaxing by the pool and breakfast being amazing and very filling. It was also a great location being just 5 minutes walk from the station and there were a few small shops around. The pool was the highlight for the children and made the heat a lot more bearable. The room was simple with enough space and an a/c and a large mirror, and the bathroom was clean and a relatively good size. There were many seats around the pool where we could sit to relax after dinner. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Villa Franca is an a very unusual place. If you are looking for luxury accommodations, this is not for you. But if you want to connect with local people and meet other Europeans, this is a great choice. At our other hotels we always went out to dinner. But based on the advice of other Trippers, we decided to kick back, relax in the pool, and see what was served at Villa Franca instead. That was a great decision because the food was great! This is a fairly short walk (maybe 6 long blocks) from the Pompei Scavo station, but it seemed long in the heat with our luggage. The pool was very welcoming so be sure to bring a swimsuit. A highlight of our stay was listening to Domenic sing in Italian as he prepared dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room near the pool. The train goes right by the B & B, but does not seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay at Villa Franca was amazing! We travelled all around Italy and stayed in different types of accommodation but this one was properly unforgettable.
We had some trouble finding the place because of our lousy GPS system but when we contacted the hotel the owners were able to get us there quickly. The welcome was a true blessing as we were invited to unwind and have a drink at the pool while we were given some precious advise on the organisation of the visits we had planned. In addition to being fantastic hosts, Dominique and his son are great cooks. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as the wines, were perfect and very reasonably priced. We felt sad leaving this family to continue our journey and we invite you to book this place when you're in the neighbourhood. Pierre, Chantal & Killian

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

All I can say is wow! Lorena and Giuseppe went out of their way to look after us and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. The food at the villa is absolutely amazing and for the cost is extremely good value. I am missing the food already (and the 5 courses served every night) and the breakfasts are lovely. The location is ideal and you are on the train line to Sorrento and Naples and there is lots to do..we were there for a week and still had lots of things that we wanted to do when we left. We also got engaged whilst staying at the villa and Guiseppe went out of his way to drive us to and from a nice restaurant and paid for our dessert and drink when got there. We were astounded...such lovely people. We would love to visit again and we would highly recommend that everyone stays in this villa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Franca Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Franca Pompei

Address: Via Diomede 6, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Villa Franca Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Franca Pompei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.