We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Convenient. Very Family Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vittoria to your Saves list
Hotel Vittoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Porta Marina, 1, 80045 Pompeii, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Pompeii
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Convenient. Very Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent Service. Clean, Safe and Convenient. Building looks little bit old, but it is 200 years old, so you can't expect better. The hotel has been in business for 80 years. They are well located right near the Pompeii excavations main entrance. Very close to the Villa Dei Misteri train station. Best location for an overnight stay. We took the Circumvesuviana train in the morningl, dropped our bag at the hotel (it is very close) and went to see the Pompeii site. Came back at night after eating dinner in town. Excellent breakfast., The fruits were so fresh and nice looking, we thought they were plastic. They get their fresh fruits daily from the local sources. Next day, took the early morning train again to Sorrento. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: Take a room away from route SS18. It got little bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Having visited the area before and returning with grown up family, our party consisyed of 8 adults. We knew how handy the hotel was for the ruins and with a large Carrefour supermarket just up the road easy for snacks and drinks. As we were going to use the circumvesuvius railway, that was also a consideration at its extremely close to the station. The hotel was very friendly and helpful even when we started exchanging rooms so we could all be together with the owner apologising as the air con wasnt on in the new rooms (which is a must in august). The hotel really is in the heart of it and has some nice balconies which enabled all 8 of our party to get together and play games on our balcony. Well worth the price of the hotel but we had mixed feelings about the restaurant (see seperate review) as we ate twice and only had a good meal and experience on the first night. Yes the hotel is old but its kept very clean and its sooooo handy for the area

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Marion, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It’s a short walk from the Circumvesuviana train station and conveniently located across from the entrance to the Pompeii Ruins. We enjoyed our stay; our large room, on the top floor, with a terrace facing the ruins was a plus. They served a good continental breakfast and the staff was very helpful too. It’s an easy straight walk into town for dinner at Zi' Caterina Restaurant and on the way back to the hotel you’ll find a pastry and gelato shop too. It was a pleasant way to see the ruins and spend the day and a night in Pompeii.

Room Tip: Room, on the top floor, with a terrace facing the ruins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My review is purely based on lunch and the service, as we didn't stay overnight.
We had just done the tour of the "ruins" and walked out very hot and hungry.
We were sat down immediately, and both the entree and main came very quickly, not to mention the drinks were fast as we were clearly thirsty!
The food was lovely, but the service was even better.
When the fruit came out, it was great and fresh.
Overall very happy. Thank you to the wonderful waiters.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

To clarify we did not stay at the hotel and only had a 3 course lunch at the restaurant as part of our tour whilst visiting the ruins at Pompei. We are Vegetarians (no fish, fowl or meat) and a family with 2 children (5 year & 1 year old).
The staff were accommodating to our requests for exclusive vegetarian food. For the appetiser we had the minestrone soup (vegetable soup) and penne pasta (in tomato sauce) and for the main course margherita pizza and cheese omelette. The dessert was ice-cream.
The soup, pasta, pizza and the cheese omelette were simply delicious. The ice-cream though was pretty average. We also tasted the local red wine "Lachryma Christi" and this was absolutely flavourful - this had to be paid for as the drinks were not included in the tour package. The wine was expensive but well worth it. The guy playing the cello was entertaining in parts. The restaurant is child friendly.
The ratings reflect the service provided at the restaurant and not of the hotel rooms.
All in all a memorable lunch

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very old and dated but Tina and Daniela more than make up or it's lack of luster with their charm and smiles. Both ladies are amazing! Daniela even helped us find medicine for our daughter who became ill during our stay and Tina brought ice cream up to our room for all of us.

The room was spacious for the three adults and our 16 year old daughter. The balconies actually overlook the ruins and that's the best part of the rooms. The towels are more than strange but work and we weren't in Pompei to see the room or the towels anyway so things are great. I would recommend skipping the dinner and breakfast but honestly the food in all of Pompei is not the best, so maybe it's par for the course

This was actually our third time here and of it wasn't for Tina and Daniella it may have been our last Its time to update the place and stop allowing smoking inside if it because the entire place reeks of smoke.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our family of five have been travelling for 4 weeks around Europe and we found that Hotel Vittoria offered the best value for money. We were greeted by the lovely and effervescent Daniela, what a breath of fresh air!!! Daniela was extremely welcoming and very helpful with her advice on everything we asked about. She organised a great guide, Susie, for our tour of Pompeii at a very reasonable price. Susie was fabulous as Daniela had promised. The Hotel is 5 minutes away from the train station by walk and the ruins of Pompeii are at the foot of the Hotel. We could see the ruins from our hotel room. We had a huge room that fit all five of us very comfortably. The beds were great and the bathroom was well proportioned. We were definitely not stepping on each others toes in this room. Breakfast was ready for us as we entered the dining room. The service was excellent. This is the place to stay in Pompeii. We cannot recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Contact Daniela if you have any queries before you book the room, but you will definitely not be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria

Address: Piazza Porta Marina, 1, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Pompeii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.